Best Small Battery Operated Lawn Mower
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
A small battery operated lawn mower should have a narrow deck, and its listing should say what battery and charger come in the box. This guide to the best small battery operated lawn mower compares four electric walk-behind models with a cutting width of 14 inches or less, for a homeowner with a small lawn who wants to avoid gasoline. Two of them include a battery, and two ship as tool only. Runtime figures are the manufacturers’ claims, and real runtime changes with grass, height and terrain.
Quick answer
- Battery in the box: the Litheli listing names one 4.0 Ah battery and a charging cable. The BLACK+DECKER kit lists two 20V MAX batteries.
- Tool only: the Houselife and HEINPRO listings say the battery and charger are not included. Both name DeWalt 20V MAX compatibility, which you should check against the batteries you own.
- Narrowest and lightest: the BLACK+DECKER kit has a 12-inch mower deck, and its listing gives 9.9 pounds.
- Battery figures conflict in the Litheli listing, and the listings give no runtime for the BLACK+DECKER kit or the Houselife mower.
The four mowers side by side
Every figure in the table comes from the product listing data. A cell says “not stated” where the listing gives no figure.
| Mower | Cutting width | Battery and charger in the box | Item weight | Grass bag | Cutting height | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Litheli cordless mower | 13 inches | One 4.0 Ah battery and a charging cable (a bullet also says 20,000mAh) | 24 pounds | 8 gallons | 1 to 2.5 inches in the bullets; spec fields conflict | listing |
| BLACK+DECKER MTC220 3-in-1 kit | 12 inches (detachable mower deck) | Two 20V MAX batteries; the title adds a charger, the components field does not | 9.9 pounds | not stated | not stated | listing |
| Houselife HL-DLM34A-0DB | 14 inches | Not included (tool only) | 22 pounds | 35 L (9.25 gallons) | 0.98 to 3 inches, 6 positions | listing |
| HEINPRO HP-DLM34A-0DB | 14 inches | Not included (tool only) | 17.8 pounds | 9.25 gallons (35 L) | 1 to 2.6 inches, 5 positions | listing |
The four mowers, one by one
Litheli cordless mower: 13 inches, battery in the box
The listing says the mower has a 13-inch cutting width, weighs 24 pounds and has an 8-gallon bag. It gives the model number as EGT010172 and says the folding handle saves storage space. The manufacturer states the mower can mow up to 1,300 square feet of medium-sized lawn on a full charge.
In the box, the listing names one Litheli mower, one Litheli 4.0Ah lithium-ion battery, one matching charging cable and a manual. It gives a three-year warranty on the machine and a two-year warranty on the battery. This model is not tool only. The battery capacity is the open point: the title and the contents bullet say 4.0 Ah, while another bullet says 20,000mAh and a continuous run time of 15 minutes.
The cutting height is 1 to 2.5 inches in the bullets, with five positions in the specs. The spec fields also show a 3-inch maximum and a 13-inch minimum. Those spec figures do not match the bullets, so this post uses the bullet range and flags the conflict.
It is in the post because its listing names one 4.0 Ah battery and a charging cable, and its 13-inch deck is the second-narrowest of the four. The capacity conflict is the reason to confirm the battery with the seller first.
BLACK+DECKER MTC220 3-in-1 kit: 12-inch mower deck
This kit is a trimmer and edger that converts to a small mower. It is not a standalone walk-behind. The listing names a detachable 12-inch mower deck (MTD100) and a 20V MAX battery platform, with a removable wheeled deck. It is in the post because the listing gives a mower deck width and an item weight of 9.9 pounds, the lowest of the four.
The listing’s included-components field names two LBXR2020 20V MAX lithium-ion batteries, the MTD100 mower deck, the LST220 string trimmer, the MTC220 trimmer and edger, an AF-100 spool, an auxiliary handle and a guard. The title says a charger is included, but neither the components field nor the bullets name one. Treat the charger as unconfirmed until the seller confirms it. The listing does not state the amp-hour rating of the batteries.
The listing gives a two-year limited warranty. It does not state a cutting height range or a grass bag for the mower function. It says only that the deck height is adjustable.
Houselife 14-inch cordless mower: tool only
The listing says the mower has a 14-inch cutting width, six height positions from 0.98 to 3 inches, and a 35 L (9.25 gallon) grass bag. A bullet gives its weight as 22 pounds. The listing gives a one-year manufacturer warranty.
This model is tool only. The listing states that the battery and charger are not included, and that the battery compartment takes at most two 4.0Ah batteries. It says the mower is compatible with DeWalt 20V MAX batteries and needs two 20V packs for its 40V power. That is the seller’s claim, not a statement from DeWalt, so check it against the batteries you own before buying.
It is in the post because its listing gives a 14-inch deck, six height positions and a 35 L bag, and it names a battery platform that some owners may already have.
HEINPRO 14-inch brushless walk-behind: tool only
The listing says the mower has a 14-inch cutting width, five height positions from 1 to 2.6 inches, and an item weight of 17.8 pounds. It says you can attach a 9.25-gallon (35 L) grass collection bag, or use the included mulch plug to return fine clippings to the turf. The warranty is one year from the manufacturer, per the listing.
This mower is tool only. The listing says the battery and charger are not included. It says the mower is designed for DeWalt 20V MAX batteries and lists model numbers that include DCB200 and DCB240. That is the seller’s list, so find your battery’s model number in it before you buy rather than assume a match.
The manufacturer states that one fully charged DeWalt 20V MAX 4.0Ah battery gives 15 to 20 minutes of continuous runtime, enough for about 1,200 to 1,500 square feet of grass. The listing adds that actual coverage varies with lawn density, terrain and cutting height.
It is in the post because its listing gives a 14-inch deck, five height positions, a 17.8-pound weight, a bag size and a runtime claim for one named battery, and it names a battery platform.
Safety: batteries and blades
These rules apply to all four products. Each one comes from a page we opened, or, for the charger line, from the Litheli listing.
Remove the battery before any blade work. Illinois Extension says: “Before removing the blades of your mower be sure to disconnect the spark plug or for electric mowers remove the battery to prevent any accidental engagement of the blades.” The same page adds: “Whenever your hand goes near the blades always disconnect the spark plug for gas-powered or remove the battery for electric mowers.” The spark plug step does not apply to these electric models, so the battery is the step to take.
Wait for the blades to stop. Penn State Extension’s riding-mower safety page says: “Make sure the blades have completely stopped before removing the grass catcher.” The page covers riding mowers, so read it as a general rule for any mower with a blade.
Use the charger the listing names. The Litheli listing says: “Use only the original U20 charger. Improper charging may result in fire hazard.”
Damaged batteries. EPA says: “If the Li-ion battery becomes damaged, contact the battery or device manufacturer for specific handling information.” EPA also warns: “Even used batteries can have enough energy to injure or start fires.”
Disposal. EPA’s recommendation is: “Find a location to recycle Li-ion batteries and products that contain Li-ion batteries using one of the suggested links; do not put them in the trash or municipal recycling bins.” Before you set a used battery aside for recycling, EPA says: “Place non-conductive tape (e.g., electrical tape) over the battery’s terminals.”
Charging and storage steps. The sources we opened do not cover charging or storage steps for these four models. Follow the owner’s manual that ships with each battery and charger for those steps.
How we chose
The criteria are plain. A product had to be a battery-powered walk-behind mower, or a battery kit that names a mower deck. Its cutting width had to be 14 inches or less. Its listing had to say whether a battery and charger come in the box, or the post flags the gap. Figures a listing does not state appear as “not stated” rather than as estimates.
The scan saved nine products for this keyword, with a checked time of 2026-10-30 07:53. Four met the criteria and appear in the post. Five were left out. Two are mowers outside the width limit: the EGO LM2130SP, with a 21-inch deck and a 54.5-pound item weight, and a worksky mower with an 18-inch deck. The other three are not mowers: a 12-volt battery charger and maintainer, an AC replacement power adapter, and a drill adapter for starting small engines.
The four products appear in the order the scan saved them. That order is not a ranking.
The listing data was read on 2026-10-30, the date in the scan’s checked field. Each of the four sources listed at the end was opened on 2026-10-30.
What we could not verify
- Runtime on your grass. The runtime figures are manufacturer claims, and none of the sources we opened measures mower runtime.
- The Litheli battery capacity. The title and contents bullet say 4.0 Ah, while another bullet says 20,000mAh. The listing data cannot settle that conflict, and it gives no voltage.
- The BLACK+DECKER charger. The title names one, but the components field and the bullets do not.
- Battery fit for the Houselife and HEINPRO mowers. Both listings claim DeWalt 20V MAX compatibility. The sources we opened do not cover third-party battery compatibility.
- Houselife product dimensions. Its product dimension field reads 1 by 1 by 1 inch, which is not a usable size, so this post does not use it.
- Noise. The listings describe noise in general terms and give no decibel figure, so this post makes no noise comparison.
- Cutting height and grass bag for the BLACK+DECKER kit. The listing states neither.
What the sources do not say
- EPA’s lithium-ion page covers used batteries and disposal. It does not give charging or storage steps for mower batteries.
- The Illinois mower maintenance page covers blade removal. It does not say how long an electric blade keeps turning after the battery comes out.
- The Penn State page covers riding mowers, so it does not address the blades of a battery walk-behind model in particular.
- The Illinois new-lawn page sets the one-third rule for newly sodded lawns. It does not give a cutting height for any of the four mowers.
- None of the four sources we opened names these models. Every deck width, bag size, weight and battery figure in this post therefore comes from the listing data alone.
Buying checklist
- Decide whether battery power fits your yard first. The pros and cons of battery powered lawn mowers covers that question.
- Check the box for a battery and a charger before you order. The Houselife and HEINPRO listings say neither is included.
- Compare the battery platform in the listing with the batteries you own. The lawn mower battery voltage and amp-hour ratings guide explains what those numbers mean.
- Choose a deck width that fits your lawn. The four decks range from 12 to 14 inches, so a narrower deck means more passes on the same lawn.
- Check the grass bag if you want to collect clippings. The Litheli bag is 8 gallons, the Houselife and HEINPRO bags are 35 L, and the BLACK+DECKER kit states none. For bag options, see the guide to small electric lawn mowers with a grass bag.
- Plan the cutting height. Illinois Extension’s one-third rule is written for newly sodded lawns, so use it as a guide and check the mower’s height range against your grass.
- Disconnect the battery before any blade work, as the safety section explains.
Mistakes to avoid
- Expecting a full-size walk-behind from the BLACK+DECKER kit. Its mower deck is 12 inches and detachable, and the kit is built around a trimmer and edger.
- Assuming a battery fits because a listing names a platform. The DeWalt compatibility in the Houselife and HEINPRO listings is the seller’s claim, and the Houselife listing needs two 20V packs.
- Buying the Litheli mower without checking its capacity. The title says 4.0 Ah, and a bullet says 20,000mAh.
- Working on the blades with the battery in place. The Illinois page says to remove the battery before removing a blade.
FAQ
Does the Litheli mower come with a battery?
Yes. The listing says the kit includes one Litheli 4.0Ah lithium-ion battery and a matching charging cable. A different bullet gives a 20,000mAh figure for the battery, so confirm the capacity with the seller before you buy.
Do the Houselife and HEINPRO mowers include a battery?
No. Both listings say the battery and charger are not included. Both also describe compatibility with DeWalt 20V MAX batteries. That is the seller’s claim, so check the compatibility text against the batteries you own.
How long will the battery run the mower?
Treat each figure as the manufacturer’s claim. The Litheli listing gives up to 1,300 square feet on a full charge and, in a separate bullet, 15 minutes of continuous running. The HEINPRO listing gives 15 to 20 minutes with one fully charged 4.0Ah DeWalt 20V MAX battery. Real runtime changes with grass, height and terrain. No runtime appears in the listings for the BLACK+DECKER kit or the Houselife mower.
Is it safe to work under the deck?
Remove the battery first. Illinois Extension says that for electric mowers you should remove the battery to prevent any accidental engagement of the blades before removing a blade. Penn State Extension advises making sure the blades have completely stopped before removing the grass catcher.
What should I do with a damaged battery?
EPA says that if a lithium-ion battery is damaged, you should contact the battery or device manufacturer for specific handling information. Do not put used batteries in the trash or in municipal recycling bins. EPA says to find a recycling location instead.
What if I already own DeWalt 20V MAX batteries?
Start with the Houselife or HEINPRO listing, because both describe DeWalt 20V MAX compatibility. Neither includes a battery or charger, so check the listing’s compatibility text against your battery. The Houselife listing also says two 20V packs are needed for its 40V power.
Bottom line
Choose by battery first: if you do not own a battery, pick a listing that puts one in the box, and if you already own a DeWalt 20V MAX battery, check the Houselife or HEINPRO compatibility text before you buy.
Sources
- US EPA: Used Lithium-Ion Batteries (opened 2026-10-30)
- Illinois Extension: Mower Maintenance (opened 2026-10-30)
- Penn State Extension: Riding Lawnmower Safety Practices (opened 2026-10-30)
- Illinois Extension: Planting a New Lawn (opened 2026-10-30)

