Black+Decker 20V Pole Hedge Trimmer Review for Homeowners
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The Black and Decker 20V pole hedge trimmer, model LPHT120, is a cordless tool with an 18-inch dual-action blade, a 180-degree pivoting head and an adjustable pole that the listing says reaches a trimming height of up to 11 feet. This review sticks to what the listing states, explains how reach, weight and battery details affect a buying decision, and compares the model with two close alternatives from the same pack. Where the listing is silent, this article says so.
Quick answer
- The LPHT120 is a cordless pole hedge trimmer with an 18-inch dual-action blade. The listing says the blade gives less vibration than single-action blades.
- The listing gives a tool weight of 7.7 lbs and a trimming height of up to 11 ft with the 6-1/2 ft adjustable pole extended.
- The kit includes the trimmer, an LBXR20 20V MAX lithium-ion battery and an LCS20 smart charger.
- Both close alternatives in the pack are pole hedge trimmers that list DeWalt 20V compatibility, with the battery and charger not included.
How the pole design changes reach
A pole hedge trimmer trades the close-in control of a standard trimmer for height. The listing describes the shaft as an adjustable length of 6-1/2 ft that extends the trimming height to up to 11 ft, and it describes the fiberglass sections as rust-proof and interlocking for a secure connection. The listing does not state the height of the person used to measure the 11 ft figure, so read it as the maximum the manufacturer quotes rather than a promise for your own reach. Before you order, measure from the ground to the highest growth you need to trim and compare that number with 11 ft.
Blade and cutting capacity
The 18-inch dual-action blade is the main cutting feature in the listing. Two blade edges working against each other are described as producing less vibration than a single-action blade, which matters over a long session of shaping. The listing says the blade trims hedges, shrubs and bushes with branches up to 7/16 inch thick. That is the thickness figure to plan around. For anything heavier than that, a dedicated pruning saw is the better tool, and the pole trimmer should stay on the leafy growth it is built for.
The listing does not state the blade material, the number of strokes per minute or the blade tooth count. If you compare this model with a listing that gives those figures, you will be comparing numbers the other way round, so note which specs each listing actually provides.
Head angle and handling
The head pivots through 180 degrees, and the listing says it adjusts to five different positions. That range covers both overhead growth and low growth without moving your feet as much as you would with a fixed head. The listing gives a tool weight of 7.7 lbs. It adds a soft-grip handle for comfort and control, and a trigger that the listing describes as hassle-free for quick starting. The listing does not state the balance point, the weight of the pole sections on their own or the folded length of the tool.
Battery, charger and the 20V MAX system
The tool runs on a 20V MAX lithium-ion battery. The listing says the battery holds a charge for up to 18 months, which describes storage between uses rather than a runtime figure. The listing does not give runtime in minutes or the number of cuts per charge, so you cannot compare that part of the tool with others on a runtime basis from this page alone.
The listing also describes the PowerConnect battery system as interchangeable, meaning one battery can be used across several tools in the same 20V MAX family. If you already own a Black and Decker 20V MAX tool, that is the practical reason to buy this kit. If you own DeWalt 20V batteries instead, the alternatives in this article are the more relevant group, since they list DeWalt compatibility.
Who each option suits
This model suits homeowners with tall hedges, shrubs or overhanging branches who want to trim from the ground and do not want a cord to manage. The 7.7 lb weight is light for a pole tool with an 11 ft trimming height, which helps on repeated overhead work. The battery is a good fit for someone already in the Black and Decker 20V MAX system, because the listing says the battery works with the other tools in that system.
It is less suited to someone whose main job is cutting thick limbs. The listing gives 7/16 inch as the branch thickness the blade handles, and the pole design places the cutting head at a distance from you, which makes heavy cutting harder to control. It is also a poor match for anyone who specifically wants a DeWalt-battery tool, because this kit ships with a Black and Decker battery.
Review: Black and Decker LPHT120 pole hedge trimmer
The LPHT120 is the only product in this pack that is both a pole hedge trimmer and a Black and Decker tool, so the in-depth review covers it. The listing lists each feature in a separate line, and the points below take them in order and say what each one means in use.
The blade and its vibration claim
The listing says the 18-inch dual-action blade delivers less vibration than single-action blades when trimming hedges, shrubs and bushes up to 7/16 inch thick. The vibration claim is a comparison the listing makes against single-action blades. It does not give a vibration measurement, so read it as a direction rather than a number.
Reach and adjustable length
The listing describes the pole as adjustable to 6-1/2 ft and says the trimming height extends to up to 11 ft. The sections are described as rust-proof fiberglass with a durable interlocking connection. Because the adjustable length is the same part that sets your reach, check the pole lock before each use and extend only to a length you can control from the ground.
Head and positions
The 180-degree pivoting head adjusts to five positions. The listing frames this as a way to cut both high and low plants. In practice, a head that pivots lets you keep the blade flat along a hedge top while you reach the sides, which saves repositioning the pole.
Weight and comfort
The listing gives a weight of 7.7 lbs for the pole hedge trimmer. It also lists a soft-grip handle and a hassle-free trigger. The listing says the trigger gives quick and easy starting. The listing does not give a weight for the battery alone, so the 7.7 lb figure should be read as the figure for the tool as listed.
Battery and included parts
The listing includes an LBXR20 20V MAX lithium-ion battery and an LCS20 smart charger, along with the LPHT120 tool. It says the battery holds a charge for up to 18 months and that the PowerConnect system is interchangeable across tools. This is the most useful practical point for a first purchase, since the battery and charger are already included.
Specifications from the listing
| Item | Listing figure |
|---|---|
| Brand | BLACK+DECKER |
| Model | LPHT120 |
| Blade | 18 inch dual-action |
| Maximum branch thickness | 7/16 inch |
| Weight | 7.7 lbs |
| Adjustable pole length | 6-1/2 ft |
| Maximum trimming height | Up to 11 ft |
| Head rotation | 180 degrees, 5 positions |
| Battery | 20V MAX lithium-ion, LBXR20 |
| Charger | LCS20 smart charger |
| Battery charge retention | Up to 18 months (listing) |
| Warranty length | Not stated in the listing |
| Runtime per charge | Not stated in the listing |
Close alternatives from the pack
Grasstigon 20V pole hedge trimmer, tool only
The Grasstigon listing describes a pole hedge trimmer with an 18-inch dual-action blade, a reach of up to 14 ft, and an adjustable rotating head with several cutting angles. It weighs 7.7 lbs as listed. The listing says it is compatible with DeWalt 20V MAX batteries and that the battery and charger are not included. It also gives a 1-year warranty. This is a sensible option for someone who already has DeWalt batteries and wants more height than the LPHT120 lists.
Ecarke pole hedge trimmer, tool only
The Ecarke listing describes a 22-inch dual-action blade rated at 1400 strokes per minute, a three-stage aluminum pole that extends to 9 ft total reach, and a 135-degree lockable rotating head. The bare tool weighs 8 lbs as listed. It has dual safety triggers and a 2-year warranty, according to the listing. The battery and charger are not included, and the listing says it works with DeWalt 20V batteries. Choose this one if you want a longer blade and already have DeWalt batteries, and accept the heavier bare weight.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying a standard hedge trimmer by mistake. The pack includes a 22-inch cordless hedge trimmer, model LHT2220, that has no pole and a stated product length of 36 inches. Check that the listing title includes “Pole” and that the model is LPHT120.
- Assuming a battery is included. Some Black and Decker listings in this pack are tool only, such as the LHT2220B, which says the battery and charger are sold separately. Read the included-components line before you order.
- Assuming the 11 ft figure applies to your height. The listing does not state the height of the user behind the figure.
- Expecting the pole to cut heavy wood. The listing gives 7/16 inch as the branch thickness the blade handles.
FAQ
Is the LPHT120 a pole hedge trimmer?
Yes. The listing title and model number LPHT120 describe it as a pole hedge trimmer, with a pole that adjusts to 6-1/2 ft and a trimming height of up to 11 ft.
Does the LPHT120 include a battery and charger?
Yes. The kit includes an LBXR20 20V MAX lithium-ion battery and an LCS20 smart charger, according to the listing.
How far can it reach?
The listing says the trimming height extends to up to 11 ft with the pole fully adjusted. It does not say what height of user the figure assumes, so plan for a margin before you buy.
What is the largest branch it can cut?
The listing says the blade trims branches up to 7/16 inch thick. For anything thicker, use a tool designed for heavy wood.
Will the battery work with DeWalt tools?
The listing does not say that. It describes the PowerConnect system as interchangeable across Black and Decker 20V MAX tools. If you need DeWalt compatibility, the two alternatives in this article list it.
How long does the battery last?
The listing gives no runtime in minutes. It says the battery holds a charge for up to 18 months, which is a storage figure. Plan around the battery you own, and treat any runtime figure you find elsewhere as separate from this listing.
Bottom line
Choose the LPHT120 if you want a Black and Decker pole hedge trimmer with a stated 11 ft trimming height, an 18-inch dual-action blade and a battery and charger in the box, and you are happy to stay in the Black and Decker 20V MAX system. If you already own DeWalt 20V batteries, choose one of the two DeWalt-compatible alternatives instead, and be ready to buy a battery and charger if they are not included.
For more on cordless hedge trimmers from the same brand, see Best Black & Decker 20V Cordless Hedge Trimmer Options. For pole models that use DeWalt batteries, read Best Dewalt 20V Max Pole Hedge Trimmer Picks for 2026.




