Best BILT HARD 6.5 Ton Electric Log Splitter

Best BILT HARD 6.5 Ton Electric Log Splitter

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you are shopping for the best bilt hard 6.5 ton electric log splitter for seasonal firewood, the listing gives the core figures: 6.5 tons of splitting force, a 120V 15-amp motor, and a capacity of logs up to 20.5 inches long and 9.8 inches in diameter. It includes a steel stand and two-hand controls. None of the pages we opened covers this splitter by name, so the safety background below comes from related pages on firewood work and hydraulic stone splitters.

Quick answer

  • The listing states a 6.5 ton splitting force, a 1.75 HP motor on 120V and 60Hz, and a log capacity of 20.5 by 9.8 inches.
  • Two-hand controls are listed as a safety feature. The OSHA bulletin we opened describes two-handed controls as a way to keep hands out of the point of operation on a related hydraulic splitter.
  • The listing gives a bleed screw routine for the hydraulic oil, which you should follow before the first run and before any move.
  • The listing does not state the cord length, a warranty term or whether an extension cord comes in the box.

The product at a glance

The table lists what the Amazon listing states. A cell says “not stated” where the listing text we captured is silent. Items marked as claims come from the listing’s own descriptions.

Item What the listing states Note
Brand and manufacturer BILT HARD Same name in the product information
Splitting force 6.5 ton Parameter table value
Motor 1-3/4 HP, 120V, 60Hz, 15 amp Title says 15A 3400 RPM motor
No-load speed 3,400 RPM Parameter table value
Log capacity 20.5 inches long by 9.8 inches in diameter Parameter table value
Hydraulic ram 1.75 HP hydraulic ram, full beam design Title wording
Cycle time 18 second cycle Title wording; no measured figure given
Hydraulic oil capacity 3.5 L, described as 0.9 gallon Parameter table value
Orientation Horizontal Title wording
Stand Heavy-duty steel stand included Title and description
Wheels 5.7 inch wheels with an integrated pull handle Description
Controls Two-hand safety controls Listing claim
Storage Vertical storage capability Description
Dimensions 34.25 x 28.5 x 33 inches Product information
Weight 106.9 pounds Product information
Cord length not stated Check the manual
Warranty not stated Not in the captured text

View on Amazon

Who it suits

This splitter suits a household or small property that processes its own firewood in seasonal batches. The listing names fireplaces, wood stoves, cabins, workshops and backyard wood piles as its intended uses. The listing includes a heavy-duty steel stand, which it says brings the work to a comfortable height.

The model also suits an owner who wants an electric machine instead of a gas one. The listing gives a 120V, 15-amp motor and describes the machine as clean and fume-free, which is the main reason an electric model appeals to owners who would otherwise run a gas splitter. An electric machine still needs a working outlet close to the splitting area, which is the reason the cord question matters.

The woodlot publication we opened treats firewood cutting and splitting as a job that needs equipment. It lists a chainsaw, wedges, a splitting maul or mechanical splitter, a tractor and a pickup or trailer for hauling. A splitter like this one takes the place of the maul or the mechanical splitter in that list, which is useful to know when you plan a firewood day.

The listing gives a practical seasoning point that suits a planning-minded owner. It says most firewood that is properly split and stacked takes at least a season to dry, and that green logs are harder to split. The description says professionals recommend splitting cured wood. The woodlot publication we opened treats firewood as a product that needs the right equipment, and it does not give a seasoning figure, so the drying advice rests on the listing alone.

The title also uses the phrase full beam design. The listing does not explain the term, so ask the seller what it refers to before you compare this model with another splitter that uses different wording.

Owners who take on setup will find the listing’s bleed screw steps the most specific instructions in the description. The listing says to loosen the bleed screw by some rotations until air moves in and out of the oil tank, to keep air flow detectable while the splitter runs, and to tighten the screw before moving the machine so the oil does not leak.

Skip it if

Skip it if your logs are longer than 20.5 inches or thicker than 9.8 inches. Those are the listed capacity limits, and the listing does not describe what happens above them. Cutting shorter pieces by hand adds work and time, so a larger or differently sized splitter may suit a yard that regularly handles bigger rounds.

Skip it if you have no outlet near the place you split wood. The listing gives 120V and a 15-amp motor, but it does not say how long the cord is or whether an extension cord comes in the box. The listing does not give a cord rating either, so check the owner’s manual before you plan the run.

Skip it if you plan to split freshly cut wood as a regular habit. The listing says green wood is very moist, difficult to cut and takes more tonnage to split. It advises waiting until the wood is cured. The steel stand and the 6.5 ton rating do not change that advice.

Skip it if you cannot move a machine that weighs about 107 pounds. The listing gives 106.9 pounds and an integrated pull handle with 5.7 inch wheels. The listing describes the wheels as suited to varied terrain, but the weight is the same whether the machine rolls or is lifted onto a truck bed.

Skip it if you want a warranty term you can check before buying. The captured text has no warranty term. Read the warranty statement on the live product page, or ask the seller, before you order.

What the listing does not say

The listing gives the 20.5 by 9.8 inch capacity, but it does not say whether those limits apply to hardwood, softwood or wet wood. A dense hardwood round at the top of the range is a different job from a softwood round in the middle of it, and the listing does not separate the two.

The listing does not say whether the splitter ships with an extension cord, what cord gauge or length it needs, or what circuit it should be on. Those are the first questions for an electric splitter, and the captured text leaves them open. Check the owner’s manual and the live product page before you buy.

The listing does not give a warranty term, and it does not describe the return or claim process. The description includes a bleed screw routine, but it does not state a service interval for the hydraulic oil or give a replacement schedule for any part.

The OSHA bulletin says amputations from point-of-operation hazards, and eye and face injuries from flying rock chips, may result when workers use stone cutters and splitters. Those are stone-splitter hazards rather than log-splitter findings, but they show why hand position and eye protection matter for any splitter in this class.

The listing describes two-hand safety controls, but it does not show how the controls are built, how they are wired, or whether a second person is needed to load logs. The OSHA bulletin we opened describes two-handed controls on a hydraulic stone splitter that required both hands to start a cycle. That is a related machine, and it does not confirm how this model’s controls work.

The title gives an 18 second cycle time. The pages we opened do not give a measured cycle for this model, so the figure stays a listing claim. The 6.5 ton rating is also a listing figure, and this post does not confirm it.

How we chose

This post covers one product, the BILT HARD 6.5 ton electric log splitter under ASIN B0HFHWCWG8. It is in this batch because its listing gives clear capacity, motor and control figures, which makes a fit check possible for a firewood owner. We did not compare it with other splitters in this post and do not rank it.

The Amazon listing was read on 2026-10-23, and the two related pages were opened the same day. We searched for a university or government page on electric or hydraulic log splitters and found none that covers this type of machine directly. The woodlot publication and the OSHA bulletin are the closest pages we found, and this post uses them only for the points they support.

What we could not verify

  • The 6.5 ton force, 3,400 RPM speed and 18 second cycle: these are listing figures, and the pages we opened do not confirm them for this model.
  • Cord length, circuit requirement and whether an extension cord is included: not stated in the captured text.
  • Warranty terms and claim process: not stated in the captured text.
  • Two-hand control design and reliability: described by the listing, not confirmed by a separate source.
  • Oil change interval and long-term hydraulic service: not stated.
  • Splitter-specific safety guidance: none of the non-retail pages we opened covers log splitters directly. The OSHA bulletin covers hydraulic stone splitters, and the woodlot publication covers firewood equipment in general.

For a broader comparison of electric power tools for yard work, see our pros and cons of electric mowers guide, and for a cord question that applies to any corded tool, see our extension cord guide.

FAQ

Can it split a 20-inch log?

The listing says the log capacity is 20.5 inches long and 9.8 inches in diameter, so a 20-inch log fits the stated length. The listing does not describe how the splitter handles logs near the top of either limit, so leave some margin and check the owner’s manual for guidance.

Does it come with a stand?

Yes. The title and description say the splitter comes with a heavy-duty steel stand. The stand raises the working height, and the listing says that reduces bending. The listing does not give the stand’s dimensions separately from the machine’s overall size.

Does it have two-hand controls?

The listing says it does. It describes two-hand safety controls that require simultaneous operation to protect hands. The OSHA bulletin we opened describes two-handed controls on a related hydraulic stone splitter as a way to keep workers’ hands out of the point of operation. Confirm how the controls work on the unit you receive before the first cut.

Should I split green wood with it?

The listing advises against it. It says green logs are freshly cut, still moist and difficult to cut, and that professionals recommend waiting until wood is cured. The listing also says that most properly split and stacked firewood takes at least a season to dry.

What should I check before the first run?

Follow the listing’s bleed screw routine: loosen the screw until air moves in and out of the oil tank, keep air flow detectable while the splitter runs, and tighten the screw before moving the machine. For protection, the Penn State woodlot publication lists safety equipment for firewood work, including a face shield, ear protection and safety shoes.

What protective gear do I need?

The Penn State woodlot publication lists safety equipment for firewood work, including safety chaps, a helmet, a face shield, ear protection and safety shoes. The OSHA bulletin links eye and face injuries to flying rock chips when workers use stone splitters. The listing does not include gear in its own text, so buy eye protection and ear protection separately unless the seller confirms otherwise.

Is there a warranty?

The captured listing text does not state one. Check the live product page or contact the seller before you buy, because the terms are not in the text we read.

Bottom line

Buy this splitter only if every log you plan to split fits the listed 20.5 by 9.8 inch capacity and you can put it on a cord-accessible outlet, because the listing does not settle either point.

Sources

  • BILT HARD 6.5 Ton Electric Log Splitter with Stand, Amazon listing for ASIN B0HFHWCWG8 (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0HFHWCWG8
  • Managing Small Woodlots, Penn State Extension (opened 2026-10-23) https://extension.psu.edu/managing-small-woodlots
  • Hazards of Operating Unguarded Stone Cutters and Splitters in Landscaping and Other Worksites, OSHA (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.osha.gov/publications/shib01252013

Similar Posts