Best Sun Joe CJ603E Wood Chipper Shredder
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you are searching for the best sun joe wood chipper shredder waste shredding machine, the short answer is that the Sun Joe CJ603E is a corded electric unit for dry branches, twigs and brush up to about 1.7 inches thick. It is not a gas machine, and it is not meant for kitchen scraps. The Amazon listing we read on 2026-10-22 leaves out several specifications, so this post uses the manufacturer’s CJ603E guide for those and labels every figure by its source.
Quick answer
- The Sun Joe CJ603E is an electric chipper shredder with a 15-amp motor. The manufacturer’s guide gives a cutting diameter of 1.73 in. / 4.4 cm and a 2 Year Warranty.
- It suits dry yard debris fed by hand with the supplied paddle. The guide excludes metal, stones, bottles, cans and soft damp kitchen waste.
- Plan the power first. The guide requires an outdoor-rated extension cord, gives a wire gauge table, and does not allow a cord longer than 50 ft / 15 m.
- The two sources disagree on wheel size: the listing says 7-inch wheels and the guide says 6 in. / 15.2 cm. Check the wheels on the unit you receive.
The product at a glance
The table uses only what the listing states and what the manufacturer’s CJ603E guide states. A cell says “not stated” when that source is silent. Where the two sources differ, both figures appear.
| Feature | What the listing says | What the manufacturer guide says |
|---|---|---|
| Brand and model | Sun Joe, CJ603E (in the title) | Sun Joe CJ603E |
| Power type | Electric; 15-Amp motor (in the title) | Electric; 15 amps; rated 120V ~ 60 Hz |
| Cutting diameter | 1.7-inch cutting diameter (in the title); branches up to 1.7 inches thick (bullet) | 1.73 in. / 4.4 cm |
| Feed type | not stated | Manual, with supplied paddle |
| Reduction ratio | not stated | 21:1 |
| No-load speed | not stated | 60 rpm |
| Wheels | 7-inch wheels (bullet) | 6 in. / 15.2 cm |
| Collection bag | Included (title: “with Collection Bag”); capacity not stated | Collection bag listed in the box contents |
| Safety features | Safety Lock (special feature); safety hopper and locking knob halts operation when opened | Overload protection with reset button; safety switch; extension cord restraint hook |
| Net weight | not stated | 39 lbs / 17.7 kg |
| Product dimensions | not stated | 23.5 in. L x 12.5 in. W x 16.5 in. H |
| Warranty | not stated | 2 Year Warranty |
| Recommended use | Branch and twig mulching | Leaves, twigs, brush and branches for mulch or compost prep |
| Extension cord | not stated | Outdoor-rated cord required; no cord listed in the box contents |
| Color | Green | not stated |
The listing is the product page for the model. Stated figures in the table come from the listing or the manufacturer’s guide only.
Setup, cord and safety rules
The manufacturer’s guide sets a clear order for the first run. Do not plug the unit in until assembly is complete, and assemble it on a flat, stable surface. The assembly steps are to fit the axle through the two supporting legs, install the wheels and wheel caps, attach the stand with the 4 nuts, and hang the collection bag on its hooks before starting. The box contents list the main body, paddle, two supporting legs, two wheels, two wheel caps, four nuts, a hex key wrench, a wrench, the collection bag and a manual.
Cord planning
The guide says “Use only an outdoor-rated extension cord.” It adds that the manual requires a UL-, CSA-, or ETL-rated outdoor all-weather cord. Its wire gauge table is the number to plan around: up to 25 ft / 7.6 m needs 14 AWG, and over 25 ft to 50 ft / 7.6 m to 15 m needs 12 AWG. The same guide says not to use an extension cord longer than 50 ft / 15 m. Use the extension cord restraint hook so the cord cannot disconnect while the unit runs, and check that the cord is fully connected and not damaged before each session.
If you also run corded electric yard tools, our corded electric mower guide covers the same cord questions from the mower side.
Starting, stopping and clearing a jam
The manufacturer’s troubleshooting page separates its steps by model. It says CJ601E and CJ602E share one set of steps and that CJ603E has different steps, so use the CJ603E section for reset, reverse mode, feeding issues and counterplate adjustment. For a CJ603E jam, the guide says to push the reverse end of the forward/reverse switch and press ON, which pushes jammed material back up the feeding funnel. Then turn the machine OFF, press the forward end of the switch and press ON to resume normal operation.
The overload protection can cut power when the shredder clogs. The guide says that if power cuts out, you should turn the unit off, wait at least 1 minute before restarting, and press the reset button on the control panel.
Safety rules from the manufacturer
The guide says “Never place hands inside the hopper, feeding funnel, or ejection slot.” It also says rotating blades “can cause serious injury” and that the supplied paddle is the only tool to push material into the hopper. Its protective-gear advice covers eye protection, hearing protection, gloves, snug-fitting clothing and protective footwear. It asks you to keep children, pets and bystanders at a safe distance, and to avoid operating the unit on slopes, gravel or unstable or uneven ground.
Before you clear any blockage, turn the unit off, unplug it and wait until all moving parts have stopped. The guide says not to reach into the hopper or ejection slot to clear a jam.
What goes in and what stays out
The guide gives branches and twigs up to 1.73 in. / 4.4 cm in diameter as the working limit, and it says not to force larger objects into the feeding funnel. Roots need soil and stones removed first. Metal, rocks, bottles, cans and other foreign objects must not go in. Branches with leaves should be completely chopped before new material is fed. Wilted garden waste can be shredded, but the guide suggests alternating it with dry branches to reduce clogging, and keeping a few dry branches for the end of a session to help clear the path.
Who it suits
The CJ603E fits a homeowner who has a steady pile of dry prunings from a few trees or hedges, and who has an outdoor outlet within reach of a rated extension cord. The listing’s stated use is branch and twig mulching, and the guide adds leaves, brush and branches for mulch or compost prep. If the goal is to turn thin dry branches into mulch during a weekend cleanup, the figures to check against your pile are the 1.73-inch cutting diameter, the 21:1 reduction ratio and the manual feed design.
It also suits someone who wants an electric machine rather than a gas one. The listing says the unit “powers up instantly with the push of a button without fuel or fumes.” The guide says the feed is manual and that you should keep your hands away from the funnel at all times, so it suits a person who will stand at the funnel and feed slowly with the paddle. The unit is also a fit when you are willing to run the power and cord checks before every session. If you also clear leaves from the lawn after chipping, our cordless leaf blower guide for loose debris covers that separate job.
Skip it if
- Your branches are thicker than 1.73 inches. The guide says not to force larger objects into the feeding funnel, so thicker wood calls for a different tool.
- You want to feed material by hand instead of with the paddle. The guide says to use the supplied paddle only.
- No outdoor outlet can reach the work area within the cord rules: an outdoor-rated cord, 12 AWG beyond 25 ft, and no cord longer than 50 ft.
- You plan to chip in wet weather or on wet grass. The guide says to use the unit only in dry conditions.
- You want to shred kitchen scraps, metal, stones or bottles. The guide excludes all of these.
- Your main job is cutting grass or edging. The listing and the guide describe chipping and shredding yard debris, not lawn work.
What the listing does not say
The Amazon listing we read on 2026-10-22 is short. It names the model, the 15-amp motor, the 1.7-inch cutting diameter, the collection bag, the safety hopper and locking knob, and the 7-inch wheels. It does not state the net weight, the product dimensions, the rated voltage, the reduction ratio, the feed type, the warranty, the collection bag capacity or whether an extension cord is needed. The figures for those points come from the manufacturer’s guide, and this post labels them that way.
Two points need care. First, the wheel size is a real disagreement. The listing says 7-inch wheels and the guide says 6 in. / 15.2 cm. Neither source explains the difference, so check the wheels on the unit you receive. Second, the listing has a bullet that says the unit can chip branches to “1/21th its original size.” That is a marketing sentence. The guide does not repeat it, so this post does not use it.
Buying checklist
- Measure your largest dry branch. If it is over 1.73 inches, this unit is the wrong size for that job.
- Find the nearest outdoor outlet and the cord route. Plan for an outdoor-rated cord, 14 AWG up to 25 ft and 12 AWG from 25 ft to 50 ft.
- Confirm the model reads CJ603E on the box and the manual. The troubleshooting steps for CJ601E and CJ602E are different.
- Check the wheel size on the unit against the 7-inch or 6-inch figures above.
- Ask the seller for the warranty terms, since the listing does not state them and the guide gives 2 Year Warranty.
- Keep the paddle with the unit. The guide makes it the only tool for feeding material.
Mistakes to avoid
- Forcing a thick branch into the funnel. The guide sets 1.73 in. / 4.4 cm as the limit and says not to force larger objects.
- Reaching into the hopper or ejection slot to clear a jam. The guide says to unplug the unit and wait for a full stop first.
- Using the CJ601E or CJ602E steps on a CJ603E. The troubleshooting page says the reverse-switch steps are for CJ603E only.
- Running a cord longer than 50 ft, or a cord lighter than the gauge table requires. Both break the guide’s own rules.
- Feeding soft, damp kitchen waste. The guide says to take it straight to compost.
- Running the unit in wet conditions. The guide says dry conditions only.
How we chose
This post covers one product because the keyword names one product: the Sun Joe CJ603E sold under ASIN B077YDZ725. We did not rank it against other chippers, and we did not compare it with the CJ601E or CJ602E. The only place the other models come up is where the manufacturer’s troubleshooting page separates their steps. The Amazon listing was read on 2026-10-22, which is the CHECKED date for the listing file. The manufacturer’s CJ603E product guide and its troubleshooting page were opened on the same date. We kept only the figures and instructions that the listing or the manufacturer states, and we left out prices, ratings and customer comments from the listing page.
What we could not verify
We could not verify how the CJ603E handles the wood species in your yard, how it holds up over a long season, or how the counterplate wears. The sources we opened do not give a collection bag capacity, a parts list or a full warranty statement. The listing and the guide give different wheel sizes, and we could not check which one matches the unit a buyer receives. The 1.73-inch cutting diameter and the 2 Year Warranty each come from a single manufacturer page, and a retailer page would not replace them.
FAQ
Can the Sun Joe CJ603E chip branches thicker than 1.7 inches?
Not by the manufacturer’s rating. The guide gives a cutting diameter of 1.73 in. / 4.4 cm and says not to force larger objects into the feeding funnel. The listing says branches up to 1.7 inches thick, which matches within rounding.
What extension cord should I use with the CJ603E?
The guide requires an outdoor-rated cord that is rated by UL, CSA or ETL. Its wire gauge table calls for 14 AWG for runs up to 25 ft / 7.6 m and 12 AWG for runs over 25 ft to 50 ft / 7.6 m to 15 m. It also says not to use a cord longer than 50 ft / 15 m. Check the rating and gauge printed on the cord before you connect it.
Does the CJ603E come with a collection bag?
Yes. The listing title says it comes “with Collection Bag”, and the manufacturer’s box contents list a collection bag. The listing does not state the bag’s capacity. The guide’s assembly steps include hanging the bag on its hooks before each start.
How do I clear a jam on the CJ603E?
Turn the unit off, unplug it and wait for all moving parts to stop. Then use the CJ603E reverse-switch steps: push the reverse end of the forward/reverse switch, press ON to push the jammed material back up the funnel, turn the machine off, and return the switch to the forward end before pressing ON again. Do not reach into the hopper or ejection slot.
Can I shred kitchen scraps or damp yard waste in it?
Not kitchen scraps. The guide says soft, damp kitchen waste should not be shredded and should go straight to compost. For damp yard waste, the guide says to let wilted or damp material dry for a few days when possible and to alternate it with dry branches.
What warranty does the CJ603E have?
The manufacturer’s CJ603E guide lists a 2 Year Warranty. The Amazon listing we read does not state a warranty, so read the warranty terms that come with your unit before you buy.
Bottom line
Use one rule to decide. If your largest dry branch is under 1.73 inches, and an outdoor outlet can reach the work with a rated cord of 50 ft or less, the CJ603E fits the job. If either part fails, choose a different machine.
Sources
- Sun Joe Wood Chipper Shredder and Waste Shredding Machine, CJ603E: Amazon product listing (opened 2026-10-22)
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B077YDZ725 - CJ603E Electric Wood Chipper + Shredder: Sun Joe product guide, Shop Joe support (opened 2026-10-22)
https://support.shopjoe.com/hc/en-us/articles/51120978105748-CJ603E-Electric-Wood-Chipper-Shredder - Wood Shipper Troubleshooting: Shop Joe support (opened 2026-10-22)
https://support.shopjoe.com/hc/en-us/articles/50164827011348-Wood-Shipper-Troubleshooting






