Best Worx Cordless String Trimmer

Best Worx Cordless String Trimmer

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you searched for best worx cordless string trimmer, you are most likely looking at the WORX WG186.9, a 40V trimmer with a 15-inch cutting width. The listing is clear that the battery and charger are a separate purchase: battery and charger not included, per the listing. It describes a brushless motor, a dual-exit cutting head, bump feed and a split-shaft design that takes attachments, and it recommends two Power Share Pro batteries for optimal runtime. This page covers only what the listing states, adds safety guidance from university fact sheets on handheld trimmers, and lists what the listing leaves out.

Quick answer

  • Buy this trimmer only if you already own a WORX Power Share Pro battery and charger, or you are ready to buy them, because battery and charger are not included, per the listing.
  • For optimal runtime and performance, the listing points to two Power Share Pro models, WA3012 (4.0 Ah) and WA3571 (5.0 Ah). It gives no runtime in minutes.
  • According to the listing, the package is the 40V trimmer and one replacement easy-load trimmer head.
  • The listing gives a 15-inch cutting width and an item weight of 8.8 pounds, and its item highlight names bump feed, a dual-exit head and attachment capability.

The product at a glance

The table lists what the WORX listing states. Where the listing is silent, the cell says “not stated”. Brand, model, cutting width, weight, included items and the battery recommendation come from the saved listing text. The dimensions come from the stored scan record checked 2026-10-23.

Item What the listing states
Brand WORX
Model number WG186.9
Manufacturer Positec Technology (China) Co., Ltd, per the listing
Power source Battery powered
Battery and charger Battery and charger not included, per the listing
Recommended batteries Power Share Pro WA3012 (4.0 Ah) and WA3571 (5.0 Ah), for optimal runtime and performance
Voltage 40V
Cutting width 15 inches
Cutting head Dual-exit cutting head; easy-load trimmer head
Feed Bump feed
Motor Brushless, per the listing
Shaft Split-shaft driveshare design that accepts attachments
Speed control Variable speed control with ECO mode
Runtime Not stated in minutes
Weight 8.8 pounds
Dimensions 72.8 inches long by 8.7 inches wide
Included components Nitro 40V 15-inch driveshare string trimmer; one replacement easy-load trimmer head
Weather rating not stated
Warranty not stated

The listing’s answer on the kit is consistent across its fields: battery and charger not included, per the listing. The item highlight says the same thing in other words, and the bullets recommend batteries sold separately. The trimmer is the item in the box.

View on Amazon

Before you order: a checklist

  • Check whether you own a Power Share Pro battery. The listing names WA3012 (4.0 Ah) and WA3571 (5.0 Ah) as the recommended models.
  • Count the battery and the charger in your budget. The listing says batteries and charger are sold separately, so neither comes with the trimmer.
  • Compare the 15-inch cutting width with the edges you trim most often, since the listing gives that width and no other coverage figure.
  • If you plan to use attachments later, check each attachment’s fit before you buy. The listing says the shaft accepts various attachments, but it names none.
  • Look for warranty terms on the product page, because the listing record used for this post does not state a warranty.

What the listing’s bullets say, and what they do not

The listing has eight bullets. Some are specifications, such as the battery recommendation, the split-shaft design and the included head. Others are claims with no basis given in the listing, and they should be read as the manufacturer’s words.

  • The first bullet says WORX Nitro tools are engineered to provide gas-like power, performance and runtime. The listing gives no figure that would let a reader compare that with a gas trimmer.
  • The brushless bullet says the motor runs 50 percent longer, is 25 percent more powerful and has 10 percent longer life. The listing does not say what those comparisons are made against.
  • The variable speed bullet mentions ECO mode for control and runtime maximization. The listing does not explain how ECO mode changes runtime, so no minute figure can be drawn from it.
  • The universal compatibility bullet says the trimmer fits most other brands’ attachment-capable trimmer systems. That is an attachment claim, not a battery claim, and this post does not check it.
  • The battery bullet is the one that changes the buying decision. It says batteries and charger are sold separately, and it recommends the two Power Share Pro models for optimal runtime and performance.

The item highlight spells the battery system “PoweShare,” while the battery bullet uses “Power Share Pro.” This post uses the bullet’s spelling for the battery line.

Who it suits

This trimmer suits someone who already owns WORX Power Share Pro batteries, or who is ready to buy them, and who wants a 15-inch cutting width from a battery-powered trimmer. The listing ties its recommended batteries to optimal runtime and performance, so a buyer with a 4.0 Ah or 5.0 Ah battery knows which models the listing points to.

It also suits trimmers who may grow into attachments. The listing describes a split-shaft driveshare design that accommodates various attachments for other yard tasks. The sources and listing here do not say which attachments fit, so a buyer who wants one shaft for several jobs should check each attachment before buying.

The listing names a dual-exit cutting head and an easy-load trimmer head, and its item highlight names bump feed. It does not describe how the bump feed is operated, so read the owner’s manual before the first run.

If you are weighing this trimmer against an EGO Power+ model, our EGO Power+ vs WORX trimmers and accessories comparison looks at the two brands’ trimmers and accessories side by side. If the battery is the missing piece, our Worx hedge trimmer battery and charger guide covers the battery and charger side of the WORX line for a different trimmer type.

Skip it if

Skip this trimmer if you need the battery and charger in the box. The listing says batteries and charger are sold separately, so the first order may be the trimmer plus a battery and charger.

Skip it if you do not own a Power Share Pro battery and do not plan to buy one. The listing recommends WA3012 and WA3571 and does not name any other battery.

Skip it if you need a runtime in minutes. The listing talks about runtime and optimal performance but gives no minute figure.

Skip it if you need a tool with a weather rating for wet grass. The listing gives no weather rating, and the Virginia Tech guide advises against operating electric trimmers in wet conditions.

Skip it if you need a written warranty term before you buy. The listing record used here does not state one.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Ordering the trimmer alone and assuming a battery is in the box. The listing says batteries and charger are sold separately, so plan for both.
  • Treating the 4.0 Ah and 5.0 Ah models as a runtime promise. The listing ties them to optimal runtime and performance, not to a stated number of minutes.
  • Assuming any attachment fits. The listing says the shaft accepts various attachments and claims universal compatibility, but it names no attachment.
  • Running the trimmer in wet grass. The Virginia Tech guide says not to operate electric trimmers in wet conditions, and the listing gives no weather rating to set against that advice.
  • Trimming too close to plants, trees and fences. The Oklahoma State column warns that trimming too close can leave gouges in the surface and can harm plants.

What the listing does not say

Battery and charger not included, per the listing, is the first gap, and it outweighs most of the specifications in the table. The listing names the battery models it recommends, so you can check what you already own. It does not bundle a battery, and it does not describe the charger by model in the bullets.

Battery, charger and runtime

The listing gives no runtime in minutes for this trimmer. The bullets speak of gas-like runtime and of ECO mode maximizing runtime, but neither comes with a battery, a charge level or a task. The recommended Power Share Pro batteries are described as the choice for optimal runtime and performance, which is different from a stated requirement.

The listing does not name a charger model for this trimmer, and it does not say which charger pairs with the recommended batteries. Because it says batteries and charger are sold separately, the charger is a second item to confirm before ordering.

Safety the listing does not cover

A product listing seldom explains how to use the tool safely, so this section draws on university and extension guidance on handheld trimmers.

  • The Ohio State University fact sheet says contact with the rotating cutter and flying debris can cause serious injury, including cuts and lacerations. It advises confirming that guards and deflector shields are in place before use.
  • The same fact sheet recommends safety glasses with side shields or goggles, leather gloves, sturdy boots or hard-soled shoes, and long pants with a long-sleeved shirt.
  • It also advises keeping bystanders at least 50 feet away from thrown objects, and clearing stones, sticks, wires and other debris from the work area first.
  • The Virginia Tech lawn care guide says string trimmers throw stones, sticks and other objects at high speed. It advises keeping the string head below waist level, avoiding over-reaching, and securing long hair above the shoulder.
  • The Oklahoma State column asks that children and pets stay out of the area while trimming, and recommends protective clothing for trimmer work.

The Virginia Tech guide warns about automatic-feed and bump-feed trimmers, which may release more string than needed and increase the chance of striking the operator. This trimmer uses bump feed, so check string length from time to time and keep the guard in place.

Gaps in the listing record

The listing record used here does not state a warranty, a weather rating or a line length. It does not give a cutting speed in figures, only the ECO mode and variable speed wording. It also does not state how the battery and charger combine to set a runtime, or how the split shaft’s attachments connect.

How we chose

This trimmer is in the post because its name matches the keyword, and its ASIN is B09221CXQ7. The post covers that one product only. The brand, model, battery, cutting width, weight and included items come from the saved listing text. The dimensions come from the stored Playwright scan record checked 2026-10-23.

The sources were chosen for the tool type, not for this model. The Ohio State fact sheet, the Virginia Tech guide and the Oklahoma State column are non-retail pages on handheld trimmers and lawn tool safety. They supply the safety guidance in this post and make no claims about this WORX model.

The post does not rank this trimmer against others. It reports the listing’s figures as the listing gives them, labels the manufacturer’s claims as claims, and flags the places where the listing is silent.

What we could not verify

The sources we opened do not cover runtime for this trimmer or for any Power Share Pro battery, so no runtime figure is given in this post.

The sources we opened do not cover how this trimmer performs on tall or dense grass, or along a hard edge. The listing gives a cutting width and a head type, and no cutting result.

The listing says the trimmer fits most other brands’ attachment-capable systems and that the shaft accepts various attachments. The post cannot confirm which attachments fit.

The brushless comparisons, the gas-like power claim and the ECO mode claim are manufacturer statements. The post cannot confirm them from the sources it opened.

Warranty and weather rating are not stated in the listing record, and the sources we opened do not supply them for this model.

FAQ

Does the WORX WG186.9 come with a battery and charger?

No. The listing says battery and charger not included, and it says batteries and charger are sold separately. The trimmer comes with one replacement easy-load trimmer head, according to the listing.

Which batteries does the listing recommend for it?

The listing recommends Power Share Pro batteries WA3012 (4.0 Ah) and WA3571 (5.0 Ah) for optimal runtime and performance. It does not say that other batteries will not work, and it does not name a charger model.

Does the package include a spare trimmer head?

The listing says the package includes one replacement easy-load trimmer head. It does not say how to load that head beyond the easy-load wording, so read the owner’s manual before the first change of line.

Can I add attachments to this trimmer?

The listing says the split-shaft driveshare design takes various attachments for other yard tasks, but it names none of them. Check each attachment’s fit before buying, because this post does not verify any attachment.

How long will one battery run this trimmer?

The listing gives no runtime in minutes. Its gas-like runtime language and its ECO mode wording are manufacturer claims. The sources we opened do not cover runtime for this trimmer.

Is it safe to use around children and pets?

The Oklahoma State column says children and pets should not be in the area while trimming. For bystanders more generally, the Ohio State fact sheet warns that thrown debris can cause serious injury, so keep distance and wear eye protection.

Bottom line

Buy the WORX WG186.9 only if you already own, or are ready to buy, a Power Share Pro battery and charger, because battery and charger not included, per the listing. If you want a trimmer that arrives with a battery, look for a listing that includes one.

Sources

  • Worx Cordless String Trimmer, 40V 15-inch, WG186.9 (Amazon listing record, opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09221CXQ7
  • Handheld Trimmers and Brush Cutters, Ohioline, Ohio State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-79037
  • Powered Hand Tools Safety: Lawn Care Training Guide, Virginia Tech Cooperative Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://pubs.ext.vt.edu/BSE/BSE-50/BSE-50.html
  • Beyond The Mower: Safe Use Of Trimmers, Edgers And Blowers, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/announcements/grow-gardening-columns/2025/august-24-2025.html

Similar Posts