Best Wide Push Mowers for Covering Large Lawns

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A wide push mower is a walk-behind model with a larger cutting deck, so each mower covers more grass per pass. This roundup compares eight powered push mowers from the pack, ranked by the cutting width each listing states. The stated widths run from about 16 inches to 21 inches. None of the listing titles uses the word “wide”, so the cutting width in the specification line is the measure used here, and the article notes where the listing figures disagree.

Quick answer

  • The widest decks in this group are 21 inches, on the PowerSmart gas mower, the EGO cordless mower and the Greenworks 60V mower.
  • Battery mowers in this group ship with a battery and charger in most kits, while the gas models need oil and fuel, and the SENIX listing says oil and tools are included.
  • Height settings range from three positions to seven, and bagging options range from rear bagging alone to mulching plus side discharge.
  • Warranty terms run from 2 years to 4 years, and several listings disagree with themselves, so check the warranty line before you buy.

How to choose a wide push mower

Start with the lawn. A 21-inch deck covers more ground per pass, but it is heavier and harder to fit through narrow gaps between beds and fences. The Greenworks 60V listing states a weight of 59.5 pounds, the heaviest figure in this group, while the EGO and MZK listings do not state a weight. If you have many tight corners, a 16- or 17-inch deck may suit you better, even though it takes more passes.

Next, look at the power source. Gas models such as the PowerSmart and SENIX mowers run on fuel, and the PowerSmart listing says its recommended oil is 10W-30 and not included. Battery models run on lithium-ion packs, and the battery life figures in the listings range from 35 to 45 minutes. Those figures depend on grass conditions and the operator, and the listings say so.

Then check what happens to the clippings. Some listings offer rear bagging only, some offer mulching with rear bagging, and some offer a 3-in-1 system that includes side discharge. If you plan to mulch, pick a model that states mulching in its features list. If you plan to bag, check the bag capacity and whether the bag is removable.

Height settings and cutting range

Height adjustment controls how tall the grass is left after a pass. The listings give different numbers of positions. The SENIX gas mower has three positions, from 1.35 to 3.15 inches. The Greenworks 40V 17-inch mower lists six cutting heights. The EGO mower has seven positions, from 1.25 to 4 inches. The Greenworks 48V mower has five positions, which the bullet describes as 1-3/8 to 3-3/4 inches. Choose a mower whose range covers both the height you want for regular cutting and the taller grass you expect after a dry spell.

Power and runtime

The battery models in this group give runtime figures of 35 to 45 minutes. The EGO listing says up to 35 minutes on a 56V 4.0Ah battery. The Greenworks 48V kit uses two 4.0Ah batteries and the listing states up to 45 minutes. The MZK listing says up to 45 minutes with two 20V 4.0Ah batteries. The Greenworks 60V mower has a 5.0Ah battery and charger, and the listing gives a blade speed of 3200 RPM. The gas models do not give runtime, because they run on fuel. They do need oil and gas, and the PowerSmart listing gives a fuel tank capacity of 0.21 gallons.

Warranty comparison

The gas PowerSmart mower lists a two-year limited warranty. The SENIX mower lists a two-year manufacturer warranty. Several Greenworks models state a 3-year warranty on the tool and battery, and the 60V model states 4 years. Some Greenworks listings give conflicting figures, for example the 48V kit’s bullet gives 3 years while its specification sheet gives 2 years. Read the warranty line for the exact model you buy.

The eight wide push mowers in this roundup

Greenworks 60V 21-inch push lawn mower with battery and charger

This is the widest battery model in the group. The listing gives a cutting width of 20.28 inches in its specification line, while the title says 21 inches, so treat the two as the same deck size. The listing says the mower includes a 5.0Ah battery and a charger, along with a grass bag. The deck is steel, and the listing describes it as IPX4 weather resistant. It offers mulching, bagging, side discharge and a turbo leaf mode. The listing describes oversized 10-inch rear wheels and 8-inch front tires, plus LED headlights. It weighs 59.5 pounds, which is the heaviest model in this group. The warranty is listed as 4 years for the tool and battery.

View on Amazon

PowerSmart 21-inch 3-in-1 gas push lawn mower

This gas mower has a 21-inch cutting deck and a 140cc Briggs and Stratton four-stroke engine, according to the title and bullets. The listing says the mower can side discharge, rear bag or mulch, and it has a steel deck. The listing gives six height adjustments from 1.5 to 3.9 inches. The listing says there is no need to mix oil and gas for this engine. The recommended oil is 10W-30 and is not included, and the fuel tank holds 0.21 gallons. The listing gives a model number of B8621P, and it does not state a weight. The listing does not give a warranty length in the bullets, so check the warranty line before ordering.

View on Amazon

EGO Power+ 21-inch cordless push lawn mower with battery and charger

The EGO mower has a 21-inch deck and comes with a 56V 4.0Ah battery and charger. The listing gives up to 35 minutes of run time on a single charge. It offers 7 cutting height positions from 1.25 to 4 inches, and it has a brushless motor. The listing gives 6.0 ft-lbs of cutting torque, a 3-in-1 function for mulching, bagging and side discharge, push-button start, LED headlights and an adjustable handle height. It carries an IPX4 weather rating. The item type name in the listing says 22-inch, while the bullet and the cutting width specification say 21 inches, so check the deck size on the product page before you buy. The listing does not state the weight.

View on Amazon

SENIX 20-inch gas push mower with 144cc engine

The SENIX mower is a 20-inch gas model with a 144cc four-cycle engine. The listing says oil and tools are in the box, so you can start mowing after assembly. The cutting width is 20 inches, and the listing describes a 2-in-1 design with mulching and side discharge. It has three height positions from 1.35 to 3.15 inches, and its 7-inch front and rear wheels are described as giving traction on slopes. The item weighs 39.3 pounds. The listing gives a 2-year manufacturer warranty. The listing says the mower suits a quarter-acre yard, and it names stainless steel as the material.

View on Amazon

Greenworks 40V 17-inch push lawn mower with battery and charger

This 40V model has a 17-inch deck and a brushless motor, and the title says it includes a 4.0Ah battery and charger. The listing gives six cutting heights adjusted with one lever, and it says the mower works in mulch or bag mode. The specification line gives a cutting width of 16.14 inches, which is narrower than the title suggests, so check the width before you compare. The listing says the mower is suited to yards up to 1/4 acre and gives 35 minutes of battery life. It states a 3-year limited warranty for the tool and battery. The height specifications in the listing conflict with each other, so confirm the cutting range before ordering.

View on Amazon

Greenworks 48V 17-inch push lawn mower with two batteries

This Greenworks kit is a 48V mower made from two 24V batteries of 4.0Ah each. The listing describes a 17-inch poly deck that is 40 percent lighter than steel decks, and it says the deck can hang on a wall for garage storage. It offers five cutting positions, which the bullet gives as 1-3/8 inches to 3-3/4 inches. The listing says the mower can mulch or rear bag. The battery average life is listed as 45 minutes. It includes a dual-port rapid charger. The bullet describes a 3-year warranty, while the specification line gives 2 years, so check which one applies to the kit you buy. The item weighs 42.5 pounds.

View on Amazon

MZK 40V 16-inch 2-in-1 cordless push mower

The MZK mower has a 16-inch cutting width and a brushless motor that the listing rates at up to 3400 RPM. It uses two 20V 4.0Ah batteries, and the listing gives up to 45 minutes of runtime on a full charge. The kit includes a dual-port charger and a grass bag. The listing gives two different bag sizes: one bullet describes an 11-gallon bag, and another describes a 40L removable rear bag. It also gives two different height ranges, 1.4 to 3 inches in one bullet and 1 to 4 inches in the specification line. The listing describes a two-step safety start and a handle height of 42 inches. It does not state the weight.

View on Amazon

Greenworks 40V 16-inch push lawn mower with battery and charger

This is the narrowest deck in the roundup, at 16 inches in the title and 15.67 inches in the specification line. The listing says the mower includes a 4.0Ah battery, a charger and a grass collection bag. It gives five height positions, from 1.25 to 3.75 inches, and it offers mulching and rear bagging. The listing says the mower cuts up to one-third of an acre on a full charge, depending on grass and technique. The listing describes the mower as ultra lightweight, 35 percent lighter than steel-deck models, and gives a weight of 37.5 pounds. The listing gives a 3-year warranty. It is the right size for a smaller lawn where a narrower deck is easier to handle.

View on Amazon

Mistakes to avoid

  • Choosing by the title width alone. Some listings give a different width in the title and the specification line. The Greenworks 17-inch and 16-inch models both list narrower cutting widths in the specs than in the title.
  • Trusting a single height figure. The MZK and Greenworks 17-inch listings give conflicting height ranges, so confirm the range on the product page.
  • Ignoring the battery count. The Greenworks 48V and MZK kits need two batteries, and the listings describe them that way. Count what is in the box before you compare runtime.
  • Forgetting the fuel and oil. The gas models need fuel, and the PowerSmart and SENIX listings describe the oil and fuel differently, so check what the box includes.

FAQ

What is the widest push mower in this roundup?

The PowerSmart gas model, the EGO cordless model and the Greenworks 60V mower all list a 21-inch deck in the title. The Greenworks 60V specification line gives 20.28 inches, and the EGO specification line gives 21 inches.

Do I need to buy a battery with these mowers?

Most of the battery models in this group include a battery and charger, according to their titles. The Greenworks 48V and MZK models include two batteries. Gas mowers do not need a battery, but they do need fuel and oil.

How many height settings should I look for?

The listings give three to seven positions. A seven-position EGO deck gives the widest range, and a three-position SENIX deck is simpler. The number matters less than whether the lowest and highest settings suit your grass.

Can these mowers mulch?

Most of the battery models and the PowerSmart gas model state mulching in the listing. The SENIX listing describes mulching and side discharge. Check the features line on the model you choose.

How long does the battery last?

The listings give runtimes of 35 to 45 minutes for the battery models, and they say the figure depends on grass conditions and technique. Plan for a shorter run on thick grass.

Which warranty is the longest?

The Greenworks 60V listing states a 4-year warranty on the tool and battery. Several other Greenworks models state 3 years, and the gas models state 2 years. Confirm the warranty line for the exact model before you buy.

Bottom line

If you want the widest cut and a battery in the box, look at the Greenworks 60V, the EGO or the PowerSmart gas model. If the lawn is smaller or the yard has tight corners, a 16- or 17-inch model from Greenworks or MZK is easier to handle. Check the height range, the bag size and the warranty line on the exact model before you order, because several listings disagree with themselves.

For more on the mowers in this group, read CRAFTSMAN Electric Push Lawn Mower Review. For a closer look at battery life on cordless mowers, see Making a Cordless Mower Battery Last Longer.

Similar Posts