Best RYOBI 40V Cordless Leaf Blower 550 CFM

Best RYOBI 40V Cordless Leaf Blower 550 CFM

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The best ryobi 40v cordless leaf blower 550 cfm is a fit only if you already own RYOBI 40V batteries, because this model is sold as a tool only. This page covers one product, the RYOBI 40V blower with model number RY40LB01B. The stored Amazon listing and Ryobi’s own model page both give 550 CFM of airflow and 120 MPH, and the listing says the battery and charger are not included. The listing shows a second speed figure, and the sources we opened do not settle which speed is right. The sections below separate what each source states from what they leave out.

Quick answer

  • The listing says this is a tool-only RYOBI 40V blower, model RY40LB01B, and that the battery and charger are not included.
  • Both the listing and the Ryobi page state 550 CFM. The listing title and its maximum speed field say 120 MPH, but a second speed field in the listing reads 125 mph, so treat the top speed as unsettled.
  • Ryobi states over 75 minutes of runtime with a 40V 4Ah battery, with the variable speed trigger on low. That is a manufacturer figure under stated conditions, and we did not check it against a second source.
  • Buy it only if you already have RYOBI 40V batteries and need a handheld blower for leaves and loose yard debris. If you need a battery and charger in the box, choose a kit instead.

The product at a glance

The table uses only what the stored listing and the Ryobi model page state. A cell reads “not stated” when neither source we opened gives that item. Where the two sources disagree, the cell shows both figures.

Item What the sources state
Brand and model RYOBI, model RY40LB01B (listing and Ryobi page)
Type Handheld, battery powered (listing); 40V 550 CFM blower (Ryobi page)
Battery platform 40V (listing); RYOBI 40V system (Ryobi page)
Included in the box Tool only; battery and charger not included (listing). The Ryobi page also offers a version with a 4Ah battery and charger.
Airflow 550 CFM (listing and Ryobi page)
Air speed 120 MPH (listing title and maximum speed field; Ryobi page). The listing’s speed field reads 125 mph.
Runtime Over 75 minutes with a 40V 4Ah battery, variable speed trigger on low (Ryobi page only). Not stated in the listing.
Trigger Variable speed trigger (Ryobi page). The listing names adjustable speed as a feature.
Item weight 8.1 pounds (listing field). Not stated on the Ryobi page.
Dimensions 36 in long, 8 in wide, 11 in high (listing field, as stored). Not stated on the Ryobi page.
Color Green (listing)
Warranty Not stated in the listing. The Ryobi page refers to its product warranties, but the terms are not in the text we opened.

Product link: View on Amazon

What the two speed figures mean for you

The listing gives 120 mph in the title and in its maximum speed field, and 125 mph in a separate speed field. The Ryobi page gives 120 MPH as the air speed next to the 550 CFM air volume. Two of the three figures agree on 120 MPH, so that is the figure this post uses when it needs one number. The 125 mph field is shown because it is in the stored record, not because we have a second measurement. If the top speed matters for your use, confirm the figure with the seller or with Ryobi before you buy.

Who it suits

This blower suits a person who already owns RYOBI 40V batteries and wants one handheld blower for leaves, grass clippings on hard surfaces and loose yard debris. The listing describes it as a 40V platform blower. Ryobi’s page rates the blower at 550 CFM and 120 MPH and says it is ideal for damp or dry leaves and yard debris. The page also lists the variable speed trigger as a feature.

The Virginia Tech guide describes what a blower does: leaf blowers are used to collect leaves and yard debris rather than raking them manually, and they generate air at high velocity through a nozzle. The Oklahoma State column calls a leaf blower an excellent tool for the final steps in lawn maintenance. Those two sources describe the job. They do not rate any model, including this one.

Why a battery model fits a yard without an outlet

The Virginia Tech training guide says the power cord limits how far an electric blower can be used from an outlet. Its text also says: “Battery-powered units are also available to avoid the power cord limitation.” The same guide adds a trade-off: “They tend to be heavier due to the battery pack and have only limited life before the battery is discharged.” This matters for the RY40LB01B because the listing gives an item weight of 8.1 pounds. The guide gives a general figure of about 7 pounds or less for hand-held electric blowers, so this model is somewhat heavier than that general figure. That comparison is about a category, not a measured figure for this tool.

If your yard is far from an outlet, a battery model removes the cord question. If you already have a cord-based blower, the battery trade-off is the one to weigh against the cord limit.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Blowing grass trimmings onto the road. The Oklahoma State column gives three reasons: trimmings are a beneficial nutrient for the lawn, they can be slick for motorcyclists and bicyclists, and grass clippings can be harmful if washed into storm drains.
  • Blowing debris toward people, pets or plants. The same column warns that flying objects can strike people, pets and plants and cause damage.
  • Running the blower with a clogged air intake. The column advises keeping the air intake clear so the motor does not overheat.
  • Skipping eye and ear protection. OSHA’s landscaping page addresses both for blowers and other power equipment.

Skip it if

  • You do not own RYOBI 40V batteries. The listing says the battery and charger are not included, so the tool will not run until you buy a compatible pack and charger.
  • You need a runtime figure you can rely on for a long session. The only runtime figure comes from Ryobi, under a 4Ah battery and the low setting of the trigger.
  • You need one confirmed top speed. The listing gives two speed figures, and the sources we opened do not resolve the difference.
  • You plan to rely on it for wet or matted debris, which the sources we opened do not cover.
  • You need a blower that runs on a different battery platform. This page covers only the 40V RY40LB01B tool.

If you are still deciding between battery and corded models, read our cordless leaf blower guide before you order. If you already own a DeWalt battery and want another battery option, our DeWalt 20V MAX XR leaf blower review covers a different platform.

What the listing does not say

The stored listing record is short. It states the box contents clearly, but it leaves several items out. The bullet that reads “TOOL ONLY; DOES NOT INCLUDE BATTERY OR CHARGER” settles the box contents for this ASIN. The rest of the record is less complete.

  • Battery and charger: not included, according to the listing.
  • Runtime: not stated in the listing. Ryobi’s figure applies only to the stated battery and trigger setting.
  • Warranty: not stated in the listing, and the Ryobi text we opened does not give the terms.
  • Top speed: the listing shows 120 mph in one field and 125 mph in another.
  • Weight: the listing gives 8.1 pounds. The Ryobi page we opened does not state a weight.

Handheld form and the dimension field

The listing’s form factor field says Handheld. The Virginia Tech guide describes hand-held electric blowers as designed for one-handed operation, which matches that field. The listing also gives a dimension field of 36 in long, 8 in wide and 11 in high. The Ryobi page does not repeat that field, so we cannot check it against a second source, and this post does not use it to judge fit or storage.

How the runtime figure is tied to the battery

Ryobi’s runtime line names a 40V 4Ah battery, and it says the figure holds with the variable speed trigger on low. The listing gives no runtime at all. The sources we opened do not say how a different battery size changes the figure, so a buyer should not assume that a larger or smaller pack will run for the same time.

How we chose

This blower is in the post because it is one tool-only RYOBI 40V handheld blower with a stored scan record and a manufacturer model page that matches the same model number, RY40LB01B. ASIN B0D4Y54FBP is the only product in this post. We did not compare it with other blowers, so this post makes no ranking claim. The listing data comes from the stored scan record dated 2026-10-23. The Ryobi model page was opened on 2026-10-28. The three university and government sources were opened on 2026-10-22 and are listed with their dates at the end of this post. We did not use retail, blog or review pages for any fact. Three of the university and government texts were already in the research folder from earlier posts on this site, so we reused them with their original opened date, 2026-10-22, rather than opening them again.

What we could not verify

We could not settle the top speed, because the listing gives two figures and the Ryobi page gives 120 MPH without a second number for the top speed. We could not confirm the weight from the manufacturer, and we did not find a warranty term in the text we opened. The runtime figure is Ryobi’s, under a 4Ah battery and the low setting, and no second source confirms it. The sources we opened do not cover how this blower performs on wet or matted debris, so this post does not say how it performs there.

FAQ

Does the RYOBI RY40LB01B come with a battery or charger?

No. The listing says the blower is tool only and that the battery and charger are not included. The Ryobi page also offers a separate version with a 4Ah battery and charger, so check which option you are buying before you order.

How much airflow and speed does this blower have?

Both the listing and the Ryobi page state 550 CFM of airflow. Ryobi gives 120 MPH as the air speed. The listing shows 120 mph in one field and 125 mph in another, so the sources do not agree on the top speed.

How long does the blower run on one charge?

Ryobi says it runs over 75 minutes using a 40V 4Ah battery, with the variable speed trigger on low. The listing does not state a runtime. Treat the figure as the manufacturer’s claim under those conditions, and expect less when the trigger is set higher.

Is this blower a good replacement for a gas blower?

Ryobi says the blower has more power than a 25cc gas blower and calls it a true gas replacement. That is the manufacturer’s claim. The sources we opened do not compare this model with a gas blower in use, so we cannot confirm the claim here. The Virginia Tech guide notes that battery units avoid the cord limit but are heavier and have limited battery life.

What safety points apply to this blower?

The Oklahoma State University Extension column says the primary hazard of a leaf blower is that it can propel small rocks, sticks and other debris toward bystanders. OSHA’s landscaping page says to wear protective goggles when using blowers and ear protection when using power equipment. The OSU column also advises keeping the air intake clear of lawn debris so the motor does not overheat.

Bottom line

Buy this RYOBI RY40LB01B only if you already own RYOBI 40V batteries and want a tool-only handheld blower for leaves and loose yard debris. Pick a kit instead if the box must include a battery and charger.

Sources

  • RYOBI 40V 120 MPH 550 CFM Cordless Battery Leaf Blower Tool ONLY RY40LB01B, Amazon listing (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0D4Y54FBP
  • 40V 550 CFM Blower RY40LB01B, RYOBI product page (opened 2026-10-28) https://www.ryobitools.com/products/46396053169
  • Powered Hand Tools Safety: Lawn Care Training Guide, Virginia Tech Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://ext.vt.edu/content/pubs_ext_vt_edu/en/BSE/BSE-50/BSE-50.html
  • Beyond The Mower: Safe Use Of Trimmers, Edgers And Blowers, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/announcements/grow-gardening-columns/2025/august-24-2025.html
  • Landscape and Horticultural Services – Hazards and Solutions, OSHA (opened 2026-10-22) https://www.osha.gov/landscaping/hazards

Similar Posts