Best RB 40V 9″ Mini Cordless Lawn

Best RB 40V 9″ Mini Cordless Lawn

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you are comparing the Best RB 40V 9 Mini Cordless Lawn Mower, this page covers that one model: the RB 40V 9-inch mini cordless lawn mower, model 122. It is a small, light, battery-powered push mower. The listing says it suits lawns up to 540 square feet, cuts 9 inches wide, offers three cutting heights from 1.2 to 2 inches, and weighs 11.5 pounds without its battery. This is not a ranking against other mowers. The product facts come from a stored listing scan dated 2026-10-11, and the listing does not say everything a buyer needs, especially whether the charger is in the box.

Quick answer

  • The listing describes a 9-inch cut, a 40V 2Ah battery, three cutting heights from 1.2 to 2 inches, and a stated fit for lawns up to 540 square feet.
  • It suits a small, mostly flat yard where a top cut of 2 inches is enough, and where you want a light mower that stores upright.
  • The listing does not settle whether a charger is in the box. The title says “with Battery & Charger”, but the specs list one item and no separate charger.
  • Skip it if your lawn is larger than 540 square feet, or if you need to cut higher than 2 inches.

The product at a glance

The table lists only what the listing states. A cell that says not stated means the listing is silent on that point. The stored record for this model was last checked on 2026-10-11.

Item What the listing states
Brand RB
Model number 122
Manufacturer NGP
Power source Battery powered
Battery 40V 2Ah (bullet point)
Battery and charger included Title says “with Battery & Charger”; specs list one item and no separate charger
Motor Brushless, 6000 RPM (bullet point)
Cutting width 9 inches
Cutting heights 3 positions, 1.2 to 2 inches; the middle setting is not stated
Lawn size Up to 540 sq ft (the listing says)
Weight 5.2 kg (11.5 lb) without battery
Item dimensions 5 in D x 10 in W x 38 in H
Operation mode Manual (push)
Battery average life 1 hour (spec sheet; no test conditions given)
Storage Detachable aluminum handle; upright storage
Auto stop Stops if tilted beyond 20 to 70 degrees (the listing says)
Warranty not stated
Blade type not stated
Bagging or grass catcher not stated

Two figures in the table check against each other. The bullet point gives the weight as 5.2 kg and, in the same sentence, as 11.5 lbs without battery. Five point two kilograms is about 11.5 pounds, so the two units agree. The cutting width is 9 inches in the spec sheet and in the title, so that figure is also stated consistently.

View on Amazon

Mowing interval at the listed cut heights

Cut height affects how often you mow, not only how the lawn looks. The Iowa State University Extension FAQ states the one-third rule: no more than one-third of the total leaf area should come off in a single mowing. It also shows that shorter cuts need more frequent mowing. Using the same example growth rate the FAQ uses, 0.2 inches per day, the time between cuts works out to about 2.5 days for each inch of cut height. That figure is our arithmetic from the extension page. The listing does not state it.

Cut height Mow when grass reaches Growth between cuts Days between mowings at 0.2 inch per day
1.2 inches (listing minimum) 1.8 inches 0.6 inch 3.0
2.0 inches (listing maximum) 3.0 inches 1.0 inch 5.0

The rule behind the table is simple. Multiply the cut height by 1.5 to get the height at which you mow, subtract the cut height to get the growth between cuts, and divide that growth by 0.2 to get days. The result is 2.5 times the cut height in inches. Two limits apply. A faster-growing lawn shortens every interval, so the 3-day and 5-day figures are a starting estimate and not a schedule. The middle cut setting is not stated in the listing, so the table does not cover it.

Mississippi State University Extension makes the same one-third point for every turf species. It also says the right cut height depends on the grass. Its warm-season list runs from 0.5 to 1.5 inches for bermudagrass, 1.0 to 1.5 inches for zoysia, 1.0 to 2.0 inches for carpetgrass, 1.5 to 2.0 inches for centipede, and 2.5 to 3.0 inches for St. Augustine. Your grass type decides whether a 1.2 to 2 inch range fits your lawn.

Who it suits

This mower fits a specific set of buyers, and the listing’s own figures define most of them.

  • A small, mostly flat yard under the listing’s 540 square feet. That figure is roughly a 23 by 23 foot square. A strip along a fence, a front patch or a narrow back lawn fits the profile better than a long, wide yard.
  • Someone who wants a light machine to carry and store. The listing gives 11.5 pounds without the battery, one-hand steering, and an upright storage design with a detachable handle.
  • A buyer whose grass tolerates a cut between 1.2 and 2 inches. Several warm-season grasses in the Mississippi State list sit inside that range, including zoysia at 1.0 to 1.5 inches and centipede at 1.5 to 2.0 inches. The listing itself does not name a grass type.
  • A renter or a buyer with a small garage. Check the listed 38-inch height against your storage spot before you order.

Checking the lawn before you buy

  1. Work out the lawn area. Multiply the length by the width of each mowed section, then add them. Compare the total with the listing’s 540 square feet.
  2. Note the grass type and how tall you keep it. If you keep it above 2 inches, this mower’s top setting is too low.
  3. Look at the listing’s contents line and confirm whether a charger is included before you add anything to a cart.
  4. Count the mowing intervals you can live with. At the 2-inch setting, the one-third arithmetic above gives about 5 days between cuts on a 0.2 inch per day growth rate.

If you are still deciding between battery and corded or gas, our guide to the pros and cons of battery-powered lawn mowers covers the trade-offs. For the battery figures, see our post on lawn mower battery voltage and amps.

Skip it if

  • Your lawn is larger than the listing’s 540 square feet. The listing gives no coverage figure for bigger lawns. A 9-inch cut is 0.75 foot wide, so mowing 540 square feet takes about 720 linear feet of path at that width, before any overlap between passes.
  • You need to cut above 2 inches. The listing’s top setting is 2 inches. St. Augustine, in the Mississippi State list, calls for 2.5 to 3.0 inches, which this mower cannot set.
  • You need a charger you can confirm is in the box, or a warranty. Neither appears clearly in the specs.
  • You expect a full hour of cutting on each charge across a large yard. The listing gives a battery average life of 1 hour with no conditions attached.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Reading the 1-hour figure as coverage. The spec sheet gives an hour but no lawn area, grass height or load, so it cannot be turned into a square-foot figure.
  • Setting the cut too low to save time. Iowa State’s table shows the mowing interval falls as the cut gets lower. A low cut on a fast-growing lawn means more frequent sessions, not fewer.
  • Assuming the charger is in the box. The title says a charger is included, but the specs list one item and no separate charger.

What the listing does not say

Four gaps matter most before you buy.

Battery and charger. The title says “with Battery & Charger”. The bullet points name a 40V 2Ah battery. The specs list one item and no charger. Confirm the box contents on the listing before you order, because it gives no separate charger line.

Runtime. The spec sheet gives “Battery Average Life: 1 hour”. It gives no grass height, lawn area or load for that figure, so the hour cannot be matched to the 540 square foot claim.

Blade and cutting quality. Blade type is not stated, and the listing does not mention blade care. Mississippi State’s extension page notes that a dull blade leaves leaf tips “split, ragged and brown”. Keep the blade sharp on any mower, including this one.

Dimensions. The listing gives item dimensions of 5 by 10 by 38 inches. It does not say whether that size is the mower in its upright storage position or a folded size. Measure your storage space with the handle in both positions before you order.

Warranty, bagging and accessories. The listing does not state a warranty, a grass catcher or a bag. Its first bullet point mentions fine mulching, but it does not describe a chute or a bag.

How we chose

This post covers one product: the RB 40V 9-inch mini cordless lawn mower, Amazon listing ID B0CSMKWNHL. It is in the post because it is a small, battery-powered mower with a stated lawn size and a stated height range, so a buyer can check those figures against their own yard. It is not ranked against other mowers, and this post does not compare it with any other model.

The product data comes from a stored listing scan. The stored record was last checked on 2026-10-11. We used the listing’s brand, model, battery, cutting width, height range, weight, dimensions, and the battery and charger wording in its title. We left out prices, star ratings, review counts, badges and images. The mowing-height arithmetic uses two university extension pages that we opened on 2026-10-22.

What we could not verify

  • Whether the charger is included. The title says so, and the specs do not confirm it.
  • The conditions behind the 1-hour battery average life, and how that figure compares with the 540 square foot claim.
  • The motor speed and the 40V 2Ah battery figures. These are listing statements, not checked against a manufacturer page.
  • Any manufacturer warranty, manual or support page for model 122. The specs name NGP as manufacturer, but we did not find a support page for this model.
  • Real-world cutting performance on any lawn. The sources we opened do not cover this model.
  • The “US safety standards” claim. The listing does not name the standard, and we could not confirm it.

FAQ

Does the RB 40V 9 mini cordless lawn mower come with a battery and charger?

The title says it comes with a battery and charger. The specs list one item and do not name a charger separately, so confirm the box contents on the listing before you buy.

How large a lawn does this mower suit?

The listing says it is ideal for small lawns up to 540 square feet, which is roughly a 23 by 23 foot square. The listing gives no figures for larger lawns, so anything bigger is outside what it states.

What cutting heights can I set?

The listing gives three cutting heights from 1.2 to 2 inches. It does not name the middle setting, so check the product page or ask the seller before you count on a specific middle height.

How often would I need to mow at the 2-inch setting?

Under the one-third rule and a growth rate of 0.2 inches per day, the interval at 2 inches is about 5 days. Faster-growing grass means more frequent cuts, so treat that figure as a starting estimate, not a schedule.

How long does the battery last on one charge?

The spec sheet lists a battery average life of 1 hour and gives no test conditions. Use it as the listing’s own figure, and judge it against your lawn size and grass height.

Can it be used on a slope?

The listing says the mower stops automatically if tilted beyond 20 to 70 degrees, and says it meets US safety standards without naming them. The listing does not give a slope rating, so read the product’s own instructions for slope limits before using it on a hill.

Bottom line

If your lawn is under the listing’s 540 square feet, needs no cut above 2 inches, and the listing confirms a charger in the box, this mower is a reasonable fit. If any of those three is not true, look at a larger or higher-cutting model before you buy.

Sources

  • RB 40V 9-inch Mini Cordless Lawn Mower, Amazon listing, stored scan (opened 2026-10-11)
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CSMKWNHL
  • Is it true that I can mow less often if I cut the grass really short? Iowa State University Extension and Outreach (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://yardandgarden.extension.iastate.edu/faq/it-true-i-can-mow-less-often-if-i-cut-grass-really-short
  • Enhance Lawn Health and Beauty with Proper Mowing, Mississippi State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://extension.msstate.edu/taxonomy/term/4190/2011/enhance-lawn-health-and-beauty-proper-mowing-5-23-11

Similar Posts