Best Greenworks 80V 12-Inch Brushless Snow Shovel

Best Greenworks 80V 12-Inch Brushless Snow Shovel

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you searched for the best greenworks 80v 12 brushless snow shovel, this page covers the Greenworks 80V 12-inch brushless snow shovel kit that its listing sells with a battery and a fast charger. The listing gives a 12-inch clearing width, a maximum throw of 25 feet and a directional vane for aiming the snow. A bare-tool version in the same 80V line is also listed without a battery or charger, so it is covered too. Below is what the listings state, what they leave out, and what university safety pages say about clearing snow with powered tools.

Quick answer

  • The kit is a 12-inch, battery-powered brushless snow shovel on the Greenworks 80V platform. Its title says it includes a battery and a fast charger.
  • The listing gives a 12-inch clearing width, an ideal snow depth of 20 centimeters (about 8 inches) and a maximum throw of 25 feet.
  • The listing states the battery capacity two different ways, so this page does not state a capacity. Read the label on the kit you receive.
  • The bare tool’s title reads “Not Included Battery and Charger”. Buy an 80V battery and charger separately, and confirm they fit before you order.

What the kit listing states

The table lists only what the stored copy of the kit listing states. “Not stated” means the listing is silent on that point.

Item What the listing says
Brand Greenworks
Model number SS80L2510
Power Battery powered, Greenworks 80V lithium-ion, brushless motor
Clearing width 12 inches
Ideal snow depth 20 centimeters (about 8 inches)
Maximum throw 25 feet
Direction control Directional vane control; the bullets say snow direction is adjustable
Light LED light
Battery and charger The title says a battery and a fast charger are included. Battery capacity: not stated (see below)
Weight Not stated
Warranty Not stated in the stored copy

View on Amazon

Why the battery capacity is left out

The kit listing gives two different battery capacities. The title and one of the bullets disagree, and the stored copy does not say which is correct. Rather than pick one, this page leaves the figure out. The listing also gives no runtime figure, so this page gives none either. Read the label on the battery in your kit, or ask the seller in writing before you order.

How far one pass clears

The listing’s 12-inch clearing width is the planning number. The table divides each driveway width by 12 inches and rounds up. It assumes every pass is full width with no overlap. The listing does not describe how much one pass overlaps the next, so a real job will likely need more passes than the table shows.

Driveway width Passes at 12 inches, no overlap
6 feet (72 inches) 6
8 feet (96 inches) 8
10 feet (120 inches) 10
12 feet (144 inches) 12
16 feet (192 inches) 16

The listing says the tool “quickly clears driveways and sidewalks in fewer passes” on medium to large areas. That claim is the listing’s own, and this page does not check it against any independent source. The 25-foot throw describes how far snow is thrown, not how wide one pass is. Plan each pass so the snow you throw lands on ground you have already cleared, not back on the path you are working on.

Snow depth

The listing gives an ideal snow depth of 20 centimeters, which is about 8 inches. It also says the tool is “designed to move heavy, wet, or packed snow out of your way.” The stored copy gives no figure for snow deeper than the ideal depth, so this page makes no claim about deep or drifted snow. Compare your usual snowfall with the ideal depth before you buy, and treat that comparison as your own judgment, not a figure from the listing.

Starting it in cold weather

The listing gives a start-up tip: “If the unit doesn’t start, simply remove the battery and allow it to warm indoors for 10 minutes or more.” It adds that you should “reinstall the battery for a quick and successful start.” The tool-only listing gives a similar tip in its own bullet. The sources we opened do not cover battery storage or charging, so follow the manual that comes with your kit for those steps. This page does not add to them.

Clearing a clog: what the safety sources say

The kit’s bullets call it a “cordless snow blower,” and say it “delivers quiet, reliable, and powerful snow clearing.” The listing gives no decibel figure for the quiet claim, so this page does not put a number on the noise. Because the listing describes the tool as a snow blower, the clog advice from powered-snow-blower guidance applies to it.

Utah State University Extension says that “powered snow blowers are a real help during winter storms, but such tools can inflict serious injury if used improperly.” Its advice on a blocked chute is direct: “If the discharge unit becomes clogged, don’t use your hands to clear it.” The same page says to “Turn the engine off and use a wooden dowel or plastic rod to remove blockage.” The page names an engine, and this tool is battery powered. The stored copy does not say what the switch-off step is on this model, so follow the kit manual for that step before you reach into the chute.

Lifting and body strain

Shoveling takes a toll on the body, and the University of New Hampshire says so plainly: “Shoveling is heavy work that people may not be used to and can cause increased stress on heart, lungs and muscles.” Its advice on technique starts with pushing: “Pushing snow is better than lifting.” It also says to keep the work close to you: “The shovel head should be kept as close to the body as possible to reduce impact on the lower back.” Its advice on height is to “Avoid lifting above the waist.”

A directional vane lets you aim the throw without turning your body. UNH advises against twisting to throw snow sideways: “Avoid twisting to throw snow sideways, try to shovel snow straight ahead.” Use the vane for direction and keep your feet and hips facing forward. UNH also lists the signs to stop at once: “have chest pains, irregular heartbeat, dizziness, shortness of breath, joint pain or other significant discomfort.” Any of those means you stop, whatever tool you use.

The bare tool: battery and charger are not included

The second listing is a tool-only version of the same 80V line. Its title ends with “Not Included Battery and Charger”, so the battery and charger are NOT included with this version. You must buy a compatible 80V battery and charger separately. The listing gives a voltage of 80 volts but does not name a battery that fits, so do not assume any 80V battery will work. Check the listing for compatibility before you order.

Item Kit listing Bare tool listing
Model number SS80L2510 SS80L02
Battery and charger Title says included Not included (title)
Clearing width 12 inches 12 inches
Snow depth Ideal 20 centimeters (about 8 inches) Up to 8 inches
Throw distance 25 feet Not used (see below)
Weight Not stated 15.9 pounds
Speeds Not stated 2

The bare-tool listing gives a throw distance that looks like a data error, so this page leaves that figure out. The kit’s weight is not in the stored copy, so do not use the bare tool’s 15.9-pound figure for the kit. View on Amazon

Who the kit suits

  • A homeowner who has a 12-inch-wide path to clear, such as a walk or a driveway you can work in 12-inch passes. Use the passes table to plan the job.
  • A buyer who wants a battery and charger in the box. The title says both are included, but confirm the battery capacity before you rely on how long a charge will last.
  • Someone who wants to aim the throw. The title names a directional vane, and the listing says snow direction is controllable.

For a gravel or uneven drive, see our guide to electric snow shovels for gravel driveways.

Skip it if

  • You need a runtime figure before buying. The stored copy gives none.
  • You need one confirmed battery capacity. The listing gives two, so neither can be relied on from the listing alone.
  • You already own an 80V battery and want the bare tool, but you have not confirmed that the battery fits. The listing does not name a compatible battery.
  • Your snow is often deeper than the ideal depth. The stored copy gives no figure for deeper snow.

For a cordless alternative from other platforms, see our cordless snow blower and shovel guide.

Buying checklist

Before you order, check these points against the listing and your own driveway:

  • Confirm which listing you are buying. The kit’s title names a battery and fast charger. The tool-only title says the battery and charger are not included.
  • Read the battery capacity on the label of the battery that comes with the kit, or ask the seller in writing.
  • Measure the driveway or walk width and divide by 12 inches to estimate passes.
  • Compare your usual snow depth with the ideal depth of about 8 inches.
  • Ask the seller for warranty terms in writing, since the stored copy does not give them.

What the listing does not say

  • Runtime per charge. Neither listing gives a figure.
  • The battery capacity of the kit, because the listing gives two values.
  • The kit’s weight.
  • Which Greenworks 80V batteries fit the bare tool.
  • Warranty terms. The stored copy does not include them.
  • A decibel figure for the quiet claim.
  • Dimensions. The two listings give different dimension sets, and this page uses neither.

How we chose

Two listings in the stored set match the keyword: the kit, and the tool-only version. We chose the kit as the main subject because its title says it comes with a battery and charger. The tool-only version gets its own section because it matches the keyword and its battery and charger are not included. A Greenworks 80V 20-inch snow blower also appeared in the stored set. We left it out because it is a 20-inch snow blower, not a 12-inch shovel.

The fields we compared are the ones a buyer needs to fit a tool to a driveway: clearing width, snow depth, throw distance, what is included, weight, and warranty. Where a listing is silent or gives conflicting figures, the table says so rather than filling the gap.

What we could not verify

We could not open the manufacturer’s product page, so no figure on this page comes from the manufacturer. The listing details come from a stored copy saved on 2026-10-11 and 2026-10-13, so details may have changed since then. The safety points come from one university extension page and one university news page, which cover powered snow blowers and shoveling in general. They do not cover this model specifically. The battery capacity, the bare tool’s throw figure, the kit’s weight, the warranty and the battery fit for the bare tool all remain unverified.

FAQ

Does the Greenworks 80V 12-inch snow shovel come with a battery?

The kit listing’s title says it includes a battery and a fast charger. The tool-only listing says its battery and charger are not included. Check which listing you are buying before you order.

How wide a path does it clear?

The listing gives a clearing width of 12 inches. The passes table above divides your driveway width by 12 inches, with no overlap.

How far does it throw snow?

The kit listing gives a maximum throw of 25 feet. This page does not use the tool-only listing’s throw figure.

What should I do if it will not start?

The listing says to remove the battery, let it warm indoors for 10 minutes or more, and reinstall it. The sources we opened do not cover other start-up steps, so follow the manual for those.

Is it quiet?

The listing describes the tool as quiet. It gives no decibel figure, so this page cannot say how loud it is.

What should I do if the chute clogs?

Utah State University Extension says not to clear a clogged discharge unit with your hands. Its advice is to turn the engine off and use a wooden dowel or plastic rod. This tool is battery powered, so follow the kit manual for the switch-off step.

Bottom line

Buy the kit if you want a 12-inch brushless shovel whose title says it comes with a battery and charger, and if your driveway suits 12-inch passes. Buy the tool-only version only if you already own an 80V battery and charger and have confirmed they fit. In both cases, read the battery label before you rely on how long a charge will last.

Sources

  • Greenworks 80V 12-inch Brushless Snow Shovel kit, Amazon listing (stored copy, saved 2026-10-11)
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0FM7ZCHQN
  • Greenworks 80V 12-inch Brushless Snow Shovel, tool-only listing (stored copy, saved 2026-10-13)
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0D7D1KC7B
  • Practice Snow Blower Safety, Utah State University Extension (opened 2026-10-29)
    https://www.usu.edu/today/story/practice-snow-blower–safety
  • UNH Expert Offers Safe Shoveling Tips for Winter-Weary Residents, University of New Hampshire (opened 2026-10-29)
    https://www.unh.edu/news/unh-expert-offers-safe-shoveling-tips-winter-weary-residents

Similar Posts