Best Greenworks 40V 8 in Pole Saw

Best Greenworks 40V 8 in Pole Saw

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Searching for the best Greenworks 40V 8 in pole saw? The direct answer: this is a battery-powered combo kit with an 8-inch bar and chain for pruning branches, plus a 20-inch dual-action blade on a 7-position pivoting pole hedge trimmer head. The kit includes one 2.0Ah lithium-ion battery, a charger and an owner’s manual, and the listing gives a 3-year warranty. The listing does not give a pole length, a branch diameter rating or a runtime, so reach and capacity cannot be checked from it. This review covers one kit, using listing data stored on 2026-10-12.

Quick answer

  • The kit is a 40V, battery-powered combo: a pole saw with an 8-inch bar and chain, and a pole hedge trimmer head with a 20-inch blade.
  • One lithium-ion battery and a charger are included, according to the listing’s included-components line.
  • The listing gives no pole length, no branch diameter rating and no runtime, so you cannot judge reach or cut capacity from it alone.
  • The listing states a 3-year warranty in its wording. The terms themselves are not in the listing.

The product at a glance

The table lists only what the listing states. Where the listing is silent, the cell says not stated. The stored record was last checked on 2026-10-12.

Item What the listing states
Brand and model Greenworks, model PSPH40B210, set name Combo Kit (2.0Ah)
Power source Battery powered; the listing says no gas, no oil and no emissions
Voltage 40 volts
Battery One lithium-ion battery, included; battery capacity 2 amp-hours (the amperage field reads 2 A)
Pole saw head 8-inch bar and chain
Pole hedge trimmer head 20-inch dual-action blade; 7-position pivoting head
Chain tensioning Easy-adjust tensioning
Chain oiling Automatic oiler (listing says it oils the bar and chain)
Included components Pole saw, hedge trimmer head, blade cover, battery, charger, owner’s manual
Item weight 11 pounds (the listing does not say whether this includes the battery)
Warranty 3-year manufacturer warranty (listing wording)
Pole length not stated
Maximum branch diameter not stated
Runtime per charge not stated
Charge time not stated
Motor type not stated
Bar, chain and blade material not stated

View on Amazon

Two heads on one battery

The listing describes one combo kit, with a pole saw head and a pole hedge trimmer head, and it lists one lithium-ion battery as required and included. The two heads share the battery in the sense that the kit is sold with one power pack. The listing does not say how long that pack runs either head, and it does not give separate battery figures for each head.

The battery’s nominal energy is a useful planning number. A 40-volt pack rated at 2.0 amp-hours has a nominal energy of 80 watt-hours, which is 40 volts multiplied by 2.0 amp-hours. That number is arithmetic from two listing values. It is not a runtime, and it tells you nothing about how many cuts or how much hedge one charge covers.

Two listing fields describe the same battery in different ways. The amperage field reads 2 A, while the battery capacity field reads 2 amp-hours. Both point to a 2.0Ah pack, so this post treats them as one figure. For background on how voltage and amp-hour ratings relate on cordless tool batteries, see our guide to lawn mower battery voltage and amps.

Reach and cut size

The two cutting heads are the figures to read first. The pole saw has an 8-inch bar and chain, which the listing describes as suited to easy trimming of branches. The pole hedge trimmer has a 20-inch dual-action blade, and the listing describes it for trimming tall hedges. The hedge blade is 2.5 times the length of the saw bar, which is a fair comparison of the two heads and nothing more.

Reach is the figure the listing leaves out. It gives no pole length, so the height you can reach from the ground is not stated. That matters for pruning, because a pole tool’s reach sets how high the cut can be made from the ground. The listing also gives no branch diameter rating, so an 8-inch bar does not tell you the thickest branch the saw cuts. Both gaps are listed again in the section on what the listing does not say.

Maintenance claims

The listing says the polesaw and the pole hedge trimmer are virtually maintenance free, with no gas, no oil and no emissions. It also describes an automatic oiler for the bar and chain, and easy-adjust tensioning for the saw chain. Those are the listing’s own claims. The Oklahoma State University Extension column says these other pieces of equipment require safe usage and proper maintenance, which sits oddly beside the listing’s maintenance-free wording. Treat the chain, oiler and tension as parts to check in the manual, not as settings you can ignore.

The “no gas, no oil” wording does not remove oil from the chain system. The same listing describes an automatic oiler that applies oil to the bar and chain. The listing does not say how much oil the reservoir holds or how often it needs a refill.

Who it suits

The listing points to a specific kind of owner. Four groups fit it best.

  • A homeowner who wants one battery kit for pruning branches from the ground and for trimming the tops of hedges, without a gas engine to start or fuel.
  • Someone who wants a warranty figure before buying. The listing gives a 3-year warranty in its wording.
  • An owner who already has Greenworks 40V tools and wants to check whether the battery can be shared. The listing does not say, so confirm the fit before buying.
  • A buyer who wants a pole saw and a hedge head in one box. The listing says both heads and the owner’s manual come in the kit.

If you are comparing hedge-trimming heads from other 40-volt platforms, our guide to the Ryobi 40 Volt cordless hedge trimmer covers a different 40-volt option. For a 20-volt pole option, see our guide to the DEWALT 20V MAX pole hedge trimmer.

Skip it if

  • You need to know the reach. The listing gives no pole length, so you cannot tell how high the saw or the hedge head reaches from the ground.
  • You need a branch diameter rating. The listing gives none, and the 8-inch bar does not state the thickest branch the saw can cut.
  • You need a runtime figure or a cut count. The listing gives no runtime and no charge time.
  • You plan to cut tall, dense hedges for long stretches. The listing gives the blade length but no hedge length per charge.
  • You need to share the battery with other tools and the listing does not confirm the fit. Check the fit before you buy, not after.

Buying checklist

  • Measure the highest branch you need to reach from the ground, and compare it with the pole length in the manual or from the manufacturer, because the listing does not state one.
  • Check the thickest branch you plan to cut, because the listing gives no diameter rating.
  • If you own other 40V tools, confirm whether this battery fits them before you buy.
  • Check the charge time on the charger or in the manual before the first job, because the listing does not state it.
  • Keep the owner’s manual with the kit, since the listing says it is included.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Trusting the maintenance-free wording. The Oklahoma State University Extension column says these tools need proper maintenance.
  • Working on the saw with the battery in place. The Oklahoma State University Extension teen fact sheet says to remove the battery on portable electric tools before maintenance to prevent any accidental starts.
  • Wearing loose clothing. The Illinois Extension page says loose-fitting or baggy clothes can become tripping hazards or get caught in machinery.
  • Storing the battery in a hot or damp place. The teen fact sheet recommends keeping batteries stored indoors in a dry, climate-controlled area, if possible.
  • Trimming too close to trees and structures. The Oklahoma State University Extension column says trimming too close can result in gouges in the surface.

Safety before the first cut

Start with the clothing and gear, because the sources we opened give concrete guidance. The Illinois Extension lawn equipment page recommends impact-resistant safety glasses or sunglasses, since mowing creates debris ejecting at high speeds from beneath the mower. The same page recommends boots, and it says gloves, long sleeves and pants protect the body from flying rocks and sticks. Its guidance on loose clothing applies to a pole saw as well: loose-fitting or baggy clothes can become tripping hazards or get caught in machinery.

Keep people and animals away. Oklahoma State University Extension’s column says to make sure children and pets aren’t in the area. Its teen fact sheet says the same before beginning any work. The column also advises wearing protective clothing when operating a trimmer, and it says to read the operator’s guide before using any lawn tool. Those points apply to the hedge head directly, and to the pole saw as a trimming tool.

Protect the trees and the house. The Oklahoma State University Extension column says these tools can cause damage to tree trunks, landscape plants, house trim, fences and people. It also warns that trimming too close can result in gouges in the surface. On a tall tree, a pole tool can be near a roof, a gutter or a fence, so plan the cut with those in mind.

Check the battery and power down before service. The teen fact sheet says to double-check that a cordless tool’s battery is properly charged before using it, and to store batteries indoors in a dry, climate-controlled area. It says to remove the battery before maintenance to prevent any accidental starts. Chain tensioning and oiling are maintenance, so remove the battery before you do either.

The sources we opened do not cover overhead cutting, falling limbs, or contact with power lines. This post makes no claim about those hazards, because no source we opened addresses them for pole tools. Read the owner’s manual on those points before the first cut, and treat any work near power lines as outside what this post can verify.

What the listing does not say

Several details that matter for a buying decision are missing from the listing. This post leaves them open rather than filling them with guesses.

  • Pole length and reach. The listing gives no pole length for either head.
  • Branch diameter rating. No maximum branch size is given for the 8-inch saw.
  • Runtime and charge time. The listing gives neither figure for the included battery.
  • Weight. The listing gives 11 pounds as the item weight, but it does not say whether that figure includes the battery.
  • Motor type, bar and chain material, and chain pitch. None is stated.
  • Oil capacity. The listing describes an automatic oiler but gives no reservoir size or refill interval.
  • Battery sharing. The listing does not say whether the battery works with other Greenworks 40V tools.
  • Warranty terms. The listing gives the 3-year wording only, with no exclusions or claim steps.

Where this post repeats a listing claim, it labels the claim as the listing’s own statement. It does not present that claim as an independently checked fact.

How we chose

This post covers one product: Amazon ASIN B01ID88KUW, Greenworks model PSPH40B210. It came from our stored product set because its listing gives the figures a pole-tool buyer needs most: the two head types, the battery and charger inclusion, the warranty wording and the weight. This post does not compare it with other pole tools and makes no ranking claim.

The product data comes from a stored scan of the listing last checked on 2026-10-12. We left out prices, star ratings, review counts and seller badges. The two Oklahoma State University Extension pages and the Illinois Extension page were opened on 2026-10-22. They cover trimmers, edgers and lawn equipment in general, so they are used only for general safety, battery and clothing points, not for any figure about this kit.

What we could not verify

  • Pole length and the height the kit reaches from the ground. The listing does not state it, and the sources we opened do not cover this kit.
  • The branch diameter the saw cuts, and the hedge length a charge covers.
  • Runtime, cut count and charge time.
  • The oil reservoir size and refill interval for the automatic oiler.
  • Whether the battery fits other Greenworks 40V tools.
  • The warranty terms beyond the listing’s wording. The manufacturer’s product page and manual for model PSPH40B210 were not opened, and a search for them could not be run in this session.
  • Overhead cutting and power-line hazards. No source we opened covers them for pole tools, so this post makes no claim about them.

FAQ

Does the Greenworks 40V 8 in pole saw kit include a battery and charger?

Yes. The listing says one lithium-ion battery is required and included, and its included-components line names a battery and a charger, along with a pole saw, a hedge trimmer head, a blade cover and an owner’s manual.

How long does the battery run?

The listing does not state a runtime or a charge time. It gives the battery as 40 volts and 2 amp-hours, which is 80 watt-hours of nominal energy. That is a planning figure from two listing values, not a measured runtime.

How long is the pole?

The listing does not give a pole length. Check the manual or the manufacturer’s product page before you buy, because the pole length decides how high you can reach from the ground.

What does the warranty cover?

The listing gives a 3-year manufacturer warranty in its wording. It does not state the exclusions, the claim steps or the coverage for the included parts.

Can I use this battery with other Greenworks 40V tools?

The listing does not say. If you already own Greenworks 40V tools, confirm the battery fit in the manual or on the manufacturer’s site before you assume it works.

What protective gear should I wear?

The Illinois Extension lawn equipment page recommends impact-resistant safety glasses or sunglasses, boots, gloves, long sleeves and pants, and it advises against loose clothing that can get caught in machinery. The Oklahoma State University Extension column advises protective clothing when operating a trimmer.

Bottom line

Buy this kit only if an 8-inch saw and a 20-inch hedge head cover the work you have, and you can confirm the reach and branch size in the manual before you order. If you need a stated pole length, a branch rating or a runtime figure, look at other models first.

Sources

  • Greenworks 40V 8 in Pole Saw Hedge Trimmer Kit, 2.0 Ah Battery and Charger, Amazon listing, stored scan (opened 2026-10-12) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01ID88KUW
  • Beyond The Mower: Safe Use Of Trimmers, Edgers And Blowers, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/announcements/grow-gardening-columns/2025/august-24-2025.html
  • Maintaining Lawn Equipment, Illinois Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.illinois.edu/lawns/maintaining-lawn-equipment
  • Lawn Care Safety and Basic Maintenance Tips for Teens, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/fact-sheets/lawn-care-safety-and-basic-maintenance-tips-for-teens

Similar Posts