Best Corded Electric Push Mowers for Small Lawns

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A corded push mower runs on mains power through an extension cord, so it never needs gas, oil or a battery charge. For a small lawn, the best corded push mower is usually the one with a deck width that fits your yard, a motor rating that suits your grass, and a bag or mulching setup you will actually use. The eight models below come from the product pack. Each listing gives its own deck width, amp rating, height settings and accessories, and this guide repeats those figures as each listing states them. Where two listings give different numbers, the text says so.

Quick answer

  • Choose a 12-inch to 14-inch deck for a small lawn, or a 20-inch deck if you want to cover more ground per pass.
  • Look at the amp rating and the cutting height range. The listings range from 10 amps to 13 amps, and from about 1 inch to 4 inches of cut height.
  • Check the bag or mulch options. Some models include a fabric bag, others a box or a bag with a fill indicator.
  • Plan your cord length before you buy. The listings in this roundup do not give a cord length, so measure the run from your outlet to the far corner of the lawn.

How to choose a corded electric push mower

Start with the lawn size. A corded push mower is a good fit for a yard that is small enough to walk and close enough to an outlet. The 13-inch and 14-inch models in this roundup are the most compact. The 20-inch models cover more ground with each pass, but they weigh more and need a longer cord run. The Craftsman and first Black+Decker models both use a 20-inch deck, while the Amerisun, Goplus and Dortala models use 14-inch decks. Pick the width that matches how long it takes you to finish a normal mowing session.

Next, compare the motor. The listings give amp ratings from 10 to 13 amps. A higher number usually means a more powerful motor, but the listing is the only source of that figure in this pack. The Craftsman and Black+Decker 20-inch models list 13 amps. The Amerisun listing lists 12.5 amps and 1500 watts, the Goplus and Dortala models list 12 amps, and the Hoteche listing names a 10-amp brush motor in its title. Use the amp rating to compare models within the same deck size, not across different widths.

Then look at height and bagging. Cut height ranges are easy to compare because each listing gives them. The Craftsman and Black+Decker 20-inch models adjust from 1-1/2 inches to 4 inches. The Amerisun listing gives six positions from 1.0 inch to 3.0 inches. The Goplus 14-inch model lists five heights from 0.99 inch to 2.56 inches. The Hoteche listing gives three heights from 1 inch to 2.2 inches, and the Dortala model gives three positions. If you want a short, even cut, the lower ranges matter more than the deck width.

Roundup: eight corded push mowers from the pack

CRAFTSMAN 20-inch corded electric push mower (CMEMW213)

This Craftsman model has a 20-inch deck, a 13-amp motor and a single-lever height adjustment that the listing says runs from 1-1/2 inches to 4 inches. The listing says it can bag, mulch or side discharge, and it includes a collection bag and side discharge chute. It has a winged blade, a plastic deck and a listed item weight of 20.8 pounds. The listing also says the mower comes with a 3-year limited warranty. Choose it if you want a 20-inch corded mower with a bag and a long named warranty.

View on Amazon

BLACK+DECKER 20-inch corded electric push mower (BEMW213)

This Black+Decker model is a 20-inch corded mower with a 13-amp motor and six cutting settings from 1-1/2 inches to 4 inches. The listing mentions push-button start, a lift handle, a foam grip and a folding handle for storage in a shed or garage. It includes a collection bag and a winged blade. The specifications in the pack list a 2-year limited warranty. Choose it if you want a compact folding design at the 20-inch width.

View on Amazon

BLACK+DECKER MM2000 20-inch corded push mower

This model is also a 20-inch corded mower with a 13-amp motor. Its listing gives seven height settings from 1-1/2 inches to 4 inches, a single lever for adjustment, and an EdgeMax deck that the listing says is made for cutting close to the edge. It has a 13-gallon fabric bag, and the listing says the fabric shows when the bag is full. The listing gives a 2-year warranty. Choose it if you want an edge-cutting deck and a bag with a simple full indicator.

View on Amazon

AMERISUN 14-inch 2-in-1 corded lawn mower (AM8015)

The Amerisun listing describes a 14-inch corded push mower with a 12.5-amp, 1500-watt motor that the listing says delivers up to 3400 RPM. It offers six height positions from 1.0 inch to 3.0 inches and includes a 10-gallon collection bag with a fill-level indicator, plus a mulching kit. The listed item weight is 31.9 pounds. This is the heaviest of the 14-inch models in the pack, so consider that if you plan to lift it into a car or shed. Choose it if you want six height settings and a large bag on a 14-inch deck.

View on Amazon

Goplus 12-amp 14-inch corded lightweight push mower

The Goplus listing gives a 14-inch deck, a 12-amp motor that it says reaches 3700 RPM, and five cutting heights from 0.99 inch to 2.56 inches. The single lever adjusts the height, and the handle has two positions for different users. The listing says the body folds down for storage. Its listed item weight is 21 pounds, which is lighter than the Amerisun model. The listing describes a push-button start with a lever pull. Choose it if you want a lighter 14-inch corded mower with five height settings.

View on Amazon

Hoteche 10-amp corded electric mower with 12.6-inch deck

This Hoteche model has a 12.6-inch cutting width, which the specifications list as 32 centimeters. The title names a 10-amp motor, and the bullets describe a 1200-watt brush motor. It has three height adjustments from 1 inch to 2.2 inches and a 30-liter grass bag. The listing gives a weight of 7.95 kilograms. Because the title and the bullets state the power figure in different ways, quote the title for the amp rating and the bullet for the watt rating. Choose it if you want a mid-sized deck with a 30-liter bag and a lower weight than the 20-inch models.

View on Amazon

DORTALA 14-inch corded electric push mower

The Dortala listing describes a 14-inch deck with a 12-amp motor that the listing says runs at 3800 RPM. It has three height positions and a 35-liter (9.3-gallon) grass collection box. The listing says the box can be attached for side discharge or removed for mulching. The item weight is 15.5 pounds, the lightest of the 14-inch models in this roundup. The start uses a safety button and a switch lever, and the listing says the double-switch design locks the lever automatically. Choose it if you want a light 14-inch mower with a large box.

View on Amazon

Goplus 13-inch 2-in-1 corded push mower (GPET1279GN)

This Goplus model has a 13-inch deck and a 30-liter collection box that the listing says can be attached or removed for mulching. It offers three cutting heights, 1 inch, 1.6 inches and 2.2 inches, and the listing describes a dual-switch push-button start. The listing describes it as a corded push mower. Choose it if you want the smallest deck in the set and a box that can be used for both bagging and mulching.

View on Amazon

Deep look: the 20-inch Craftsman as the reference model

If you want one model to judge the rest against, the Craftsman listing gives the most specific set of facts. It names the deck width at 20 inches, the motor at 13 amps, the height range from 1-1/2 inches to 4 inches, and the bagging options. It lists the item weight at 20.8 pounds and the product dimensions at 33.8 inches deep, 21.95 inches wide and 15.06 inches high. It also states a 3-year limited warranty, which is longer than the 2-year warranty the Black+Decker listings give. A winged blade and a side discharge chute are part of the listed package.

Use that model as a benchmark when you read the other listings. A 14-inch model will cut a narrower strip per pass, so it takes more passes on the same lawn. A 20-inch model will cover more ground but may be harder to steer around flower beds and tight corners. The Craftsman figures give you a reference point for the trade-off, and the other listings let you see where a smaller deck saves weight.

Cord length and cut height

A corded mower is limited by its cord, so measure the run from your outlet to the far corner of the lawn before you buy. The listings in this pack do not state a cord length, so check the mower’s manual or packaging for that figure. The Amerisun listing describes a cut from 1.0 inch to 3.0 inches, and the Goplus 14-inch listing gives a range from 0.99 inch to 2.56 inches. Choose the range that matches the grass height you want to keep, and follow the owner’s manual for electrical and safety guidance.

Corded versus cordless: where a corded mower fits

A corded mower is a good choice when your lawn is close to an outlet and you do not want to buy and charge a battery. It gives steady power as long as the cord runs. A cordless mower trades that limit for freedom of movement and no cord to manage. If your yard is large or your outlet is far away, a cordless model may suit you better. Our internal guide compares the two types, and it is worth reading if you are still choosing between them.

Mistakes to avoid when buying a corded push mower

  • Choosing a 20-inch deck for a very small yard. A narrower deck is easier to steer and store.
  • Comparing amp ratings across different deck widths. Compare within the same width.
  • Skipping the cord measurement. The listings in this roundup do not state a cord length.
  • Ignoring the bag type. Fabric bags, boxes and fill indicators work differently.
  • Assuming all warranties match. The Craftsman listing states 3 years, and the Black+Decker listings state 2 years.

Corded push mower comparison table

Model Deck width Motor as listed Height range as listed Bag or box
CRAFTSMAN CMEMW213 20 inches 13 amps 1-1/2 to 4 inches Collection bag
BLACK+DECKER BEMW213 20 inches 13 amps 1-1/2 to 4 inches Collection bag
BLACK+DECKER MM2000 20 inches 13 amps 1-1/2 to 4 inches, 7 settings 13-gallon fabric bag
AMERISUN AM8015 14 inches 12.5 amps, 1500 W 1.0 to 3.0 inches 10-gallon bag
Goplus 14-inch 14 inches 12 amps 0.99 to 2.56 inches Not stated
Hoteche G840311A 12.6 inches 10-amp title, 1200 W bullet 1 to 2.2 inches 30-liter bag
DORTALA DOUS-ET10033USPA 14 inches 12 amps 3 positions 35-liter box
Goplus GPET1279GN 13 inches Not stated 1, 1.6, 2.2 inches 30-liter box

Where the listing does not state a value, the table says so.

FAQ

Is a corded push mower good for a small lawn?

Yes, a corded push mower suits a small lawn that is close to an outlet. The 13-inch and 14-inch models in this roundup are the most compact choices. Make sure the cord can reach the far corner of the lawn before you start.

What amp rating should I look for?

The listings range from 10 to 13 amps. Compare amp ratings only between models with the same deck width. A 13-amp 20-inch model and a 12-amp 14-inch model are not directly comparable.

Which models include a bag?

The Craftsman and Black+Decker 20-inch models include collection bags. The Black+Decker MM2000 has a 13-gallon fabric bag. The Amerisun listing includes a 10-gallon bag, the Hoteche listing a 30-liter bag, the Dortala model a 35-liter box, and the Goplus 13-inch model a 30-liter box.

How many height settings do these mowers have?

The Black+Decker BEMW213 and Craftsman models have six settings. The Black+Decker MM2000 lists seven. The Amerisun listing gives six positions, the Goplus 14-inch model five, the Hoteche and Dortala models three, and the Goplus 13-inch model three.

How long is the warranty?

The Craftsman listing gives a 3-year limited warranty. The Black+Decker BEMW213 and MM2000 listings give 2 years. Other listings in the pack do not state a warranty length in the material used here.

Can a corded mower mulch as well as bag?

Several models offer both. The Craftsman listing and the Black+Decker MM2000 describe 3-in-1 mulching, bagging and side discharge. The Dortala listing says its box can be detached for mulching, and the Goplus 13-inch listing describes attaching or removing its collection box for mulching or collecting grass.

Bottom line

For a small lawn, choose a 13-inch or 14-inch corded mower if you want something light and easy to store, and a 20-inch model if you want to cover more ground per pass. Then compare the height range, the bag size and the warranty. The Craftsman CMEMW213 is the most fully described 20-inch option, and the Dortala and Goplus 14-inch models are the lightest in the set. Measure your cord run before you order.

For more on how corded and cordless mowers compare, read the Corded vs Cordless Electric Mowers guide. For a second look at a 13-amp 20-inch option, see the 13 in 11 Amp Corded Electric Walk Behind Push Mower Options post.

Similar Posts