Best WEN 41119 Electric Wood Chipper and Shredder
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you searched for best wen 41119 electric wood chipper and shredder, the listing describes a 15-amp electric unit that handles sticks and branches up to 1.75 inches in diameter, with two 7-inch cutting blades and a bag or bin option. The listing also says an internal safety mechanism prevents startup when the hopper is open, and it includes a two-year warranty. It does not give a voltage, a cord length or warranty terms. The Ohio State pages we opened were written for chippers in general, so this post separates the advice that applies to an electric unit from the advice that does not.
Quick answer
- The listing says the unit shreds “sticks and branches up to 1.75 inches in diameter with ease.” Anything thicker is outside the capacity the listing states.
- The listing says an internal safety mechanism “automatically prevents startups when the hopper is still open.” That is a listing claim. It does not replace the hood and knife checks the Ohio State pages describe.
- The listing does not state a voltage, a plug type or a cord length. Check those before you plan where to run the unit.
- Ohio State’s advice to “Do not work alone when using a chipper or a shredder” applies to this unit. Its fuel and spark plug steps apply only to engine-powered machines.
The product at a glance
The table lists only what the Amazon listing (checked 2026-10-22) states. “Not stated” means the listing is silent on that point. We did not find a WEN product page for model 41119 that we could open, so the table has no manufacturer column. The two collection styles appear in the table because the listing names them as separate items.
| Item | What the listing states |
|---|---|
| Brand and manufacturer | WEN |
| Model | 41119 |
| Power | Electric, 15-amp motor |
| Voltage | Not stated |
| Cord and plug | Not stated |
| Largest stated capacity | Sticks and branches up to 1.75 inches in diameter |
| Cutting rate | Up to 8000 cuts per minute (listing claim) |
| Cutting parts | Two 7-inch cutting blades |
| Wheels and handle | Two 7-inch wheels; push stick with onboard storage |
| Collection | Style options: 12-gallon bag or 13-gallon bin |
| Safety feature | Internal mechanism prevents startup with the hopper open |
| Dimensions | 17.3 x 14.2 x 37 inches |
| Item weight | 20.1 pounds |
| Warranty | Two-year (bullet); terms not stated |
Listing for this ASIN: View on Amazon
Who it suits
The listing points to a buyer with small branches and clippings. Its bullets say the unit can “Turn your excess lawn clippings, twigs and foliage into high-grade, nutrient-rich mulch,” and that it shreds “sticks and branches up to 1.75 inches in diameter with ease.” That suits a yard where most of the debris is thin prunings, leaves and clippings, and where larger branches are cut down before they are fed in.
It also suits a buyer who wants an electric unit rather than an engine-powered one. The Ohio State page on chipper types describes the smaller portable units as “typically powered by gasoline engines,” and it describes the range from portable to large trailer-mounted machines. The WEN listing describes an electric unit with a 15-amp motor, so the fuel and engine steps on that page do not apply to it.
Choose the collection style by how you will empty it. The listing shows a 12-gallon bag and a 13-gallon bin as separate styles, so check which one your order includes. Before feeding material, the Ohio State page says to “Make sure the material to be chipped is free from stones, metal and foreign objects.” That applies to any chipper, electric or not.
Before the first run, the Ohio State page on chipper types gives a short pre-use list. It says to “Inspect the unit for signs of wear and damage” and to “Make sure the shields and guards are in place, and the safety features are not overridden.” The listing’s internal safety mechanism is one of those safety features, but it does not replace the other checks, and the safety page advises that you read the manual before running the machine.
If clippings are your main debris, our post on small electric lawn mowers with a bag covers the mower side of that job. If you are also clearing leaves and small debris, see our post on cordless leaf blowers, which covers a different cleanup tool.
Skip it if
Skip it if your branches are thicker than 1.75 inches. The listing states that capacity, and the Ohio State page on safety advises that the knives “are sharp enough to slice through fresh wood” and that “The engines are powerful enough to grind thick branches and limbs.” A branch beyond the stated size is not a job for this unit.
Skip it if the hood or the knife covers are damaged or cannot be secured. The Ohio State safety page says “An unlatched, improperly secured, or damaged hood can be thrown from the chipper or shredder,” and it advises that you “Make sure that the hood covering the knives is completely closed” before running the unit.
Skip it if you cannot keep other people clear of the machine. The Ohio State page on chipper types says to “keep bystanders away from the equipment and have them maintain a clear distance” because objects are thrown from the blades. The safety page adds that “Workers can be pulled into the knives or struck by the chipper disc hood,” which is why the work zone has to stay clear of everyone else.
Skip it if you plan to work alone. The Ohio State page says “Do not work alone when using a chipper or a shredder,” and it advises checking the safety and emergency shut-off devices before each run.
Skip it if you have to feed material from a slope or uneven footing. The Ohio State page says to “Position the chipper or shredder so that workers do not have to stand on slopes when feeding material into the machine.” The same page says to keep the area around the unit free of tripping hazards.
Skip it if you need a stated voltage or cord length before you buy. The listing does not state either one, and the sources we opened do not cover them.
What the listing does not say
The listing does not give a voltage, a plug type or a cord length. For an electric machine those are the first details to check, because they decide where the unit can run and whether an extension cord is needed. The listing does not say whether an extension cord is recommended, and this post does not claim one.
The listing says the motor provides “up to 8000 cuts per minute.” It does not say how many cuts a branch needs or how fast the machine takes in a load, so the figure cannot be turned into a throughput estimate for any yard.
The listing does not describe the cutting parts beyond “two 7-inch cutting blades.” It does not give a replacement schedule. The Ohio State page on chipper types advises replacing cutter knives that are “damaged or excessively worn,” but it does not give an interval.
The listing includes a push stick with onboard storage, but it does not say how the stick should be used. The Ohio State safety page says that “Workers feeding materials into self-feeding chippers or shredders can get caught in chipper knives.” A push stick is a feeding aid, not a reason to bring hands closer to the infeed, so read the manual for its use before the first run.
The listing gives an item weight of 20.1 pounds and product dimensions of 17.3 by 14.2 by 37 inches. It does not say whether those figures include the wheels, the bag or the bin, so compare them with the collection style you plan to use before you move the unit.
The listing gives a two-year warranty as a bullet. It does not give the warranty terms, the coverage for parts or the claim process, so ask WEN for those details before you rely on the warranty.
The listing shows two style options, a 12-gallon bag and a 13-gallon bin. It does not say which style the bullets describe, so check the order’s contents before you buy.
How we chose
This chipper is in the post because its ASIN, B0DG72G3B1, is the product assigned to this page in our plan. It has no stored entry in our product file, so we read the Amazon listing once on 2026-10-22 and kept only the title, bullets and specifications. We did not record prices, ratings, reviews or badges. It was not ranked against other chippers or shredders, so this post makes no claim that it is the best choice for any yard.
We searched for a WEN product page or manual for model 41119 and did not open one. The safety guidance comes from two Ohio State Extension pages about chippers and shredders in general. One of them dates its reference list to 2006 and describes engine-powered units. We applied the general rules to this electric unit and left out the engine steps.
We used the listing’s own words for capacity, safety and warranty and did not add figures. Where the Ohio State pages describe engine steps, we left them out for this electric unit. Where they describe knives, hoods, bystanders and feeding, we kept them, because those points come up for any chipper of this type.
What we could not verify
We could not verify the 1.75-inch capacity for green wood, leaves or wet material. The listing states the capacity for sticks and branches, and the sources we opened do not describe other materials.
We could not verify the 8000 cuts per minute figure. It is the listing’s own claim for the motor, and the listing does not explain how it was arrived at.
We could not verify that the safety mechanism works as described. The listing states the feature, and we did not open a WEN page that explains how it operates.
We could not verify the warranty terms. The listing names a two-year warranty, and no WEN page for this model was opened.
We could not verify that the hood, the discharge chute and the knives are built as the Ohio State pages describe. The chute guidance reads “Make sure the chute or hood is securely attached and aimed in a safe direction to control discharged material,” and the listing does not describe how the chute is attached.
We could not verify the voltage, plug or cord length, since the listing does not state them.
FAQ
What is the largest branch it can handle?
The listing says it shreds sticks and branches up to 1.75 inches in diameter. Keep branches at or below that size, and cut larger limbs with a different tool.
Does it come with a bag?
The listing includes a collection bag and shows a 12-gallon bag style. It also shows a 13-gallon bin style, so check which style your order includes.
Does it have a safety lock?
The listing says an internal safety mechanism “automatically prevents startups when the hopper is still open.” That is a listing claim, and it does not replace the hood and knife checks the Ohio State pages describe.
How many blades does it have?
The listing says two 7-inch cutting blades are included. It does not give a replacement schedule, so check the blades for wear, as the Ohio State page on chipper types advises for cutter knives in general.
What warranty comes with it?
The listing says a two-year warranty is included. It does not state the terms, so ask WEN for the coverage details before you buy.
What safety gear and rules apply?
Ohio State advises wearing a hard hat, sturdy slip-resistant footwear, eye protection, hearing protection, gloves without cuffs and pants without cuffs. It also says to make sure the hood covering the knives is completely closed and to keep the area around the machine free of tripping hazards.
Bottom line
Buy this unit only if the branches you cut are 1.75 inches or less in diameter, since that is the capacity the listing states.
Sources
- WEN 41119 Electric Wood Chipper and Shredder, 15-Amp, Black, Amazon listing (checked 2026-10-22)
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DG72G3B1 - Wood Chippers and Shredders Safety for Trainers and Landscapers, Ohio State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22)
https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-892285 - Wood Chippers and Shredders, Ohio State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22)
https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-79034






