Best DW Cordless Edger

Best DW Cordless Edger

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you are searching for best dw cordless edger, you probably want a battery edger that cuts a crisp line along a walk, driveway or lawn border without a cord or a gas engine. This DEWALT tool is a bare unit. The listing says “Bare tool only” and “Battery Sold Separately,” so the battery and charger are a separate purchase. The listing gives a 3-position depth adjustment for cuts up to 2 inches deep and an item weight of 10 pounds, but no runtime and no blade size. This review covers only this one tool, using its listing, the DEWALT tool-only page and two Oklahoma State University Extension pages.

Quick answer

  • Buy it only if you already own a DEWALT 20V MAX battery and charger. The listing says the battery is sold separately, and the DEWALT tool-only page says the item does not include a battery or charger.
  • The depth limit is consistent across both sources. The listing and the DEWALT page each give 3 depth positions and a maximum cut of 2 inches. A deeper trench is outside this tool.
  • The listing gives no runtime, no blade size and no product dimensions. Get those from the seller or the manufacturer before you order.
  • The listing says not to use the product in wet or slippery conditions. Plan your edging for dry days.

The product at a glance

The table uses only what the listing states, with the DEWALT tool-only page noted where it adds a fact. Where neither source is silent, the cell says “not stated”.

Item What the listing states
Brand DEWALT
Model number DCED400B (listing’s product description)
Product type Cordless edger, bare tool (“Bare tool only”)
Battery platform 20V MAX lithium ion XR (listing)
Battery included No (“Battery Sold Separately”)
Charger included Not stated on the listing; the DEWALT tool-only page says the item does not include a battery or charger
Motor Brushless (“High-efficiency brushless motor”)
Depth adjustment 3 positions; cuts up to 2 in. deep
Edge guide Yes (“Edge guide designed for long blade life and cutting accuracy”)
Handle Adjustable bail handle
Nominal voltage 18 volts (DEWALT tool-only page); the listing names the 20V MAX platform
Item weight 10 pounds
Product dimensions not stated
Blade diameter not stated
Runtime not stated
Color Multi
Material Blend
Warranty not stated; “DEWALT GUARANTEED TOUGH” appears as a heading, not as a term
Wet-condition rule Do not use in wet or slippery conditions (listing)

The listing says the tool is bare and the battery is sold separately. It states the depth figure, the brushless motor and the weight. It does not give dimensions, blade size or runtime, so those are the first gaps to close before you buy.

The depth figure is a maximum. The listing says the tool cuts up to 2 inches deep, but it does not say how that depth is measured, or whether the depth holds on a curb, an asphalt edge or a soft lawn border. Treat 2 inches as the ceiling for the setting, and check the actual cut on your own edge before you rely on it.

View on Amazon

Who it suits

This edger suits one buyer well: someone who already owns DEWALT 20V MAX batteries, wants a battery edger for clean lines along paths and drives, and can keep each cut within 2 inches of depth.

Existing DEWALT 20V MAX owners

Because the tool ships bare, the purchase question is whether you already have a compatible pack and charger. If you do, the decision is about the tool alone. The same logic applies to other bare DEWALT tools, and our guide to pole hedge trimmers that run on existing DeWalt 20V Max batteries covers that choice for a different tool.

Clean lines along walks and drives

The listing says the edge guide is designed for long blade life and cutting accuracy. That is the feature to judge the tool by when the job is a straight edge along a walk or drive. Oklahoma State University Extension says edgers can be dangerous around gravel, trash and other debris, so check the edge for loose material before you start.

Edges up to two inches deep

The three depth positions cover cuts up to 2 inches deep, as both the listing and the DEWALT page state. A depth limit like that suits a shallow border or a walk edge. For a deeper cut, this tool is the wrong one, and no source in this post says otherwise.

Users who want a comfortable grip

The listing includes an adjustable bail handle and says you can change the grip for the most comfortable experience. That matters on a tool you use along a long edge. The listing does not say how many grip positions the handle has.

Skip it if

Several buyers should choose a different tool. Each reason below ties to a fact from the listing or from a source.

  • You do not already own a compatible DEWALT 20V MAX battery and charger. The listing says the battery is sold separately, and the DEWALT page says no charger is included. Your first purchase would be the battery and charger.
  • You need a cut deeper than 2 inches. Both the listing and the DEWALT page give 2 inches as the depth limit.
  • You work in wet or slippery conditions. The listing rules those conditions out.
  • You need a runtime figure before you buy. The listing gives none. The DEWALT tool-only page refers to a battery that is sold separately, so the runtime depends on the pack you choose.
  • You need a warranty term before you buy. The listing names none.

Battery and charger matching is the question that decides this purchase, so our guide to batteries and chargers for DEWALT leaf blowers explains why the battery platform matters as much as the tool, and the same logic applies here.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Ordering the bare tool and expecting a battery in the box. The listing says “Battery Sold Separately,” and the DEWALT page says the item does not include a battery or charger.
  • Reading “20V MAX” as if it were 20 volts. The DEWALT tool-only page gives a nominal voltage of 18 volts, so match the pack to the platform name and confirm it with the seller.
  • Working in wet or slippery conditions. The listing rules that out.
  • Starting without reading the manual. Oklahoma State University Extension says to be sure to read the operator’s guide before using any lawn tool.
  • Edging with children or pets nearby. Oklahoma State University Extension says to make sure children and pets aren’t in the area.
  • Skipping protective clothing. The listing says to wear appropriate safety gear, including gloves and eye protection, and the Oklahoma State teen fact sheet says long pants and long sleeves help protect you from injury.

What the listing does not say

The listing is clear about what is missing from the box. It is silent on most of the numbers a buyer uses to compare cordless edgers.

Edge guide

The listing says the edge guide is designed for long blade life and cutting accuracy. It does not say how the guide is adjusted, whether it rides on a curb, or how long a blade lasts in use.

Battery and charger

The listing says “Bare tool only” and “Battery Sold Separately.” It does not name a battery model or a charger. The DEWALT tool-only page names a DCB204 4.0Ah battery, sold separately, in connection with its edging figure, but the listing itself does not name that pack. Treat the battery as an open purchase until you confirm the pack you will use.

Runtime and edging rate

The listing gives no runtime and no edging rate. Any runtime figure you find elsewhere should be checked against the battery named with it, because the DEWALT page ties its edging figure to a separately sold pack.

Blade and dimensions

The listing gives no blade diameter, no blade type and no product dimensions. It gives an item weight of 10 pounds and a model number, DCED400B.

Voltage label

The listing names the 20V MAX lithium ion XR platform. The DEWALT tool-only page gives a nominal voltage of 18 volts. Both labels come from the same manufacturer, and neither source explains how the two relate in practice.

Warranty

The listing does not state a warranty term. The phrase “DEWALT GUARANTEED TOUGH” appears as a heading and does not describe a term, coverage or claim process.

Before you order

Four checks cover most of the open questions above. Each one starts from a fact the listing or the manufacturer gives.

  • Confirm you have a compatible DEWALT 20V MAX battery and charger, since neither is included.
  • Confirm that a 2-inch maximum depth covers the edge you plan to cut.
  • Plan for dry ground, because the listing rules out wet or slippery conditions.
  • Read the operator’s guide before first use, as Oklahoma State University Extension advises for any lawn tool.
  • Ask the seller for the blade size, runtime figure and warranty terms in writing.

How we chose

This post covers one product: the DEWALT DW cordless edger, bare tool, ASIN B09Y9KQ8CT, model DCED400B. The keyword names this tool, so the post does not compare it with other edgers and does not rank it.

The product is a cordless edger in the Trimmers, Edgers and Blowers category. The site’s stored product file did not contain this ASIN, so the listing was read live on 2026-10-23. Its title, bullets, specification fields and safety text were saved for this post, and the data is dated 2026-10-23.

The DEWALT tool-only page covers this exact model. The two Oklahoma State University Extension pages cover edger safety in general. All three were opened on 2026-10-22. Their text is saved in the research file for this post.

What we could not verify

The listing and the sources we opened do not answer every question a buyer will ask about this edger. The points below are not confirmed.

  • Runtime and edging rate with any battery, and how the edger performs on clay, asphalt or wet edges. The listing makes no claim for these conditions.
  • Whether the 2-inch depth holds on every edge surface. The listing does not say how the depth is measured.
  • Blade diameter, blade type and product dimensions.
  • Warranty terms and coverage.
  • Whether the 20V MAX label and the 18-volt nominal figure have any effect on the tool’s performance.
  • Which battery and charger packs the seller will include, if any, beyond what the listing states.

FAQ

Does the DW cordless edger come with a battery and charger?

No. The listing says “Bare tool only” and “Battery Sold Separately.” The DEWALT tool-only page says the item does not include a battery or charger.

What is the maximum cutting depth?

Both the listing and the DEWALT page give 2 inches as the maximum depth. The tool has three depth positions within that limit.

Is it compatible with DEWALT 20V MAX batteries?

The listing names the DEWALT 20V MAX lithium ion XR platform. Confirm that the pack you own is on that platform before you order, and check the pack label rather than relying on the name alone.

Can I use it on wet grass or on wet edges?

Wet or slippery ground is outside the conditions the listing allows, so plan your edging for dry days.

What protection should I wear when I use it?

The listing says to wear appropriate safety gear, including gloves and eye protection. Oklahoma State University Extension says to wear protective clothing when operating an edger, and its teen fact sheet says long pants and long sleeves help protect you from injury.

Is there a warranty on this edger?

The listing does not state a warranty term. Ask the seller or the manufacturer for the terms in writing before you buy.

Bottom line

Buy this edger only if you already own a DEWALT 20V MAX battery and charger and the cut you need is no deeper than 2 inches. If you do not own the platform, budget for the battery and charger before you choose this tool.

Sources

  • Amazon.com listing: DW Cordless Edger (Bare) (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09Y9KQ8CT
  • 20V MAX Brushless Cordless Edger (Tool Only), DEWALT (opened 2026-10-22) https://www.dewalt.com/en-us/product/dced400b/20v-max-brushless-cordless-edger-tool-only
  • Beyond The Mower: Safe Use Of Trimmers, Edgers And Blowers, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/announcements/grow-gardening-columns/2025/august-24-2025.html
  • Lawn Care Safety and Basic Maintenance Tips for Teens, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/fact-sheets/lawn-care-safety-and-basic-maintenance-tips-for-teens

Similar Posts