Best Worx 20V 12 inch 3-in-1 Cordless String
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The person typing best worx 20v 12 inch 3-in-1 cordless string wants to know what this Worx WG170.9 does, what comes in the box, and whether a battery is included. The short answer: the listing describes a 12-inch cordless unit that works as a string trimmer, an in-line wheeled edger and a mini mower, and it says battery and charger not included, per the listing. You will need a 20V battery and charger before the tool can run. This page sticks to what the listing states and to two extension pages on trimming and edging.
Quick answer
- Battery and charger not included, per the listing. Plan to buy both with the tool, because the listing does not include them.
- The listing names three jobs: string trimming, edging with the in-line wheeled head, and mowing with the mini mower setup.
- The listing gives a 12-inch cutting width and a speed of 7600 rpm, which it describes as a no load speed.
- The listing gives no runtime, charge time, warranty term, motor type or lawn size limit, so those points stay open.
The product at a glance
The table lists what the Amazon listing states, using its own wording where that helps. Where the listing is silent, the cell says not stated. The listing was checked on 2026-10-23. We did not open a manufacturer page for this model number, so the figures below come from the listing alone.
| Item | What the listing states |
|---|---|
| Product | Worx 20V 12-inch 3-in-1 cordless string trimmer, lawn edger and mini mower |
| Brand | WORX |
| Manufacturer | Positec Technology (China) Co., Ltd |
| Model number | WG170.9 |
| Power source | Battery powered |
| Battery and charger | Battery and charger not included, per the listing |
| Voltage | 20V (listing title) |
| Battery family | Power Share family, as the listing describes it |
| Cutting width | 12 inches |
| Speed | 7600 rpm, described as no load speed |
| Recommended uses | Edging, mowing, trimming |
| Item weight | 4.6 pounds |
| Included components | Trimmer/edger unit, three 10 ft trimmer spools, support wheels, safety guard, flower guard, spool holder |
| Line feed | Command feed, which the listing says adds line by pressing a button |
| Head and handle | 6 rotating head settings and 7 handle adjustments, per the listing |
| Motor type | not stated |
| Height range | not stated |
| Dimensions | not stated in the listing text |
| Runtime | not stated |
| Charge time | not stated |
| Warranty | not stated |
Read the table with two points in mind. The first is the battery line. The listing’s own wording is that the battery and charger are sold separately, so a working setup means the tool plus a 20V battery and a charger, and the listing names neither. The second is the spool count. The listing includes three 10 ft spools and names no other line or spool, so plan how you will restock the head before the first long job.
Who it suits
The listing points to a buyer who wants one 20V tool for three jobs around the yard: edging, mowing and trimming. The head converts from a string trimmer into an in-line wheeled edger, and the listing says it can then work as a mini mower. That suits someone who would otherwise buy a separate string trimmer, a dedicated edger and a small mower, and who would rather manage one tool body and one battery system.
The battery system is the main reason to consider this model over others. The listing says: “SAME BATTERY, EXPANDABLE POWER: The same battery powers over 75 plus 20v, 40v, and 80v lifestyle, garden, and power tools in the Power Share family.” That is the listing’s own claim about Worx’s family. It suits a buyer who already owns a Power Share battery, or who plans to buy one as the start of a wider set of tools. It does not suit someone who expects a battery to arrive in the box, because the listing says it will not.
Edging is the job where the wheeled head matters most. A Utah State University extension guide makes the case for doing it well: “Although it is more work, finished, neat edges can make a landscape look polished and attractive.” If your yard has beds, walks or a curb you want to keep crisp, the listing’s edger setup is the feature to check first. It names edger wheels among the included parts. The same guide also says to “Design the landscaped area so it requires a minimal amount of edging or trimming,” which cuts the work for any tool and is worth doing before you buy.
Trimming around fences, beds and tree bases is where the head settings count. The listing says: “FIND YOUR POSITION: 7 handle adjustments and 6 rotating head settings make this a comfortable and flexible tool you can use all afternoon and in many hard to reach places.” That is the listing’s own claim about comfort and reach, and it is worth confirming against your own yard before you rely on it. The listing also says the command feed lets you add line without stopping: “AUTOMATIC FRESH LINE: Proprietary command feed tech lets you add more line as needed, just by pushing a button, so you don’t have to stop and can get the job done quicker.” The listing does not say how much line the head holds, so that is the detail to check.
Safety comes first with any trimmer or edger. The Oklahoma State University extension column on trimmers, edgers and blowers says these tools “can be dangerous to operate, especially around gravel, trash and other debris in the yard.” It advises wearing protective clothing when operating a weeder, edger or trimmer, and it says to make sure children and pets are not in the area. The column also explains why you should pick up items in the yard before mowing, edging and trimming, since loose objects are what these tools throw. If you edge beside a road, the same column says: “When edging the lawn next to the road, be aware of traffic.”
Skip it if
This tool is the wrong pick if any of the following fits your situation.
- You need the battery and charger in the box. The listing says battery and charger not included, per the listing, so you must buy both before the first cut.
- You need a runtime or charge time to plan a job. The listing gives neither, and it gives no coverage figure per charge.
- You want a motor type or a warranty term from the listing before you buy. Neither is stated.
- You plan to work mostly over gravel, loose stone or heavy trash. The Oklahoma State column names those conditions as the hazard for trimmers and edgers, so plan the work area first.
- You need a lawn size range to match the tool. The listing gives no lawn size, so you will have to judge that yourself.
If you are still comparing string trimmers across brands, see Greenworks vs EGO Power+ string trimmers compared. For a Worx comparison that also covers accessories, see EGO Power+ vs WORX trimmers and accessories compared.
What the listing does not say
The listing is clear on the box contents, and it is clear that no battery comes with the tool. Battery and charger not included, per the listing. Its own wording is “Battery & Charger Sold Separately”, so you should expect to buy both. The points below are either missing from the listing or left for you to check before you buy.
- Runtime: not stated. With no battery in the box, the listing gives nothing to plan a job against.
- Charge time: not stated. The listing names no charger model and no charge figure.
- Kit contents: the box holds the trimmer/edger unit, three 10 ft trimmer spools, support wheels, a safety guard, a flower guard and a spool holder. It does not hold a battery or a charger.
- Motor type: not stated. The listing gives a speed but does not say whether the motor is brushless.
- Warranty: not stated.
- Battery models: the listing names the Power Share family but not which battery models fit this unit.
- Lawn size and coverage: not stated.
- Height range and dimensions: not stated in the listing text.
Before you order, confirm three things the listing leaves open: the exact battery model and charger you will buy, whether a battery you already own belongs to the same Power Share family, and what line or spool you will use after the three that come with the tool. The listing does not answer any of them, so check with the seller or the manufacturer first.
How we chose
This model is in the post because it is the Worx 20V 12-inch 3-in-1 string trimmer, edger and mini mower on our plan, with the ASIN B07TB4WSD3. We read the listing on 2026-10-23 and used its title, bullets, specifications and included-parts list. The model number WG170.9 and the battery and charger status come straight from that listing, and we kept the battery and charger wording as the listing gives it.
We did not rank this model against other trimmers, and this post does not claim it is the best option in its class. The two extension pages were picked for the tool type and for the safety and edging points they make, not for product facts. They do not describe this model. The internal links point to comparison posts that cover other trimmers and other brands, so you can check the alternatives.
The selection rule for the facts was simple. We kept the battery and charger status, the stated cutting width and speed, the weight, the recommended uses and the included parts, because a buyer needs those before ordering. Every performance statement is labelled as the listing’s claim. Where the listing is silent, the table says not stated rather than filling the gap from general knowledge.
What we could not verify
- Battery runtime and charge time. The battery is not included, and the listing gives no figures for either.
- How the speed behaves under load. The listing labels 7600 rpm as a no load speed and gives no loaded figure.
- Warranty terms, motor type and lawn size limits. The listing states none of them.
- Manufacturer specifications for WG170.9. We did not open a manufacturer product or manual page for this model number, so the listing is the only product source in this post.
- Which battery models fit this unit. The listing names only the Power Share family.
The extension pages cover string trimmers and edging in general. They support the safety and edging points above, but they say nothing about this model, so no product claim in this post rests on them.
FAQ
Does the Worx WG170.9 come with a battery?
No. The listing says battery and charger not included, per the listing, and its own wording is “Battery & Charger Sold Separately”. Buy a 20V battery and a charger before you plan any work.
Can this Worx work as an edger as well as a trimmer?
The listing says the head converts into an in-line wheeled edger, and its recommended uses include edging. The included parts list edger wheels. The listing does not say how deep or how straight the edge will cut, so judge the result on your own lawn.
Does the Worx feed more string automatically?
The listing says the command feed adds more line as needed by pushing a button, so you do not have to stop the work. The package includes three 10 ft trimmer spools. The listing does not say how much line the head holds.
Will a Power Share battery from another Worx tool run this trimmer?
The listing says the same battery powers more than 75 tools in the Power Share family. It does not name the battery models that fit this unit, so confirm the exact battery model you plan to use before you order.
Is this tool a good choice for a large lawn?
The listing does not state a lawn size or coverage per charge. It names mowing, edging and trimming as uses and gives a 12-inch cutting width. Because no battery is included, no charge figure is available either.
What safety points apply to this trimmer?
The Oklahoma State University extension column says to wear protective clothing when operating a weeder, edger or trimmer. It also says to make sure children and pets are not in the area, and to pick up items in the yard before mowing, edging and trimming.
Bottom line
Choose this Worx only if you already own a 20V battery and charger, or you will buy them with the tool. Decision rule: if the battery and charger are not already yours, add their cost to the tool before you commit, because the listing does not include them.
Sources
- Worx 20V 12 inch 3-in-1 Cordless String Trimmer/Lawn Edger/Mini Mower, WG170.9, Amazon listing (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07TB4WSD3
- Beyond The Mower: Safe Use Of Trimmers, Edgers And Blowers, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/announcements/grow-gardening-columns/2025/august-24-2025.html
- Tips for Edging Your Lawn, Utah State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.usu.edu/archive/tips-for-edging-your-lawn






