Best BLACK+DECKER Electric Chainsaw 18 Inch

Best BLACK+DECKER Electric Chainsaw 18 Inch

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A search for best black decker electric chainsaw corded 18 inch points to one product: BLACK+DECKER’s CS1518, a corded chainsaw with an 18-inch bar and a 15-amp motor. The listing states the motor, the bar length, an automatic oiler, tool-free chain tensioning and a 2-year limited warranty. It gives no weight and no chain speed. The bullets say the saw suits branches up to 18 inches thick, and the title calls it lightweight, but neither claim comes with a spec line to back it. This post covers what the listing says, what it leaves out, and when this saw is the wrong buy.

Quick answer

  • The listing describes one corded electric chainsaw, model CS1518, with a 15-amp motor and an 18-inch bar.
  • Power comes from a cord, so the saw suits trimming and limbing at a spot an outlet can reach. The listing names no battery and gives no runtime.
  • The listing names an automatic oiler, tool-free chain tensioning, a low-kickback bar and chain, and a 2-year limited warranty.
  • Skip it if you need a stated weight or chain speed before you buy, or if most of your work is far from power.

The product at a glance

The table lists only what the listing states, as read on 2026-10-23. Where the listing is silent, the cell says not stated.

Item What the listing states
Brand BLACK+DECKER
Model number CS1518
Power source Corded electric
Motor 15-amp, from the title and the first bullet; motor type not stated
Bar length 18 inches (title)
Cutting claim Branches up to 18 inches thick (bullet)
Battery and charger Not applicable to a corded saw; none named
Weight not stated (the title says lightweight)
Chain speed not stated
Oiling Automatic oiler with an oil level indicator window; oil capacity not stated
Chain tensioning Tool-free (bullet)
Kickback features Low-kickback bar and chain (bullet); chain brake not stated
Start Push start button (bullet)
Cord control Extension cord retainer (bullet)
Included items Guide bar scabbard named; full list not stated
Warranty 2-year limited warranty (bullet); terms not stated

View on Amazon

Read the table as a list of gaps as much as a list of features. Weight, chain speed, motor type and warranty terms are all marked not stated, and those are the rows that decide whether a corded 18-inch saw suits heavier or longer work.

Who it suits

This saw fits a homeowner who needs to prune and limb trees, or cut branches, at a spot an outlet can reach. The listing names tree pruning and branch cutting as its uses, and it gives an 18-inch bar as the cutting length. If most of your jobs sit on the far side of the yard, the cord will settle the question before the saw does.

The listing says the bar and chain are low-kickback, and it says the tensioning is tool-free, so chain adjustment does not need a separate tool. Those are useful points for a saw used by someone who is not a professional. They are still the listing’s claims, and the listing gives no spec line that would let you check them against another saw.

If your cutting is mostly overhead, a pole saw may suit you better. Our Seesii vs EGO Power+ pole saw comparison looks at that tool, and the safety section below explains why overhead cutting needs extra care.

Matching the saw to the job

Think about three kinds of work. The first is limbing and pruning branches that sit within reach from the ground or a short ladder. For that job, the 18-inch bar is the figure to check against the thickest limb, and the cord is the only other limit. The second is overhead cutting. The listing gives no reach or height figure, and the safety pages advise against overhead work, so a longer-reach tool is the better choice for that job. The third is occasional clearing of fallen wood. A corded saw suits that work only when one outlet and one cord can reach the whole pile, and the listing says nothing about how far a cord will reach.

Before you order

  • Measure the distance from your outlet to the farthest branch, because the listing does not give a cord length.
  • Compare the thickest branch you plan to cut with the 18-inch bar.
  • Ask the seller about the weight and the chain brake, since the listing gives no weight figure and names no chain brake.
  • Ask what the 2-year limited warranty covers, because the listing states the length and nothing else.

Before the first cut

The extension pages we opened name kickback as the main hazard with any chainsaw. Penn State Extension says kickback is a leading cause of chainsaw injuries, and it advises against cutting above shoulder height because overhead work raises the risk of kickback and recoil. Oklahoma State University Extension asks users to check that the chain brake is on before starting, to keep both hands on the saw, and to wear eye protection with wrap-around lenses.

The listing names a low-kickback bar and chain, but it does not name a chain brake. The Agricultural Safety and Health page describes chain brakes as a feature of gas chainsaws that stops the chain when kickback occurs. Ask the seller or check the manufacturer’s documentation before you assume this model has one. Cornell Small Farms adds that kickback-reducing devices lower the risk without removing it, and that the guide bar nose should stay clear of logs, branches and the ground while the saw runs.

Routine checks

The listing supports three checks you can make before each session. Look at the oil level window, because the saw has an automatic oiler and the window is how the listing says you gauge oil use. Check the chain tension by hand, since the listing says the tensioning is tool-free and adjusts the chain quickly. Keep the guide bar scabbard on the bar when the saw is stored or moved, because the listing says the scabbard protects the tool in storage and during transportation. The listing gives no maintenance interval, so anything beyond these checks should come from the seller or the manufacturer’s documentation.

Skip it if

  • You need a weight or chain speed before you buy. The listing gives neither, so you cannot compare this saw with another on those points.
  • Your cutting happens far from an outlet. The saw runs on a cord, and the listing does not state how long that cord is.
  • You plan to cut mostly overhead. Penn State Extension advises against that kind of cutting, and a pole saw may suit the job better; see our EGO Power+ vs Autubin pole saw comparison.
  • You want a saw that shares a battery you already own. This model is corded, and the listing names no battery.

What the listing does not say

Battery and charger. The saw is corded, so no battery or charger is named. The listing does not mention either one.

Runtime. A corded saw runs on the cord rather than a battery, and the listing gives no run time, cut count or duration of any kind.

Cord. The listing names an extension cord retainer but gives no cord length and no cord gauge. How far the saw reaches depends on your outlet and on whatever cord you connect.

Weight. The title says lightweight, but the listing gives no weight figure. That is the largest gap for anyone who carries the saw up a ladder or works with it for long periods.

Motor and speed. The listing states a 15-amp motor. It does not name the motor type or the chain speed.

Oil. The oil level window is named, but the size of the oil tank is not.

Chain brake. The listing names a low-kickback bar and chain and does not name a chain brake.

Included items. The listing names a guide bar scabbard. It does not give a full list of what comes in the box.

Warranty terms. The listing states a 2-year limited warranty. It does not say what the warranty covers or how to make a claim.

How we chose

This post covers one product: the BLACK+DECKER corded chainsaw with ASIN B00TJ3FBHG, listed under model CS1518. It is in the post because its listing matches the keyword and gives a model number, a motor rating, a bar length and a warranty term. Those specifics let this post describe the saw without guessing at the rest.

The listing was read on 2026-10-23. This post uses only its title, bullet points and specification lines. Prices, ratings, seller details and images were not recorded and are not used. We did not rank this saw against other chainsaws, and we do not call it the best 18-inch corded model. The safety points come from university extension and Cornell Small Farms pages opened on 2026-10-22, and they describe chainsaws in general.

The criteria were plain. The listing had to match the keyword, name a model, state a motor rating and a bar length, and carry enough detail to describe the saw without guessing. This post covers one saw, so no other model appears in it, and a reader who wants a side-by-side view should look for a comparison page rather than read this one as a ranking.

What we could not verify

The sources we opened do not cover this model. The listing is the only source with figures for this saw, so this post cannot confirm the weight, the chain speed, the oil capacity, the cord length or how the low-kickback bar performs in use.

The bullets make claims about cutting capacity and about low kickback. Those are the listing’s own statements, and this post reports them as claims. It does not confirm them.

The extension pages do not mention BLACK+DECKER or the CS1518, so the safety section is general guidance about chainsaws and not a statement about this saw’s features.

The sources we opened give no typical cut rate or session length for a corded 18-inch saw of this kind. This post does not offer one, and a reader who needs that figure should look for a listing or manufacturer page that states it.

FAQ

Is the BLACK+DECKER CS1518 a good corded chainsaw for pruning?

The listing names tree pruning and branch cutting as uses, along with an 18-inch bar and a low-kickback bar and chain. Those are the listing’s claims. Whether the saw suits your pruning depends on how close an outlet can reach the branches and on how many of the cuts are overhead.

Does the saw come with a battery?

No battery is named. The CS1518 is a corded saw, and the listing does not mention a battery or a charger, so there is nothing to confirm on that point.

Does this saw have a chain brake?

The listing does not name a chain brake. It names a low-kickback bar and chain. Ask the seller to confirm the braking feature before you rely on it, because the Agricultural Safety and Health page describes chain brakes as a feature of gas chainsaws.

How heavy is the saw?

The listing gives no weight. The title calls the saw lightweight, which is a description and not a figure. Check the weight with the seller or the store before you buy if you plan to carry the saw for long periods.

How long is the warranty?

The listing names a 2-year limited warranty and nothing about its terms. It does not say what the warranty covers, what it excludes or how to make a claim.

Can this saw cut logs wider than the bar?

The listing does not describe how the saw handles logs wider than its 18-inch bar. Compare the thickest log you plan to cut with the bar length before you start, and keep the bar nose clear of the ground, as the Cornell Small Farms page advises.

Bottom line

Buy this saw only if an outlet can reach every cut you plan to make and you can accept a weight the listing does not give. If an outlet cannot reach the work, skip it.

Sources

  • BLACK+DECKER Electric Chainsaw Corded, 18-Inch, 15-Amp, Amazon listing (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00TJ3FBHG
  • Chainsaw safety is vital during storm cleanup | Oklahoma State University (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/articles/2023/chainsaw_safety
  • The Dangers of Using Chainsaws | Penn State Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.psu.edu/the-dangers-of-using-chainsaws
  • Chainsaw Safety | Agricultural Safety and Health (opened 2026-10-22) https://ag-safety.extension.org/chainsaw-safety/
  • Chainsaw Safety, Part 4: Reducing the Risk of Chainsaw Kickback | Cornell Small Farms (opened 2026-10-22) https://smallfarms.cornell.edu/2018/06/chainsaw-safety-part-4-reducing-the-risk-of-chainsaw-kickback-just-say-no-to-kickback-2

Similar Posts