Best Snow Joe Cordless Electric Snow Shovel
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Looking for the best Snow Joe cordless electric snow shovel? This page covers one model, the Snow Joe Cordless Electric Snow Shovel with Adjustable Handle, model X20-SNOW-5A. The listing says it runs on a 20V Max lithium-ion battery, clears a path 10 inches wide by 5 inches deep, throws snow up to 18 feet, and includes a 5.0Ah battery and charger. It weighs 8.4 pounds. The listing gives no runtime in minutes and no warranty, so the sections below separate what the listing states from what it leaves open.
Quick answer
- Choose this model if a 10-inch-wide path and about 5 inches of snow describe the area you clear, and you want a battery and charger listed as included.
- The listing says the kit includes a 5.0Ah lithium-ion battery and charger, the shovel weighs 8.4 pounds, and the handle extends from 47 to 52 inches.
- Skip it if you need a runtime in minutes or a warranty term, because the listing states neither.
- The listing gives a throw distance of up to 18 feet with adjustable 45-degree direction control, so the discharge side matters on a tight lot.
The product at a glance
The table lists what the listing states, using the stored scan dated 2026-10-11. Where the listing is silent, the cell says “not stated.” The figures are the listing’s own.
Two numbers are easy to confuse. The clearing width of 10 inches is the strip the auger cuts in one pass, and the maximum throw distance of 18 feet is how far the discharge sends snow. A tool can cut a narrow strip and still throw far, so compare both figures before you decide that one model is better than another.
| Feature | What the listing states |
|---|---|
| Brand | Snow Joe |
| Model | X20-SNOW-5A |
| Power source | Electric |
| Battery platform | 20V Max lithium-ion |
| Battery included | Yes, a 5.0Ah lithium-ion battery |
| Charger included | Yes |
| Motor | Brushless |
| Auger | Tough 2-blade paddle auger |
| Auger speed | Up to 21,200 rpm |
| Clearing width | 10 inches |
| Clearing depth | 5 inches |
| Ideal snow depth | 5 inches |
| Maximum throw distance | 18 feet |
| Discharge direction | Adjustable 45-degree directional control |
| Handle | Telescoping, 47 to 52 inches |
| Weight | 8.4 pounds |
| Item dimensions | 6.3 in D x 13 in W x 46.5 in H |
| Warranty | not stated |
| Runtime per charge | not stated |
| Number of items | 3, as listed |
Who it suits
This shovel is built for a small, paved job. The listing names “decks, steps, patios, and narrow walkways” as the places it clears, and it sets an ideal snow depth of 5 inches. If your area matches that picture, the listing’s numbers line up with the job. The buyer types below show where the fit is strongest.
Owners of short paths and small paved areas
A 10-inch path is narrow, so the number of passes grows with the width of the area. As a simple check, a 20-foot-wide area needs about 24 passes at 10 inches each, because 20 feet divided by 0.83 feet (10 inches) comes to about 24. For a stoop, a short walk or a patio strip, that is a reasonable number of passes. For a wide driveway, it is not. The arithmetic uses only the width the listing gives, so it is a planning figure, not a clearing time.
Buyers with limited storage space
The listing gives item dimensions of 6.3 inches deep, 13 inches wide and 46.5 inches tall. Those are the footprint figures as listed. A spot about 13 inches wide and at least 46.5 inches tall would fit the listed dimensions, although the listing does not describe a storage position for the shovel. A buyer with a narrow hall closet or a corner of a garage should measure that spot before ordering, because the height is the number most likely to surprise.
Buyers who want the battery and charger in the box
The listing says the kit “Includes 5.0Ah lithium-ion battery and charger for immediate use.” For a buyer who does not want to find a battery and charger separately, that line is the main reason to pick this listing over a bare-tool model. The listing does not say whether a spare battery is sold separately. Snow Joe’s battery guide describes its 20V ECOSHARP (X20) batteries with “Battery Capacity: Up to 5.0 Ah”, but it does not name this model. A buyer who plans to add a second battery later should check that point first.
Users who want a light, adjustable tool
At 8.4 pounds, with a handle that adjusts from 47 to 52 inches, the listing describes a tool that a shorter or taller user can set to a workable height. The listing also says the handle helps reduce back strain. That is the listing’s own claim. The sources we opened describe hand shoveling, so they do not confirm the claim for a battery tool. They do describe the body mechanics that apply whatever tool you use, and those points are covered in the FAQ below.
Skip it if
- Your path has to be wider than 10 inches. The listing states a 10-inch clearing width, and a wider area needs more passes.
- Your snow is deeper than the 5-inch ideal depth the listing gives. The listing does not state a maximum snow depth for this model.
- You need a runtime in minutes or a warranty term before you buy. The listing states neither, so a buyer who needs those figures should look at another listing.
- Your area is a gravel driveway. The listing describes decks, steps, patios and narrow walkways, and it does not mention gravel. For gravel surfaces, see our guide to electric snow shovels for gravel driveways before you choose.
- You want a cordless snow blower shovel with a different clearing width. Compare those options in our guide to cordless snow blower shovels.
Mistakes to avoid
- Planning a full driveway around the throw distance alone. The listing’s 18-foot figure is a maximum, and the listing does not say how far wet or heavy snow will land.
- Choosing by the 10-inch width without counting passes. The arithmetic above shows how quickly a wider area adds passes.
- Lifting with the back. The NDSU publication says “Protect your back from injury by lifting correctly,” and that advice applies to the body whichever tool is in your hands.
- Starting cold. The same NDSU publication says “Warm your muscles before shoveling by walking for a few minutes or marching in place.”
What the listing does not say
The listing is the only product source in this post, so its silences matter as much as its claims. The points below are the ones a buyer most often needs and cannot get from the listing.
Battery and charger
The listing says the kit “Includes 5.0Ah lithium-ion battery and charger for immediate use.” It does not give the charge time, the number of charges per battery, or the battery voltage under load. The model number begins with X20, and Snow Joe’s battery guide lists a 20V ECOSHARP (X20) platform with batteries of up to 5.0 Ah. The guide also says that “batteries are not interchangeable between platforms.” The listing does not name a platform, so this post does not confirm that the kit’s battery belongs to that platform.
Runtime and cold weather
The listing says the motor provides “extended runtime in cold conditions.” It gives no minutes per charge, no temperature range and no clearing rate. The battery guide gives a platform figure of “nominal voltage under typical load is 18V” for the 20V platform, with an initial no-load peak at 20V. That is a figure for the platform, not a runtime for this shovel, so it should not be read as a runtime estimate.
Warranty and parts
The listing has no warranty line, and the specs do not list one. The specs name Snow Joe as the brand and All Season Power, LLC as the manufacturer. The listing does not state a warranty length, a parts policy or where to send the unit for service.
Checklist before you buy
- Measure the path you clear. If it is wider than 10 inches, the listing’s clearing width does not fit the job.
- Check the live listing for the included battery and charger, because this post uses a stored scan dated 2026-10-11.
- Ask the seller or the manufacturer for a runtime figure in minutes and the warranty term, since neither appears in the listing.
- Look at the surface type. The listing names decks, steps, patios and narrow walkways as the places it clears.
How we chose
This post covers one product: ASIN B0G5VFJCTM, the Snow Joe Cordless Electric Snow Shovel with Adjustable Handle, model X20-SNOW-5A. It is in the batch because it is a cordless electric snow shovel whose listing states that a battery and charger are included. The product data comes from a stored scan dated 2026-10-11 in the site’s product file. The post does not rank this model against other shovels, and it does not call the model the best option in its category.
The criteria are plain. The listing has to state the battery, the clearing width and the throw distance, and each product fact has to appear in the listing text saved with this post. For the safety and body-mechanics points, the sources must be university or government pages on snow shoveling, or a manufacturer’s own support pages. We did not use retail, blog or review pages for facts. Each quote in this draft was checked against the saved source text.
What we could not verify
- Runtime per charge, clearing rate and throw distance in real snow. The sources we opened do not cover runtime for this model, and the listing gives only the throw distance and path size.
- Whether the 5.0Ah battery in the kit is the same battery Snow Joe sells separately. The battery guide describes the platform, not this model’s battery.
- The warranty term, which the listing does not state.
- How the shovel performs in wet or heavy snow. The listing does not address it, and the sources we opened do not describe this shovel or its motor.
- Whether the listing’s cold-weather wording holds at a given temperature. The listing gives no range.
- The body-mechanics guidance from the sources we opened was written for hand shoveling. It is included as general advice, not as a claim about this machine.
FAQ
Does the Snow Joe X20-SNOW-5A come with a battery and charger?
The listing says it does: “Includes 5.0Ah lithium-ion battery and charger for immediate use.” That line comes from a stored scan dated 2026-10-11, so check the live listing before you buy.
How wide and deep a path does it clear?
The listing says the shovel clears a path 10 inches wide by 5 inches deep. Its specs also give 5 inches as the ideal snow depth, which matches the clearing depth in the bullets.
How far does it throw snow?
The listing gives a maximum throw distance of 18 feet, with adjustable 45-degree directional control for targeted discharge. It does not give a throw distance at any lower setting.
Does the listing give a battery runtime?
No. The listing describes “extended runtime in cold conditions” but gives no minutes per charge. Snow Joe’s battery guide gives platform voltage figures, not a runtime for this model.
How should I lift and move snow with a shovel like this?
The USU Extension page says: “Use your legs rather than your back and shoulders to do the bulk of the lifting.” It also advises that you “Pivot your entire body rather than twisting your back when removing snow from the shovel.” Those points come from hand-shoveling guidance, so they describe body mechanics rather than what the motor does.
Should I warm up before I start shoveling?
Yes, according to the NDSU publication, which says: “Warm your muscles before shoveling by walking for a few minutes or marching in place.” The same publication says to begin slowly and take breaks, and that advice does not depend on the tool you use.
Bottom line
Buy this model only if the area you clear is 10 inches wide or narrower and the snow is about 5 inches deep. If a runtime figure or a warranty term is a requirement for you, the listing does not state either, so choose a listing that does.
Sources
- Snow Joe Cordless Electric Snow Shovel with Adjustable Handle, X20-SNOW-5A (opened 2026-10-11) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0G5VFJCTM
- Frosty Fitness: Tips for Safe Snow Shoveling and Winter Walking, Utah State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.usu.edu/news/frosty-fitness-tips-for-safe-snow-shoveling-and-winter-walking
- The Scoop on Snow Shoveling Safety, NDSU Agriculture (opened 2026-10-22) https://ag.ndsu.edu/publications/health-fitness/the-scoop-on-snow-shoveling-safety
- Snow Joe + Sun Joe Battery Guide, Shop Joe support (opened 2026-10-22) https://support.shopjoe.com/hc/en-us/articles/45568019676948-Snow-Joe-Sun-Joe-Battery-Guide





