Best RYOBI ONEAND 18V 9 in. Cordless Edger
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you searched for the best ryobi oneand 18v 9 in cordless edger, the short answer is this: the RYOBI ONEAND 18V 9 in. cordless edger is a battery-powered edger with a 9 inch cutting width, and the listing sells it as a tool only. The title gives the model as P2300BTL and the item weight as 10 pounds. The battery and charger are not included, so the real setup depends on whether you already own an ONEAND 18V battery and charger. The listing does not state a runtime.
Quick answer
- Buy it if you already own an ONEAND 18V battery and charger, because the listing sells the edger as a tool only.
- Expect a 9 inch cutting width, the figure the listing states, for edging along paths, beds and lawn borders.
- Budget for the battery and charger if you do not own them, since neither one comes with this listing.
- Skip it for damp or wet grass, and do not buy it if you need a runtime or warranty figure, because the listing gives neither.
The product at a glance
The table lists what the Amazon listing states for this ASIN, read on 2026-10-22. Cells say “not stated” where the listing is silent.
| Item | What the listing states |
|---|---|
| Brand | RYOBI |
| Model number | P2300BTL (from the title) |
| Product type | Cordless edger, tool only |
| Power source | Battery Powered |
| Voltage | 18V (from the title) |
| Battery platform | ONEAND (from the title); the visible text does not list battery packs |
| Battery and charger | Not included; the title says Tool ONLY |
| Cutting width | 9 inches |
| Motor type | not stated |
| Blade type | not stated |
| Runtime | not stated |
| Item weight | 10 pounds |
| Dimensions | not stated |
| Color | GREEN |
| Warranty | not stated in the visible text |
The listing offers a RYOBI 18V charger as a separate item, which confirms that a charger is not in the box. Two short formulas show what you still need to buy. Battery items still needed = 1 if you own no ONEAND 18V battery, otherwise 0. Charger items still needed = 1 if you own no compatible charger, otherwise 0. If you own neither, the total is 2 extra items on top of the edger.
The listing gives 9 inches as the cutting width and gives no blade diameter. Do not assume the two numbers match, and check the blade figure with the seller if the cut depth matters to your edges. In the table above, every row marked “not stated” is a question to put to the seller before you buy, not a sign that the tool is lacking that feature.
Who it suits
This edger suits an owner who already runs ONEAND 18V tools and wants a dedicated edger for lawn borders. The title points to the ONEAND 18V platform. The visible listing text does not list which battery packs work with the tool, so read the battery label on your pack and confirm the match before you order.
It suits a person who edges small to medium borders with a 9 inch cutting width. The listing gives that width as a fact. It does not say how many feet of edge one battery charge covers, so plan your first session around the size of your own edges rather than a fixed figure from this post.
It also suits a buyer who wants a lighter machine. The listing states an item weight of 10 pounds, which is the only weight figure on the page.
Before you order, check three things: the battery platform on the packs you own, whether you own a charger for that platform, and whether 9 inches matches the edge you want to cut. If any answer is no, the tool-only listing will not get you to a working edger on its own.
Finally, it suits a buyer who prefers a battery to a cord. The listing says the power source is battery powered. If you are still weighing battery and corded lawn tools, our guide to the pros and cons of battery powered lawn mowers covers that trade-off for lawn tools.
Skip it if
Skip it if you do not own an ONEAND 18V battery and charger and do not want to buy them. The tool-only wording means your first use depends on those extra parts, and the listing does not name a battery pack or a charger that is included.
Skip it if you need a wider cut than 9 inches. The listing states 9 inches as the cutting width, and it does not offer a larger width in the visible text.
Skip it if your edges are dense or heavily rooted. The visible listing text gives no power or torque rating, so the page cannot tell you how the motor handles tough sod. If that is your job, choose a tool whose listing states a power rating.
Skip it if you plan to edge a long run of borders in one session. The listing does not state a runtime, so the length of a session depends on the battery you add, and the visible text does not say how many packs a large job needs.
Skip it if you edge wet grass or work in damp spots. The OSHA eTool says electric tools should not be used in damp or wet locations unless they are approved for that purpose. The listing does not say this edger is approved for wet use, so treat wet grass as outside what the listing supports.
Skip it if you need a motor, blade or warranty figure before you buy. The visible text does not state the motor type, the blade type or the warranty. Without those figures, a comparison with another edger would rest on guesswork, and this post will not provide one.
Buying checklist
- Read the label on your ONEAND 18V battery and charger, and confirm the match before you order the tool-only edger. If the 18V figure is unclear to you, our guide to lawn mower battery voltage and amps covers battery voltage and amps for lawn tools.
- Compare the 9 inch cutting width with the edge you plan to cut, such as a bed border or a path.
- Ask the seller for the warranty and the runtime, since the listing states neither.
- Compare the parts you need against what you own, since the page shows a charger as a separate item and the title says the edger ships alone.
- Keep the edger dry, and do not start it on wet grass unless the brand confirms the tool is approved for that use.
- Plan how you will retire old batteries. EPA guidance says lithium-ion batteries should not go in household garbage or recycling bins.
Battery handling deserves a sentence of its own. The EPA page says that even used batteries can have enough energy to injure or start fires, and that not all batteries are removable or serviceable by the user. It also says that if a lithium-ion battery becomes damaged, the battery or device manufacturer should be contacted for specific handling information. This post does not describe any repair step, because the sources we opened give none.
What the listing does not say
The listing is short on details that buyers often want. The points below are gaps in the listing text we saved, not findings about the tool itself.
- Battery and charger: not included, because the title says Tool ONLY. The page offers a charger as a separate item.
- Battery packs: the visible text does not list which packs the edger takes.
- Runtime: not stated, so the listing gives no figure for how long one charge lasts.
- Motor and blade: neither the motor type nor the blade type is stated.
- Warranty: not stated in the visible text.
- Dimensions: not stated, although the item weight of 10 pounds is listed.
- Description text: the one line under About this item talks about replacement parts for lawn professionals and does not describe this edger, so this post does not use it for any fact.
How we chose
This post covers one product: the RYOBI ONEAND 18V 9 in. Cordless Battery Edger Tool ONLY P2300BTL, Amazon ASIN B01JHV1TVQ, which matches the keyword best ryobi oneand 18v 9 in cordless edger. It makes no ranking claim and does not compare this edger with other RYOBI models or other brands. We read the public listing on 2026-10-22 and saved its title, description line and specs. Every figure in the glance table comes from that saved text, and each battery figure is labeled as coming from the title when it does.
The two other sources were chosen for the battery and the tool. The EPA page covers lithium-ion batteries from power tools, including disposal and fire prevention. The OSHA eTool covers portable electric tools and their use in damp or wet locations. We left out the customer feedback, pricing and badges that appear on the page. Any comparison a buyer makes should start from the same stated specs.
Three things would change this pick: a listing that states a runtime and a warranty, a published list of compatible battery packs, or a manufacturer page that confirms the model’s specifications. Until one of those appears, the edger is a fit only for buyers who already own the battery and charger.
What we could not verify
The sources we opened do not cover this model’s runtime, motor, blade or warranty. The EPA page covers lithium-ion batteries in general, not the pack this listing expects. The OSHA eTool covers portable electric tools in construction settings, not lawn edgers.
We could not verify which battery packs and chargers match the tool, whether the 18V figure refers to a specific pack size, or how far one charge reaches on an edge. A manufacturer product page for model P2300BTL was not opened in this review, so the brand-side details rest on the listing alone. The 9 inch cutting width is repeated from the listing and is not confirmed by any second source. For those points, check the battery label and ask the seller or the brand before you buy. The voltage and platform figures appear only in the title, not in the spec table, so any buyer should treat the title as the single source for them.
FAQ
Does the RYOBI ONEAND 18V edger come with a battery?
No. The title says Tool ONLY, and the page offers a charger as a separate item. Check whether you already own an ONEAND 18V battery before you order.
What cutting width does this edger have?
The listing states a cutting width of 9 inches. It does not offer a larger width in the visible text.
Is this edger cordless?
Yes. The listing gives the power source as battery powered, and the title names a cordless battery edger. That means no extension cord, but the listing does not state a runtime, so plan the session length around the battery you add.
Which battery platform does it use?
The title names the ONEAND 18V platform. The visible text does not list the battery packs that work with it, so read the label on your pack before buying.
Can I use it on wet grass?
The listing does not say the edger is approved for wet use. The OSHA eTool says electric tools should not be used in damp or wet locations unless they are approved for that purpose, so wet grass is outside what this post supports.
How should I dispose of an old lithium-ion battery?
EPA says lithium-ion batteries should not go in household garbage or recycling bins. Take them to a recycling location or a household hazardous waste collection point. EPA advises placing each battery in a separate plastic bag and taping its terminals before recycling, and contacting the manufacturer if a battery is damaged.
Bottom line
Buy the RYOBI ONEAND 18V 9 in. cordless edger when you already own an ONEAND 18V battery and charger and need a 9 inch edge. Decision rule: if you do not own both, add their cost to the tool before you order, because the listing sells the edger as a tool only.
Sources
- RYOBI ONEAND 18V 9 in. Cordless Battery Edger Tool ONLY P2300BTL, Amazon product listing (opened 2026-10-22)
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01JHV1TVQ - Used Lithium-Ion Batteries, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (opened 2026-10-22)
https://www.epa.gov/recycle/used-lithium-ion-batteries - eTool: Construction, Electrical Incidents, Power Tools, Occupational Safety and Health Administration (opened 2026-10-22)
https://www.osha.gov/etools/construction/electrical-incidents/power-tools






