Best Sun Joe SWJ803E 10 Inch 8.0

Best Sun Joe SWJ803E 10 Inch 8.0

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you searched for the best sun joe swj803e 10 inch 8.0, you are looking at one corded telescoping pole saw with a 10-inch bar and an 8-amp motor. The listing says the pole adjusts from 5.8 to 8 feet for up to 14 feet of overhead reach. The manufacturer’s support page confirms the motor and the reach, and it adds rules that matter before you cut: do not operate the saw within 50 feet of overhead wires, and do not use it in a tree, on a ladder or on a scaffold. The two sources disagree on weight and warranty, and both figures are shown below.

Quick answer

  • The Sun Joe SWJ803E is a corded electric pole saw with an 8-amp motor, a 10-inch bar and chain, and up to 14 feet of overhead reach, according to both the listing and the support page.
  • The support page states a 2 year warranty. The listing gives no warranty period, so confirm the terms before you buy.
  • Use it from solid ground with a UL-, CSA- or ETL-rated outdoor extension cord, and keep it away from overhead wires, as the manufacturer’s rules require.
  • Buy it if you trim branches within reach from the ground and have an outlet close by. Skip it if your limbs are above the 14-foot reach or near power lines.

The product at a glance

The first table lists what the Amazon listing states. Where the listing says nothing, the cell says “not stated”. The second table shows the manufacturer’s support page, so you can see where the two sources agree and where they do not.

Item What the listing states
Brand and manufacturer Sun Joe
Model SWJ803E (title)
Size shown 10-Inch Bar/Chain
Power source Corded electric
Motor 8-amp
Product voltage 120
Chain length 10 inches
Maximum cutting thickness 9.5 inches (8.5 inches recommended)
Telescoping pole 5.8 to 8 feet
Overhead reach up to 14 feet
Cutting head multi-angle; angle range not stated
Oiling automatic lubrication (auto oiler)
Speed not stated
Oil tank capacity not stated
Item weight 4.55 kg
Product dimensions 4 x 5.75 x 63.25 inches, as listed
Box contents not stated
Warranty not stated (Amazon return policy only)
Item What the Sun Joe support page states
Product type Electric pole chain saw / pole pruner
Rated voltage 120V ~ 60 Hz
Power 8 amp
No-load speed 5400 ± 10% rpm
Bar and chain length 10 in. / 25.4 cm
Maximum cutting thickness 9.5 in. / 24.1 cm; recommended 8.5 in. / 21.6 cm
Multi-angle head 0° to 30°
Telescopic shaft 5.8 ft to 8 ft
Overhead reach up to 14 ft / 4.3 m
Oil tank capacity 2 fl oz / 60 ml
Product dimensions 71.25 in. x 6 in. x 3.3 in.
Net weight 7.7 lbs / 3.5 kg
Warranty 2 Year Warranty
Box contents pole chain saw, 10 in. cutting chain, 10 in. guide bar, hex key wrench and blade screwdriver, cutting bar sheath, manual

The listing is on Amazon, and the variant it shows is the 10-inch bar and chain. The link below goes to that listing.

View on Amazon

Where the listing and the manufacturer disagree

Two figures differ between the sources. The listing gives an item weight of 4.55 kg. The support page gives a net weight of 7.7 lbs, which it also gives as 3.5 kg. The listing’s dimension line reads 4 by 5.75 by 63.25 inches, while the support page gives 71.25 by 6 by 3.3 inches. Neither source explains the difference, and this review does not choose between them. The manufacturer’s figures are the better guide for the saw itself, since they come from the maker’s support page, but confirm the weight with the seller if it matters to you.

The warranty also differs. The listing shows no warranty period and links to a warranty PDF. The support page lists a two-year term. Treat the support page as the stated term, and ask for the terms in writing before you buy.

Reach, power and cutting capacity

The listing says the pole “adjusts from 5.8 feet to 8 feet for up to 14 feet of overhead reach,” and the support page gives the same pole range and the same reach. The support page gives a maximum cutting thickness of 9.5 inches and recommends 8.5 inches, and the listing’s bullet gives the same two figures. The motor is an 8-amp corded unit on a 120-volt supply. The support page gives a no-load speed of 5400 rpm within a plus or minus 10 percent tolerance, and it gives the head angle as 0 to 30 degrees.

Who it suits

This pole saw suits a homeowner who trims limbs within about 14 feet of the ground, from solid footing, near an outdoor outlet. The support page’s own use guidance is built around that case: it says to stand on solid ground and to keep the shaft at 60 degrees or less whenever possible. Three details in the sources fit that buyer:

  • Corded power at 120 volts, so there is no battery to charge. The support page names the 120V rating and the 8-amp motor, and the buyer still needs an outlet and a suitable extension cord.
  • A telescoping pole from 5.8 to 8 feet, which gives the reach without a ladder. The listing describes the design as one for cutting overhanging limbs without ladders.
  • A 10-inch bar and chain with automatic oiling. The listing names the auto oiler, and the support page says bar and chain oil must still be added before use.

For a wider look at pole tools, see our Seesii vs EGO Power+ pole saw comparison and our cordless hedge trimmer with extension pole guide. Both cover tools you may weigh against a corded pole saw.

Skip it if

  • The limbs you need to cut are higher than the 14-foot overhead reach the sources state.
  • Any part of the job is within 50 feet of overhead wires. The support page says not to operate the saw there.
  • You plan to cut from a tree, a ladder or a scaffold. The support page says not to.
  • Your outlet is too far from the tree for a safe extension run. The support page says not to use an extension cord over 100 feet.
  • You need to cut wood thicker than 9.5 inches. Both sources give that as the maximum.

Electric safety and cord rules

Read this section before you buy. The support page gives the cord rules in plain terms: “Use a UL-, CSA-, or ETL-rated outdoor extension cord.” It sets the wire size as 16 AWG up to 50 feet, or 14 AWG for 50 to 100 feet, and it says “do not use an extension cord over 100 ft.” The page also tells the user to loop the power cord around the cord restraint hook so the extension cord stays secured during use.

The overhead-wire rule is the most important one. The support page says: “Do not operate the pole chain saw within 50 ft of overhead wires.” It adds “Do not cut trees near electrical wires.” This review does not add to that rule. The OSHA tree care page makes the wider point that “Many hazards in the tree care industry are potentially fatal,” and it names “Overhead power lines, falling branches, and faulty safety equipment” among them. That page covers the tree care industry rather than this saw, so it is cited for the general hazard only.

What the listing does not say

The listing does not state the warranty period, the box contents, the no-load speed, the oil tank capacity or the chain speed. It does not say that bar and chain oil must be added before first use, which the support page states. A buyer who relies only on the listing could miss that step and run the saw dry.

The listing shows a “Horsepower” field of 1. The other sources do not give a horsepower figure, so this review does not use it. The listing also shows a California Proposition 65 warning, but the warning text itself is not captured on the page.

The listing’s safety bullet says the design helps you “safely maintain trees from the ground, reducing risk while improving yard maintenance efficiency.” That is the listing’s claim. The support page’s own rules govern how the saw should be used, and this review follows those rules.

The listing also links a user manual PDF. This review could not read it, so any service interval or chain-tensioning step beyond the support page is not checked here.

Buying checklist

  1. Measure the highest limb you need to reach. Both sources give 14 feet of overhead reach.
  2. Check the distance from the cutting area to any overhead wire. Stay outside 50 feet of them.
  3. Plan the power: a UL-, CSA- or ETL-rated outdoor extension cord, 16 AWG up to 50 feet or 14 AWG for 50 to 100 feet, and no run over 100 feet.
  4. Buy bar and chain oil before you start. The support page says it is required before use.
  5. Confirm the weight. The listing says 4.55 kg, and the support page says 3.5 kg.
  6. Ask the seller for the warranty terms in writing. The support page states 2 years, and the listing does not.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Cutting from a ladder or a tree. The support page says the saw must not be used in a tree, on a ladder or on a scaffold.
  • Running the saw without oil. The support page says bar and chain oil is required before use.
  • Cutting near power lines. The support page sets the 50-foot limit.
  • Using a long extension cord to reach a far tree. The support page sets 100 feet as the limit.
  • Treating the listing’s safety bullet as a guarantee. It is a listing claim, and the support page’s use rules govern.

How we chose

This post covers one product: ASIN B01DTIFAPO, the 10-inch Sun Joe SWJ803E in our batch. We picked it for this keyword because the search names a specific corded pole saw, and this ASIN is that product. We did not compare it with other pole saws in this post, and we do not rank it against them.

The listing was read on 2026-10-23 from the live Amazon page (CHECKED). It was not taken from a stored record. The Sun Joe support page was opened on 2026-10-23. The OSHA and UF/IFAS pages were opened on 2026-10-22 for other posts on this site, and their original opened dates are kept. We recorded the brand, power source, motor, reach, cutting thickness, weight, dimensions and warranty text from each source. Prices, ratings, badges and images are left out.

What we could not verify

  • The Sun Joe product manual and the warranty PDF. Both are linked from the listing as PDFs, and fetch_src.py cannot read PDFs.
  • The weight and dimension figures, which differ between the listing and the support page. Neither source explains the difference.
  • How the saw performs in practice, including cutting speed, chain life and how the auto oiler works over a season. The listing makes claims, and the support page gives no performance data.
  • Whether the 14-foot reach works for a user of a given height, since the sources give the pole’s reach and not the reach of a particular user.
  • Vibration and the handling load over a long job. None of the sources in this post covers them.

FAQ

Does the SWJ803E need a battery?

No. The listing says the power source is corded electric, and the support page gives a 120V rating. You need an outlet and a suitable outdoor extension cord.

How high can it reach?

Both sources give up to 14 feet of overhead reach, from a telescoping pole that adjusts from 5.8 to 8 feet. The support page gives the reach as up to 14 feet, or 4.3 meters.

What is the largest branch it cuts?

The support page gives a maximum cutting thickness of 9.5 inches and recommends 8.5 inches. The listing gives the same two figures.

Does the SWJ803E have a warranty?

The support page gives a warranty of 2 years. The listing does not state a period and links to a warranty PDF, which this review could not read. Confirm the terms with the seller before you buy.

Is bar oil included?

The support page says bar and chain oil is required before use and that you must add it before starting the saw. The listing names an auto oiler and does not say whether oil is in the box, so buy oil before the first cut.

Can I use it near power lines?

The support page says not to operate the pole chain saw within 50 feet of overhead wires, and not to cut trees near electrical wires. The OSHA tree care page lists overhead power lines among hazards that are potentially fatal in tree care work, so keep clear of them.

Bottom line

Buy the Sun Joe SWJ803E only if your limbs are within 14 feet, you have an outlet within reach of a suitable extension cord, and no overhead wires are near the work. If any of those three is missing, choose a different approach or hire a tree service.

Sources

  • Sun Joe Corded Electric Telescoping Pole Saw, SWJ803E, Amazon listing (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01DTIFAPO
  • SWJ803E Electric Pole Chain Saw, Sun Joe product guide (opened 2026-10-23) https://support.shopjoe.com/hc/en-us/articles/50642402316308-SWJ803E-Electric-Pole-Chain-Saw
  • Tree care hazards and solutions, OSHA (opened 2026-10-22) https://www.osha.gov/tree-care/hazards-solutions
  • Pruning in three steps, UF/IFAS Gardening Solutions (opened 2026-10-22) https://gardeningsolutions.ifas.ufl.edu/care/pruning/pruning-in-three-steps/

Similar Posts