Best Westinghouse 20V Cordless Hedge Trimmer
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you are searching for the best westinghouse 20v cordless hedge trimmer, the first question is what you are buying. The listing title says Tool Only, but one bullet says the battery and charger are included and another says they are sold separately. This page sets out those conflicting statements, the cut and blade figures the listing gives, and what the manufacturer page says about a model it labels WHT 20V. The sources do not settle the battery question, so the post shows you how to settle it with the seller.
Quick answer
- The listing describes a 20V cordless hedge trimmer with 22 inch dual-action steel blades and a 5/8 inch maximum cut capacity.
- The title says Tool Only. One bullet says the battery and charger are included, and another says they are sold separately. The listing contradicts itself, so ask the seller in writing.
- The listing gives a weight of 4.5 pounds and a 2 year limited warranty.
- The Westinghouse page for a model it labels WHT 20V says its battery and charger are included and gives a unit weight of 5.9 lb. We could not confirm that page describes the same product.
The product at a glance
The table sets the listing beside the manufacturer page for a model it labels WHT 20V. Cells say “not stated” where a source is silent. The stored scan record was checked on 2026-10-23, and the manufacturer page was opened on 2026-10-28.
| Item | What the listing states | What the manufacturer page states (WHT 20V model) |
|---|---|---|
| Model | WHTT 20V (model number field) | WHT 20V |
| Battery and charger | Conflicting: title says Tool Only; one bullet says sold separately; another says included. No battery or charger model named | Included 2Ah 20V battery and fast charger. Compatible batteries W20V2AH, W20V4AH, W20V5AH; chargers W20V2AMP, W20V2DP |
| Runtime | Not stated | Up to 50 minutes on the included battery |
| Blade | 22 inch dual-action steel blades; blade length 22 inches; alloy steel | 22 inch dual action steel blade |
| Maximum cut capacity | 5/8 inch (bullet). Cutting width field reads 0.63 inches | 5/8 inch |
| Motor | Not stated | High speed 2600 RPM motor |
| Weight | 4.5 pounds | 5.9 lb. |
| Dimensions | 39.3 in L x 8.5 in W x 7 in H | 36.4 in L x 8.7 in W x 6.9 in H |
| Blade cover | Protective plastic blade cover | Protective blade cover |
| Warranty | 2 Year Limited Warranty | 2 year limited warranty |
| Color | Black | Not stated |
The link below goes to the Amazon listing for this exact ASIN, B0DN7ZR8TK. Read the battery bullets before you order.
Who it suits
The listing’s 5/8 inch capacity points to shaping shrubs and hedges rather than cutting heavy wood. It makes sense when most of these points are true for you.
- You already own a 20V battery and charger, or you have confirmed in writing that the seller includes them.
- Your hedge is shrubs and small branches up to 5/8 inch, which is the largest cut the listing names.
- You want a 22 inch blade for shaping, and a weight near the listing’s 4.5 pounds. The page figure of 5.9 lb. is heavier, so weigh the difference against your own use.
- You trim formal or clipped hedges and expect repeat visits. The Clemson page says “Formal or clipped hedges require specialized pruning, which can be a continuous job during the growing season.”
If you need to reach higher than a standard trimmer allows, our cordless hedge trimmer with extension pole post covers the reach options. For the battery and charger question in general, our Worx hedge trimmer battery and charger post covers that side of the purchase for a different brand.
Skip it if
- The seller cannot confirm in writing whether the battery and charger are included. The listing contradicts itself on the point.
- You need to cut branches thicker than 5/8 inch. The listing’s maximum is 5/8 inch, and the Nebraska Extension page says “Use a pruning saw on branches larger than 1 3/4 inches in diameter.”
- You need to prune trees and shrubs, not shape a hedge. The Nebraska page says hedge shears “should not be used to prune trees and shrubs.”
- You need a runtime figure for the listing’s own battery. The listing does not state one.
Shaping, not pruning
The listing and the Westinghouse page both describe a 22 inch dual-action blade with a 5/8 inch maximum cut. The University of Florida page says “Hedge shears can be manual or power, and are useful when pruning small-leaved plants into formal shapes.” That is the job this tool is built for, and it is the job the sources back.
The Clemson page adds a useful rule for hedge work: “Thinning (cutting selected branches back to a side branch or main trunk) is usually preferred over heading back.” The Clemson page also says formal hedges need repeat clipping, so plan the time for it.
The page for the WHT 20V model describes its motor as “A high speed 2600 RPM motor paired with a 22 inch dual action steel blade delivers fast, efficient cutting.” The listing does not state a motor speed, so that figure applies to the Westinghouse page’s model only. We do not carry it over to the listing’s WHTT 20V.
Mistakes to avoid
- Trusting one bullet over the title. The title says Tool Only, one bullet says sold separately, and another says the battery and charger are included. Do not choose one of them until the seller confirms.
- Cutting past the rated capacity. The listing gives 5/8 inch as the maximum cut capacity. The Nebraska page says “Hand pruners or pruning shears are generally used for cutting branches up to 3/4 inch in diameter.” It also says “Branches from 3/4 to 1 1/2 inches in diameter can be effectively cut with lopping shears.” Use the right tool for thicker wood.
- Heading back every shoot. The Clemson page says “Thinning (cutting selected branches back to a side branch or main trunk) is usually preferred over heading back.” Thin the inside growth before you shear the outside.
- Stowing the blades unprotected. The listing says the protective plastic blade cover is for “safe storage and easy transport.” Fit it before you carry or store the trimmer.
- Expecting a one-time job. The Clemson page describes formal clipping as “a continuous job during the growing season.” Plan repeat visits instead of one large session.
Buying checklist
- Get the battery and charger status in writing. The listing gives three different statements, so ask the seller which one applies to the unit you will receive.
- Check the platform. The listing describes a “20V battery and charger platform,” so confirm the pack and charger you own match it.
- Check the cut capacity against your branches. The listing says 5/8 inch.
- Confirm the warranty terms. The listing gives a 2 year limited warranty, and the page says the same for its WHT model.
- Compare the weight. The listing says 4.5 pounds and the page says 5.9 lb. for a model it labels WHT 20V.
- Use the blade cover for storage and carrying, as the listing describes.
What the listing does not say
The battery and charger question is the largest gap, and the listing itself creates it. Its title says “Tool Only.” Its second bullet says the battery platform comes with “three battery sizes and two chargers to choose from (all sold separately).” Its third bullet describes “this cordless hedge trimmer with battery and charger included.” Those statements cannot all be true for the same unit, so the listing does not settle the question. Do not pick one of them when you buy.
The model number is the second gap. The listing gives “WHTT 20V” as its model number, while the Westinghouse page we opened describes a model it calls “WHT 20V,” with an included 2Ah battery and charger. The two may be the same product with different labels, or different products. We could not confirm which, and the page should not be read as a description of the listing’s unit. The page also gives a different product dimension, 36.4L x 8.7W x 6.9H in., against the listing’s 39.3 by 8.5 by 7 inches. Its compatible batteries are listed as W20V2AH, W20V4AH and W20V5AH, and its chargers as W20V2AMP and W20V2DP, but the listing names none of these.
Runtime is not stated in the listing. The Westinghouse page says “The included 2Ah battery provides up to 50 minutes runtime and recharges in about an hour with the included fast charger.” That figure applies to the page’s model with its included battery. It does not tell you how long the listing’s unit would run on any pack you own.
The weight figures also differ, 4.5 pounds on the listing and 5.9 lb. on the page. The page figure may include a battery, but the sources do not say so, so we do not treat the difference as explained. The listing’s “Cutting width” field reads 0.63 inches, which matches the 5/8 inch bullet to rounding. The listing does not state a motor speed.
How we chose
This post covers one product: ASIN B0DN7ZR8TK, the Westinghouse 20V Cordless Hedge Trimmer, Tool Only, 22 Inch Dual-Action Steel Blades. It is in the post because the search phrase names this exact product type and brand. The product record is a single yard tool, a battery powered hedge trimmer. It is not gas-powered, not an attachment, not a loose blade, and not a pole saw.
The listing title and specifications come from a stored scan record checked on 2026-10-23. The Westinghouse page was opened on 2026-10-28, but it describes a model labeled WHT 20V, so it is a comparison source and not the listing’s own product page. The shaping and pruning guidance comes from three university extension pages opened on 2026-10-22. We did not rank this trimmer against other models, so this post makes no ranking claim.
What we could not verify
- Whether the listing’s battery and charger are included. The listing gives three conflicting statements.
- Whether the WHTT 20V in the listing and the WHT 20V on the Westinghouse page are the same product. The page’s dimensions and battery models differ from anything the listing names.
- Runtime and motor speed for the listing’s unit. The sources give neither for the listing.
- The reason for the weight difference between 4.5 pounds and 5.9 lb.
- Warranty terms beyond the stated 2 year limited warranty.
FAQ
Does the Westinghouse 20V hedge trimmer come with a battery and charger?
The listing does not settle it. Its title says Tool Only, one bullet says the battery platform is sold separately, and another says the battery and charger are included. Ask the seller in writing before you order.
How thick a branch can it cut?
The listing gives 5/8 inch as the maximum cut capacity, and the Westinghouse page gives the same figure for its WHT 20V model. For thicker wood, the Nebraska Extension page says lopping shears suit branches from 3/4 to 1 1/2 inches, and a pruning saw suits branches larger than 1 3/4 inches.
How much does it weigh?
The listing gives 4.5 pounds. The Westinghouse page gives 5.9 lb. for its WHT 20V model. The sources do not explain the difference.
How long does it run on a charge?
The listing does not state a runtime. The Westinghouse page says its WHT 20V model runs up to 50 minutes on the included 2Ah battery, but that figure does not apply to the listing’s unit.
Is there a warranty on this model?
The listing states a 2 Year Limited Warranty, and the Westinghouse page says the same for its WHT 20V model. Ask the seller for the full terms before you buy.
Can it shape formal hedges?
The University of Florida page says hedge shears “are useful when pruning small-leaved plants into formal shapes.” The Clemson page says formal clipping can be a continuous job during the growing season, so expect repeat trims.
Bottom line
Skip this trimmer unless the seller confirms in writing whether the battery and charger are included for the unit you will receive.
Sources
- Westinghouse 20V Cordless Hedge Trimmer, Tool Only, 22 Inch Dual-Action Steel Blades, Amazon listing (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DN7ZR8TK
- Cordless 20V Hedge Trimmer, Westinghouse product page for a model labeled WHT 20V (opened 2026-10-28) https://westinghouse.com/products/cordless-20v-hedge-trimmer-1
- Pruning Tool Selection, University of Florida IFAS Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://ffl.ifas.ufl.edu/resources/ffl-minute-radio/2020-archive/december-2020/pruning-tool-selection
- The Basics of Pruning Tools, Nebraska Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://lancaster.unl.edu/basics-pruning-tools
- Pruning Shrubs, Clemson Cooperative Extension Home and Garden Information Center (opened 2026-10-22) https://hgic.clemson.edu/factsheet/pruning-shrubs/






