Best Greenworks 40V 24″ Cordless Hedge Trimmer
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
This page covers one product for the best greenworks 40v 24 cordless hedge trimmer search: the Greenworks 40V 24 in. Cordless Hedge Trimmer, sold as a tool only, with a 1 inch cutting capacity. The listing names a 40V lithium-ion battery platform and 24-inch steel blades. The short answer is that it suits a Greenworks 40V owner who wants to shape hedges and already has a battery and charger. It is not the right tool for thick branches. The listing gives no runtime, motor type or charging time, so the sections below separate what the listing claims from what the extension guides cover.
Quick answer
- The listing title says tool only, so a 40V battery and charger are separate purchases.
- The listing gives a 1 inch cutting capacity, 24-inch steel blades, an 8.4 pound weight and a 3-year warranty covering the tool and battery.
- A University of Maryland Extension guide says pruning shears should be used to prune hedges only, so treat this trimmer as a shaping tool, not a limb tool.
- Skip it if your work is thicker branches, or if you need a runtime, motor type or charging time, because the saved listing text does not state them.
The product at a glance
The table lists only what the saved listing text or the two extension guides state. A cell that reads not stated means none of those sources gives that detail.
| Item | What the sources state |
|---|---|
| Brand | Greenworks (listing says) |
| Model | not stated in the saved listing text |
| Power source | Battery powered (listing says) |
| Battery platform | 40V lithium-ion (listing says) |
| Battery and charger included | No, tool only (listing title says) |
| Blades | 24-inch dual-action steel blades (listing says) |
| Cutting capacity | 1 inch (listing says) |
| Handles | 3-sided wrap-around auxiliary handle and ergonomic rotating rear handle (listing says) |
| Motor | not stated |
| Runtime and charging time | not stated |
| Height range or working reach | not stated |
| Item weight | 8.4 pounds (listing says) |
| Product dimensions | 38.58 x 6.79 x 8.26 inches (listing says) |
| Color | Green (listing says) |
| Warranty | 3-year warranty for the tool and battery (listing says); terms not stated |
What the 1 inch capacity means for your work
The listing says the trimmer easily handles most bushes and hedges with controlled, efficient cuts. The 1 inch figure is the listing’s own capacity claim, and the saved listing text does not say whether it applies to green or dry wood. That is the first detail to check if your job involves anything thicker than a stem.
The University of Maryland Extension guide gives a different picture for the other tools in the same yard. It says hand pruners are used for cutting branches up to one inch in diameter, and that loppers have longer handles that offer better leverage for cutting large branches up to three inches in diameter. The guide also says pruning shears should be used to prune hedges only. So the listing’s 1 inch figure points you to shaping work, while larger limbs point you to loppers.
The guide adds a warning that applies to any shear. It says to avoid over-straining shears, and that a stem too wide for the blades cannot be cut cleanly in one cut. That is a useful rule for a trimmer with a 1 inch claim: if a branch barely fits the cutting area, stop and switch tools rather than forcing the cut.
Blades and vibration
The listing describes dual-action steel blades that provide optimal performance, reduce vibration and deliver clean, precise cuts for hedges and shrubs. Those are the seller’s claims, so read them as the listing’s description. The sources we opened do not quantify vibration, and they do not compare this blade with any other hedge trimmer blade.
The 24-inch blade length is stated in the listing. The sources do not say how much width the blade covers in practice, so use the stated length as a fact about the tool rather than a promise about your hedge.
Handles and reach
The listing describes a 3-sided wrap-around auxiliary handle with a cushioned overmold grip and multiple trimming angles. It also describes an ergonomic rotating rear handle that allows greater maneuverability when trimming the sides of hedges. Both are listing claims about comfort and control. The listing ties the rotating rear handle to trimming the sides of hedges.
The saved listing text does not describe a pole, an extension or a height range. Do not assume the trimmer reaches above a standing height.
Battery platform and warranty
The listing names a 40V lithium-ion battery. It also says the battery delivers fade-free performance with no memory loss after charging, and it presents that as long-lasting power for trimming tasks. Those are claims made by the seller, and the saved listing text does not give a battery size, a runtime or a charging time. Because the title says tool only, you need to confirm that your existing battery and charger are a match before you buy.
The listing says the warranty covers both the tool and the battery for three years. The sources we opened do not state the warranty terms, so read the warranty statement that comes with the product before you rely on it for a specific claim.
Weight and size
The listing gives an item weight of 8.4 pounds and product dimensions of 38.58 by 6.79 by 8.26 inches. Those figures are the listing’s, and the saved text does not say whether the weight includes a battery. Decide for yourself whether that weight suits your hedge height and the length of your sessions.
Who it suits
This trimmer fits a homeowner who needs to shape hedges and bushes and who already runs a 40V battery platform. The listing describes the blades as made for hedges and shrubs, and the Iowa State University Extension guide describes hedge shears, manual or electric, as tools used to shear formal hedges to a definite size and shape. Those two descriptions line up for a shaping job.
It also fits a buyer who wants a cordless hedge trimmer and would rather not manage gas, oil or a cord. The listing describes the trimmer as cordless and lightweight, and it lists a 40V battery. Readers comparing Greenworks tools can look at our Greenworks 40V electric lawn mower guide for a different tool on the same platform.
Owners who want a longer warranty window
The listing gives a 3-year warranty that covers both the tool and the battery. For a buyer who worries about a battery failing early, that wording is the most concrete benefit the listing offers beyond the cutting claims. Keep the purchase receipt and read the warranty statement that comes with the product, because the sources we opened do not give the terms.
Skip it if
Skip this trimmer if you need to cut thick branches or limbs. The University of Maryland Extension guide says pruning shears should be used to prune hedges only. For larger branches, the same guide points to loppers for diameters up to three inches. A hedge trimmer with a 1 inch claim is the wrong tool for those cuts, even if the listing’s capacity figure sounds close to the job.
Skip it if you do not own a compatible 40V battery and charger and do not want to buy them. The title says tool only, and the listing does not include either one. The purchase is not complete without a battery and a charger, and the saved listing text gives no runtime or charging time for either.
Skip it if you need reach above a standing height. The saved listing text does not describe a pole or a telescoping shaft. If reach is the job, a different tool category is more likely to fit, and the Iowa State guide describes pole pruners as a separate category from hedge shears.
Skip it if you need a motor type, runtime or charging figure before you buy. None of those appears in the saved listing text or in the two extension guides. Ask the seller or read the product documentation before you decide.
What the listing does not say
The saved listing text is short, and several details a buyer needs are not in it. Use this list as a set of questions to answer before you buy.
- A battery and charger. The title says tool only, so neither is included.
- The model number. The saved listing text does not give one.
- The motor type. The listing does not say whether the motor is brushed or brushless.
- The runtime and the charging time. The listing names a 40V platform but gives no runtime or charge time.
- The condition behind the 1 inch cutting capacity. The listing does not say whether the figure applies to green or dry wood.
- The warranty terms. The listing names a 3-year warranty for the tool and battery, but the saved text does not give the conditions.
- The height range and reach. The listing does not describe either.
If you already run a different 40V platform, our Ryobi 40 volt cordless hedge trimmer guide is the next place to compare battery-based hedge trimmers on the same voltage class.
How we chose
This product is in the post because it is the single product assigned to the best greenworks 40v 24 cordless hedge trimmer search, identified by ASIN B086PPWKZL. This post covers this one model. The post does not rank it against other hedge trimmers, and no shortlist was built for this page.
The criteria are plain. The model in the listing must match the search term, and the listing must say whether a battery and charger are included. Facts about the trimmer come from the listing text. General guidance on hedge shears and branch sizes comes from two university extension guides. No review or blog page is used for facts.
The listing text was read and saved on 2026-10-22, because the ASIN was not in our stored product data. Both extension guides were opened on the same date.
What we could not verify
The sources we opened do not confirm the 1 inch cutting capacity under real cutting conditions. The listing is the only source for that figure, and the extension guides describe hand pruners and loppers rather than this model.
The motor type, the runtime, the charging time, the battery size and the model number are not stated in the sources. The warranty appears in the listing as a 3-year tool and battery warranty, but its terms are not in the sources we opened.
The listing’s claims about reduced vibration and fade-free battery performance are not verified by the sources we opened. The sources also do not cover safety steps for this model, so read the product documentation before use.
FAQ
Does the Greenworks 40V 24 in. hedge trimmer come with a battery?
No. The listing title says tool only, so the battery and charger are separate purchases. Confirm that the battery you plan to use is part of the 40V platform named in the listing before you buy.
What battery platform does it use?
The listing names a 40V lithium-ion battery. It does not give a battery size, a runtime or a charging time in the saved text.
How big a branch can it cut?
The listing gives a 1 inch cutting capacity. The University of Maryland Extension guide describes hand pruners for branches up to one inch and loppers for larger branches up to three inches. For limbs bigger than the hedge work, use loppers rather than a hedge trimmer.
Is it suited to formal hedges?
The Iowa State University Extension guide describes hedge shears, manual or electric, as tools used to shear formal hedges to a definite size and shape. That matches the shaping job this trimmer is built for, and the guide advises against using hedge shears to prune trees and shrubs.
How long is the warranty?
The listing says the tool and the battery are covered by a 3-year warranty. The saved listing text does not give the warranty conditions, and the sources we opened do not state them, so read the warranty statement before you rely on it.
How heavy is it?
The listing gives an item weight of 8.4 pounds. The saved text does not say whether that weight includes a battery, so check the battery weight separately if you plan long sessions.
Bottom line
Buy this tool-only trimmer if you already own a compatible 40V battery and charger and your job is shaping hedges. If your job is thicker branches or limbs, pass on it and use loppers for those cuts.
Sources
- Amazon listing for the Greenworks 40V 24″ Cordless Hedge Trimmer, Tool Only (opened 2026-10-22) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B086PPWKZL
- University of Maryland Extension, Pruning Tools (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.umd.edu/resource/pruning-tools
- Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, Guide to Pruning Equipment (opened 2026-10-22) https://yardandgarden.extension.iastate.edu/how-to/guide-pruning-equipment






