Best Variable-Speed Push Mowers for Hilly Yards

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A variable speed push mower lets you set how fast the machine moves forward, so you can slow down on a slope or speed up across flat turf. Most of the walk-behind models in this group are self-propelled, and their listings state a speed range in miles per hour or describe a speed dial or lever. The eight models below come from our product data, and every fact about them is taken from that listing data. Where a listing does not state a speed range, we say so instead of guessing.

Quick answer

  • The Honda HRX-BV and HRC-BE list a speed range of 0 to 4 mph, and the Honda HRN-BV lists 0 to 3.8 mph.
  • The Ariens Razor lists a REFLEX speed control from 1 to 4 mph.
  • The PowerSmart 40V and 20-inch combo kits and the SENIX 22-inch list variable speed wording, but the speed range is attached to the blower in the PowerSmart listings.
  • The PAPABA 16-inch gas mower lists spike tread tires for traction on inclines, but its listing does not give a speed range.

How to choose a variable speed push mower

Start with what the listing actually controls. A variable speed push mower has a drive system that changes how fast the wheels turn, and listings describe this in different ways. The Honda listings describe a speed dial, a lever or a button, and they state a maximum speed in miles per hour. The Ariens listing describes a speed control that moves between 1 and 4 mph. The PAPABA and SENIX listings use the words variable speed, but they do not give a mile-per-hour figure in the bullets we have, so check the listing before you buy if the exact speed matters to you.

Power source is the next choice. The Honda models run on lithium-ion battery packs, and the listings give run times and battery sizes. The PowerSmart models are battery-powered combo kits with two 4.0Ah batteries in some listings and one in another. The Ariens, PAPABA and SENIX models are gas-powered. The product data gives engine sizes of 132cc for the PAPABA and 201cc for the SENIX, and the Ariens listing does not state an engine size.

Cutting height and bagging are the third set of facts to compare. The PowerSmart mowers list six height positions from 1.5 to 3.9 inches. The Honda HRX-BV lists seven heights from 0.75 to 4 inches, and the HRN-BV lists seven heights from 1 to 4 inches. The SENIX lists six positions from 1.25 to 4 inches. The PAPABA lists eight positions from 25 to 75 millimeters.

Speed control, power and bagging at a glance

The listings do not state the same things, so the comparison is uneven. Here is what each listing states for speed, power and bagging:

  • PowerSmart 40V 17-inch combo: variable speed wording in the title is attached to the blower; the mower lists a steel deck, 3-in-1 operation and push-button start.
  • PowerSmart 40V 20-inch combo: the same blower wording applies; the mower lists 3-in-1 operation and six height positions.
  • Ariens Razor: 1 to 4 mph REFLEX speed control, a 21-inch deck and vertical storage.
  • PAPABA 16-inch gas: variable speed in the title, 132cc engine, and spike tread tires for traction.
  • Honda HRX-BV 21-inch: 0 to 4 mph, an 8Ah battery with up to 30 minutes of run time, and a 2.2-bushel bag.
  • Honda HRC-BE 21-inch: 0 to 4 mph, a 12Ah battery with up to 45 minutes of run time, two battery bays and a 2.5-bushel bag.
  • Honda HRN-BV 21-inch: 0 to 3.8 mph in five positions, an 8Ah battery and a 1.9-bushel bag.
  • SENIX 22-inch gas: variable speed in the title, 201cc OHV engine, and a 22-inch cutting width.

Roundup: eight variable speed push mowers from the product data

PowerSmart 40V 17-Inch Cordless Mower Combo With Blower

This PowerSmart kit includes a 17-inch brushless cordless mower and a 465 CFM leaf blower. The listing says it has a steel deck, 3-in-1 mulching, side discharge and rear bagging, six height positions from 1.5 to 3.9 inches, push-button start and foldable handles. The kit includes two 4.0Ah batteries, two chargers and a grass bag, and the listing says both tools run on the same 40V battery system. The listing says the blower reaches 115 MPH with variable speed, which is the blower’s speed range, not the mower’s. The listing also states a 2-year limited warranty.

This kit suits a homeowner who wants one battery platform for a mower and a blower. Because the listing does not state a mower speed range, check the listing before you buy if you need to match the mower’s pace to a slope.

View on Amazon

PowerSmart 40V 20-Inch Brushless Cordless Mower Combo With Blower

This is the 20-inch version of the PowerSmart combo. Its listing gives the same 3-in-1 mulching, side discharge and rear bagging, six height positions from 1.5 to 3.9 inches and push-button start. The kit includes two 4.0Ah batteries and one charger, plus a 465 CFM blower with variable speed described as up to 465 CFM at 115 MPH. The listing says the mower and blower run on the same 40V battery system and carry a 2-year limited warranty.

The wider deck covers more ground per pass than the 17-inch version. The listing does not give a mower speed range, so the variable speed wording applies to the blower in this listing too.

View on Amazon

Ariens Razor Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Mower

The Ariens Razor has a 21-inch deck with 14-inch dual blades and is described as a walk-behind, self-propelled push mower. Its listing gives a REFLEX speed control that moves between 1 and 4 mph, which is the clearest speed range among the gas models in this roundup. The listing describes seven cutting positions, a 14-gauge steel deck that is 5.5 inches deep for mulching, and a vertical storage design that the listing says saves space. The dual blade system is described with LaserEdge Eversharp technology, which the listing says keeps the primary blade sharp.

This is the model to consider if you want a defined speed range and a compact storage footprint. The listing is a gas walk-behind, so plan for engine maintenance and fuel that the listing does not cover.

View on Amazon

PAPABA 16-Inch Self-Propelled Gas Mower With Spike Tread Tires

The PAPABA is a 16-inch gas mower with a 132cc four-stroke, air-cooled engine that its listing says produces 2.5 kW at 2800 rpm. It is rear-wheel drive, with a variable speed description in the title and a 16-gauge stamped steel deck with a cleanout port. Its listing gives eight height positions from 25 to 75 millimeters and describes mulching, bagging and side discharge.

The listing says its 8-inch front and 11-inch rear rubber tires have deep spike treads that boost traction on wet grass, gravel and inclines, and that the axles use double ball bearings. This is the only listing in the roundup that names inclines in its bullets, but it does not give a speed range or a slope rating, so treat the traction claim as the listing’s statement and nothing more.

View on Amazon

Honda HRX-BV 21-Inch Battery Walk-Behind Mower

The Honda HRX-BV is a 21-inch battery mower whose listing describes a variable speed self-propelled drive. The listing says you adjust speed with a dial and then engage the Select Drive control, with speed from 0 to 4 mph. It comes with an 8Ah lithium-ion battery that the listing says runs up to 30 minutes, or about a quarter acre, per charge, with a 12Ah battery available as an option. It has a dual-lever height adjustment with seven heights between 0.75 and 4 inches, and a 4-in-1 Versamow system that mulches, bags, discharges and leaf-shreds. The bag holds 2.2 bushels.

The listing says the mower has a blade control button and lever, a rear shield and discharge guard, and it turns off after 3 minutes of inactivity. It includes one 2A charger and a wall bracket. The listing states a 5-year residential warranty and a 90-day commercial use warranty.

View on Amazon

Honda HRC-BE 21-Inch Two-Battery Walk-Behind Mower

The Honda HRC-BE is a 21-inch battery mower with two battery bays. Its listing gives a 12Ah lithium-ion battery with up to 45 minutes of run time, or about 0.37 acre, per charge, and says a second battery doubles run time when added. The listing describes an Electric Cruise Control transmission with speed fully adjustable from 0 to 4 mph, and eight cutting heights from 0.75 to 4 inches. It has a 2.5-bushel bag and a mulching plug, and the listing mentions a Roto-Stop feature that lets you use the self-propel function with the blades stopped.

The listing says the mower has a 2.0 kW motor that the listing presents as offering more power and torque than the same brand’s residential mowers. It includes one 2A charger and a wall bracket, and lists a 2-year warranty for residential and commercial settings. It suits a larger lawn where one battery would not be enough.

View on Amazon

Honda HRN-BV 21-Inch Battery Walk-Behind Mower

The Honda HRN-BV is the 21-inch battery mower in this roundup with a Smart Drive variable speed control. Its listing says you adjust the speed with five positions and that the speed runs from 0 to 3.8 mph, so the top speed is a little lower than the 4 mph on the HRX-BV and HRC-BE. It uses an 8Ah lithium-ion battery with up to 30 minutes of run time, or about a quarter acre, per charge. The height adjustment has seven positions from 1 to 4 inches, and the bag holds 1.9 bushels.

The listing says the mower uses a twin blade MicroCut System with four cutting surfaces and a sliding Clip Director for choosing between mulching, bagging and discharge. It includes one 2A charger and a wall bracket, and the listing states a 3-year residential warranty with a 90-day commercial use warranty. Choose this model if you want Honda battery mowing with a slightly smaller bag and a lower top speed.

View on Amazon

SENIX 22-Inch Variable Speed Rear-Wheel Self-Propelled Gas Mower

The SENIX is a 22-inch gas mower with a 201cc four-stroke OHV engine and a three-in-one steel chassis that handles shredding, side feed and rear bagging. Its title describes it as variable speed and rear-wheel self-propelled. The listing gives six height positions from 1.25 to 4 inches, with a single-handle, four-wheel synchronized height adjustment. The listing says the 22-inch cutting width gives faster cuts across open lawn.

The listing states a 2-year warranty and says it is easy to install with the instruction manual. It does not give a mile-per-hour speed range in the bullets we have, so ask the seller or the manufacturer if you need a specific pace. If you want a wide gas mower with a self-propel drive, this is the listing in the group with the widest cut.

View on Amazon

Who each mower suits

A homeowner with a flat lawn and a need for a wide cut will look at the SENIX 22-inch or the Honda HRC-BE, since the SENIX lists the widest deck in this group and the Honda lists the longest battery run time on a single pack with a second bay. A homeowner who wants a defined speed range on a gas mower will look at the Ariens Razor, which lists 1 to 4 mph. A homeowner who wants one battery platform for a mower and a blower will look at the PowerSmart combos, with the understanding that the listed speed range belongs to the blower.

For a sloped yard, the listings give the least guidance. The PAPABA is the one listing that names inclines and spike tread tires, but it does not give a slope rating. The Honda models list a speed range that you can set lower for slower control, which may matter more than traction if your yard is steep. Stay at the lower end of the speed range and mow across a slope only where the listing and your own judgment say it is safe.

Mistakes to avoid with a variable speed push mower

  • Assuming the speed range on a combo kit applies to the mower. In the PowerSmart listings the 115 MPH variable speed wording belongs to the blower.
  • Choosing a battery mower with only one pack when the listing gives a short run time. The Honda HRX-BV lists up to 30 minutes per charge, while the HRC-BE lists up to 45 minutes and a second battery bay.
  • Ignoring the bag size. The Honda bags range from 1.9 to 2.5 bushels across the three Honda models, so a larger lawn may need the larger bag.
  • Skipping the blade safety features. The Honda listings describe a blade control button and lever, and the Honda HRC-BE adds a Roto-Stop option that lets you self-propel with the blades stopped.
  • Expecting a slope rating from a listing that does not give one. Read the listing for the traction and speed details before you mow a steep area.

Bottom line

If you want a stated speed range on a mower, choose from the Honda models, which list 0 to 4 mph or 0 to 3.8 mph, or the Ariens Razor, which lists 1 to 4 mph. If you want a wide cut with a gas engine, the SENIX 22-inch is the widest deck in this group. If you already own a 40V tool platform, the PowerSmart combos are worth comparing, but read the speed wording as applying to the blower. For a steep yard, confirm the speed control and traction details on the listing before you buy.

FAQ

What does variable speed mean on a push mower?

It means the drive system lets you change the forward speed of the mower. The Honda and Ariens listings describe this as a speed dial, lever or control with a stated range in miles per hour. Some listings use the term to describe a blower or only a general feature, so check where the speed range is stated.

Which model has the highest listed top speed?

The Honda HRX-BV and HRC-BE list a top speed of 4 mph. The Honda HRN-BV lists 3.8 mph. The Ariens Razor lists a range of 1 to 4 mph. The listings for the PowerSmart kits and the PAPABA and SENIX models do not give a mower speed range in the bullets we have.

Do these mowers need gas?

No. The Honda and PowerSmart models are battery powered. The Ariens, PAPABA and SENIX models are gas powered, and their listings give engine sizes of 132cc for the PAPABA and 201cc for the SENIX.

How long does a Honda battery last on one charge?

The HRX-BV and HRN-BV listings state up to 30 minutes of run time, or about a quarter acre, per charge on an 8Ah battery. The HRC-BE lists up to 45 minutes, or about 0.37 acre, on a 12Ah battery. Run time depends on mowing conditions, as the listings note.

Can I use these mowers on a slope?

The listings do not give a slope rating for any model in this roundup. The PAPABA listing says its spike tread tires boost traction on inclines. For any slope, read the listing and mow carefully, and avoid steep areas that the listing does not cover.

Do these mowers include a grass bag?

Most do. The Honda listings include a grass bag with a stated capacity of 1.9, 2.2 or 2.5 bushels. The PowerSmart combo lists a grass bag. The PAPABA and SENIX listings describe bagging among their modes. The Ariens listing does not mention a bag in the bullets we have.

For a closer look at how these speed controls work in practice, see our guide to adjusting self-propelled mower speed. For a gas model with a wide deck, the CRAFTSMAN electric push lawn mower review compares a different drive style.

Similar Posts