DeWalt Pole Saw Review: Is It Worth the Money

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A DeWalt pole saw is a cordless pole saw that runs on a DeWalt 20V MAX battery you already own. The model reviewed here, the Paxwrenx 8-inch Cordless Pole Saw for DeWalt 20V Max Battery (Bare Tool), is sold without a battery or charger and lists compatibility with several DeWALT 20V MAX battery models. Its listing gives a 2-section reach of up to 12.5 feet and a 3-section reach of up to 15 feet, measured with the user’s height. This review covers what the listing states, what it leaves out, and who this kind of tool suits.

Quick answer

  • The Paxwrenx saw is a bare tool. The listing says the battery and charger are not included.
  • The listing names DeWALT 20V MAX batteries including DCB200, DCB201, DCB203, DCB204, DCB205, DCB230 and DCB240.
  • Reach is up to 7.5 feet with 2 pole sections and up to 10 feet with 3 sections, or up to 12.5 and 15 feet total with user height.
  • The listing describes an 8-inch bar, a chain speed of up to 18 feet per second, and an automatic chain oiler. Oil is not included.

What a DeWalt pole saw is for

A pole saw lets you cut branches that are above your reach without using a ladder. Most homeowners use one for limbs over a driveway, dead wood in a tree crown, or branches that grow over a fence line. A battery pole saw removes the cord and the fuel mix, which makes it easier to start and carry than a gas model. The trade-off is runtime: a battery tool stops when the pack runs down, so the cuts per charge figure matters.

The DeWalt name in the search query tells you the buyer already owns DeWalt 20V MAX tools. The main reason to choose this type of saw is to keep one battery platform. The listing presents that as its main selling point: you use the battery you have rather than buying a new battery and charger set.

Specifications from the listing

The table below uses only what the product listing states. Where the listing gives no value, the table says so.

Feature What the listing says
Power source Battery powered, 20 volts
Battery and charger Not included
Battery compatibility DW 20V: DCB200, DCB201, DCB203, DCB204, DCB230, DCB240
Chain bar length 8 inches
Chain speed Up to 18 feet per second
Cuts per charge Up to 90 cuts on 4×4 pressure-treated wood, with a 4.0Ah battery
Cutting angle 90 degrees
Pole sections 2 or 3
Max extension length 2-section up to 7.5 feet; 3-section up to 10 feet
Total reach with user height 2-section up to 12.5 feet; 3-section up to 15 feet
Chain specifications 3/8 inch LP pitch, .043 inch gauge, 33 drive links
Oiling system Automatic lubrication; oil not included
Chain tensioning Tool-free (SDS system)
Chain kickback Low kickback design
Motor High-efficiency motor (the listing does not give a wattage or rpm)
Item weight Not stated in the listing
Warranty Listing states a 90-day return, a 1-year full replacement and a 3-year limited warranty

Reach and pole sections

The reach figures are the first thing to check, because they decide whether the saw fits your trees. The listing describes two setups. With 2 sections the pole reaches up to 7.5 feet on its own, and with 3 sections up to 10 feet. Adding the operator’s height gives the total reach: up to 12.5 feet for the 2-section setup and up to 15 feet for the 3-section setup. The listing describes the total as based on the user’s height and does not state the height used for those numbers.

Choose the setup by the branches you cut most often. The 2-section setup is shorter and easier to carry through a garage door or into a car. The 3-section setup reaches higher limbs but is longer and gives you more pole to hold steady. A longer pole also moves the chain further from your hands, so the saw will feel heavier at full extension. The listing does not give a weight for the saw or the poles, so you cannot compare the balance against other models using the listing alone.

Chain, bar and cutting head

The saw uses an 8-inch bar and a chain with 3/8 inch LP pitch, .043 inch gauge and 33 drive links. The listing describes a 90-degree cutting head and says the design maximizes downforce and reduces binding. That matters on thick limbs where the chain can pinch if the cut is not held straight. The listing also calls the bar a low-kickback design. A low-kickback bar lowers the risk of the tip striking back toward the operator, but it does not remove that risk, and the listing gives no kickback test data.

Chain tension is adjusted without tools through the SDS system, which the listing says is for setting tautness on the job. A chain that is too loose can jump off the bar, and one that is too tight can wear the bar and drive parts faster. Check the tension before each session, following the manual that comes with the saw.

Oiling and chain care

The saw has an automatic oiler. The listing says it pumps oil while the saw runs to keep the chain lubricated. Oil is not included, so you must fill the reservoir with bar and chain oil before use. Use the oil type named in the manual. Running the saw dry shortens chain and bar life, so check the oil level each time you refill the battery.

Keep the chain sharp. A dull chain makes the saw push harder into the cut, which can strain the motor and make the cut less controlled. Sharpen or replace the chain when cuts take longer or leave ragged ends. The listing does not state a sharpening interval.

Battery and runtime

The listing says the saw gives up to 90 cuts per charge on 4×4 pressure-treated wood with a 4.0Ah battery. That is the only runtime figure in the listing. The number depends on the wood, the bar and chain condition, and how long each cut takes, so treat it as the seller’s best-case figure rather than a fixed promise. Carry a second charged battery if you plan a full day of trimming.

The listing does not include a battery or charger. If you already own a DeWalt 20V MAX battery, check its model number against the list above. If your battery is not on the list, the listing does not say whether it will work, so do not assume compatibility.

Who this saw suits

This saw suits a homeowner who already has DeWalt 20V MAX batteries and wants to trim branches up to about 15 feet without a ladder. It also suits someone who wants a lighter cordless option for light to medium limbs and does not need the cutting power of a gas saw. The 8-inch bar limits the diameter of wood you can cut in one pass. The listing describes its use on 4×4 timber but does not give a maximum cutting diameter for the bar, so keep larger limbs for a bigger saw or a professional.

It is a weaker fit for someone who needs to clear heavy storm damage, cut large trunks, or work all day without changing batteries. The listing does not state a runtime for a full working day, and the cuts-per-charge figure is the seller’s number for one wood type.

Compared with the other pole saws in the pack

The same pack includes two other 20V pole saws. The HEINPRO Cordless Pole Saw (Battery and Charger not Included, model HP-2008TT) lists an 8-inch chain, a detachable extension pole and a total reach of up to 14.2 feet at shoulder height with a 6-foot user. Its listing gives a weight of 6.7 pounds and a 7-tooth blade. The AVADA 2-in-1 Cordless 8-Inch Pole Saw and Chainsaw (Tool Only) combines an 8-inch and a 6-inch chainsaw with an extension pole. Its listing gives a 1200 watt rating and a total reach of up to 15.9 feet with a 6-foot user, and it says the saw uses a brushless motor. The Paxwrenx saw has the clearest DeWalt battery list and the most detailed chain data, while the AVADA model adds a chainsaw mode for close work.

The Torrmoss 2-in-1 pole saw and hedge trimmer combination is a different tool. Its listing describes one shared pole that switches between a pole saw and a hedge trimmer, with a weight of 8 pounds and up to 15 feet of total reach. Pick it if you also trim hedges. Pick the Paxwrenx if you only cut branches and want a dedicated saw.

Safety before you cut

Read the manual before the first use. Keep both hands on the tool, stand so that a falling limb cannot strike you, and keep people and pets well clear of the drop zone. Do not cut above shoulder height with a battery pole saw unless you have secure footing, and never stand on a ladder while holding a pole saw. If a branch is near power lines, do not cut it. Call the utility company or a licensed tree service instead. For tree work that involves a height above your reach or a large limb, ask a certified arborist.

FAQ

Does the Paxwrenx DeWalt pole saw include a battery?

No. The listing says it is a bare tool and that the battery and charger are not included. You need a compatible DeWalt 20V MAX battery and charger, or you need to buy them separately.

Which DeWalt batteries does it work with?

The listing names DCB200, DCB201, DCB203, DCB204, DCB230 and DCB240, and describes compatibility with DeWALT 20V MAX platforms. Check your battery’s model number against that list before you buy the saw.

How high can it reach?

The listing gives a total reach of up to 12.5 feet with the 2-section setup and up to 15 feet with the 3-section setup, based on the user’s height. The pole alone extends to 7.5 or 10 feet.

How many cuts do you get per charge?

The listing says up to 90 cuts on 4×4 pressure-treated wood with a 4.0Ah battery. Actual results depend on the wood and the saw’s condition.

Does the chain need oil?

Yes. The saw has an automatic oiler, but oil is not included. Fill the reservoir before use and follow the manual.

What warranty does it have?

The listing states a 90-day hassle-free return, a 1-year full replacement and a 3-year limited warranty. Check the warranty card that comes with the saw for the terms.

Bottom line

Buy this Paxwrenx pole saw if you already own a compatible DeWalt 20V MAX battery, you need about 12 to 15 feet of total reach, and your cuts are small to medium limbs. Choose a different model if you need a battery and charger in the box, if your battery is not on the compatibility list, or if you regularly cut wood larger than the 8-inch bar can handle.

Related reading: How to Use a Pole Saw Safely and How to Prune Branches With a Pole Saw.

View on Amazon

Similar Posts