Best LawnMaster TE1216M Electric Tiller 12-Amp
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you searched for “best lawnmaster te1216m electric tiller 12-amp”, you are probably looking for a corded tiller for a garden bed or a small plot rather than a large field. The LawnMaster TE1216M is a 12-amp electric tiller with a 16-inch maximum cutting width and a 9-inch cutting depth, and the listing says it is compatible with 120-volt outlets. The text we read gives no weight, no warranty term and no cord length, so those points need checking before you buy. This page covers what the listing states, the arithmetic behind its width, and what the extension sources say about tilling safely.
Quick answer
- It is a corded electric tiller, not a battery model. The listing says it is compatible with 120-volt outlets and may need a converter outside the United States.
- The listing gives a 16-inch maximum cutting width and a 9-inch cutting depth. A 50 by 30 foot bed takes about 23 passes in one direction, as the arithmetic below shows.
- The text we read does not give a weight, a warranty term or a cord length. If you need any of those to decide, ask the seller or the maker before you order.
- Both the listing and the Ohio State factsheet say to keep hands and feet away from the moving tines, to work slowly, and to keep bystanders at a distance.
The product at a glance
The table lists what the Amazon listing states, as read on 2026-10-22. Cells say “not stated” where the listing text is silent. The comparison values come from the listing’s product description table for this model.
| Item | What the listing states |
|---|---|
| Brand | LawnMaster |
| Model | TE1216M |
| Power source | Corded electric |
| Voltage | 120 volts (outlet compatibility stated) |
| Motor | 12-amp (listing title) |
| Battery and charger | not applicable; no battery listed |
| Tilling width | 16 inches maximum cutting width |
| Tilling depth | 9 inches |
| Blades | 6 steel blades, described as rust-resistant |
| No-load speed | 380 RPM (comparison table) |
| Gearbox and clutch | Two-stage gearbox with an anti-clock mechanical clutch |
| Transit wheel | Adjustable to 3 positions |
| Dimensions | 15 in deep, 21 in wide, 16 in high |
| Material | Alloy steel |
| Color | 16-inch orange (color option) |
| Item weight | not stated |
| Cord length | not stated |
| Warranty | Manufacturer’s warranty available on request; term not stated |
| Manual | PDF linked from the listing; not opened for this page |
Passes needed for a 50 by 30 foot bed
The width of one pass is the listed 16 inches, or 1.33 feet (16 divided by 12). Working a bed in one direction, 30 divided by 1.33 gives 22.5, so the bed takes 23 passes of 50 feet each, about 1,150 feet of travel. Adding a second direction, 50 divided by 1.33 gives 37.5, so 38 more passes of 30 feet each, about 1,140 feet. These figures leave out overlap between passes, the turns at each end and the slower speed in hard soil, so treat them as a floor, not a time estimate.
Power from the listed numbers
Electrical power in watts equals volts multiplied by amps. The listed 120 volts and the 12-amp rating in the title give 120 x 12 = 1,440 watts. The listing does not state a wattage, so read this figure as a product of two listed numbers rather than a rating the maker gives.
Who it suits
Based on the listing text, this tiller fits a smaller set of jobs than a large garden tractor. It is most likely to suit:
- A homeowner who has a garden bed or a small vegetable plot and wants an electric tool rather than a gas one.
- A buyer with a 120-volt outdoor outlet close enough to the work area that the cord can reach it without a long run.
- A buyer whose plot is small enough to work in the number of passes shown in the arithmetic above.
- A gardener starting a bed from sod. The Ask Extension reply says that whether to till a new bed is “really a matter of choice”, and that if you remove sod first you will have “less weed and grass seeds to deal with later”. A tiller covers that first pass, but the same reply notes that starting a new bed without tilling is labor intensive.
If you are still weighing a corded tiller against a battery or gas model, our pros and cons of electric mowers post covers the trade-offs of corded electric machines, which share the same power question.
Skip it if
- You need a cordless tool. The listing describes a corded electric model, and the cord and outlet become part of every job. If the outlet is far from the bed, see our best extension cord for an electric lawn mower guide.
- You live outside the United States and do not have a converter. The listing says the tiller may need one outside the United States.
- You have not checked for buried utilities. The listing warns against use near underground electrical cables, telephone lines, pipes or hoses, so this is a reason to wait, not a minor step.
- You need a settled weight or warranty term to plan a delivery or a return. The listing gives neither in the text we read.
- You want to till a bed in one pass. The arithmetic above shows 23 passes for a 50-foot bed in one direction, so this is a multi-pass tool.
Safety notes for tilling
The Ohio State factsheet on rototillers says these machines are capable of causing injury or death, and that basic safety precautions greatly reduce the chance of injury. The two pages below cover tillers in general, and the listing covers this model.
The listing’s first safety point is about the ground under the tool. Do not run the tiller near underground electrical cables, telephone lines, pipes or hoses. The Ask Extension reply, written by a Master Gardener helpline volunteer at the University of Vermont Extension, goes further for suburban yards: call Dig Safe before tilling to make sure there are no underground wires. That advice is worth following before any new bed.
Hands and feet come next. The listing says not to put hands, feet or any body part or clothing near the rotating tines. The Ohio State factsheet adds that you should keep hands and feet away from moving parts, operate only on stable footing to avoid slips and falls, and inspect the area and remove stones, sticks, wires or other debris before starting.
Work speed matters too. The Ohio State factsheet says to work slowly when tilling and to avoid forcing the unit through the soil. The same factsheet says to be aware of bystanders when objects are thrown, and to keep a safe distance. It also says not to operate the equipment when fatigued or under the influence of drugs or alcohol, and not to leave the unit running unattended.
If the tiller strikes a foreign body, the listing says to turn it off immediately, wait for the tines to stop and check for damage, and repair before restarting if needed. If it starts to vibrate abnormally, turn it off and check for the cause. The Ohio State factsheet adds that worn or damaged tines should be replaced.
For clothing, the factsheet recommends safety glasses with side shields or goggles, safety boots or hard-soled shoes, and no loose or ragged clothing that can catch in moving parts. Before any maintenance or repair, the listing says to turn the tiller off, disconnect it from the power supply and wait until the tines stop completely.
Before the first pass
- Check the ground for buried lines. The listing warns against use near underground electrical cables, telephone lines, pipes or hoses, and the Ask Extension reply advises calling Dig Safe before tilling in a suburban setting.
- Remove stones, sticks, wires and other debris from the bed, as the Ohio State factsheet advises.
- Look over the tiller before you start. The factsheet says to inspect the unit and its attachments for signs of wear and damage, and to verify that the shields and guards are in place.
- Keep a safe distance from bystanders. The factsheet says to be aware of bystanders in the event of thrown objects.
What the listing does not say
The listing is clear on power type, width and depth. It is silent on several points that matter when you compare it with another tiller.
- Weight: the listing gives product dimensions but no item weight in the text we read.
- Warranty: the listing says the manufacturer’s warranty can be requested from customer service, but it does not state a term.
- Cord: no cord length or cord rating is given, so the reach from the outlet is unknown.
- Output: the listing gives a 380 RPM no-load speed in a comparison table, but it does not say how that speed changes under load in soil.
- Manual: the listing links a PDF user manual, which we did not open for this page.
How we chose
This page covers one product, the LawnMaster TE1216M listing with ASIN B00TZIZ2ZQ. It is not a ranking, and the post does not compare this tiller with other models. We chose it because a buyer typing “best lawnmaster te1216m electric tiller 12-amp” is asking about this model and its specifications. The product was not in our stored product file, so we read the listing once on 2026-10-22 and saved only its title, bullets, specifications and safety text. Prices, ratings and review text were not used for any fact in this post. The safety facts come from one university extension factsheet and one extension reply, both opened on 2026-10-22.
What we could not verify
The pages we opened do not cover this LawnMaster model directly, so the following points remain open:
- Tilling performance in hard or clay soil, and whether the 16-inch width and 9-inch depth hold up in practice.
- The weight of the tiller and the warranty term.
- Whether the 12-amp figure in the title matches the rating on the unit’s nameplate. The pages we opened do not list the amp rating for this model.
- The cord length and cord rating, and whether they fit the work area.
- Whether the 380 RPM no-load speed in the comparison table is the same figure the manufacturer uses for tilling.
- The manufacturer’s own service and support details. We did not find an official LawnMaster product page for this model in the pages we opened.
The Ask Extension reply is a volunteer answer from April 2024, not a standard. Treat its advice as general guidance and check local rules for buried utilities.
FAQ
Is the LawnMaster TE1216M battery powered?
No. The listing describes it as corded electric and says it is compatible with outlets that support 120 volts. No battery is listed.
What tilling width and depth does it have?
Per the listing, the maximum cutting width is 16 inches and the cutting depth is 9 inches. It does not describe how the depth is adjusted.
Can I use it outside the United States?
The listing says it may need a converter when used outside the United States. Check the voltage and plug requirements in your country before you buy.
Should I check for underground lines before tilling?
Yes. The listing says not to operate it near underground electrical cables, telephone lines, pipes or hoses. The Ask Extension reply advises calling Dig Safe before tilling in a suburban setting to make sure there are no underground wires.
How many passes would a 50 by 30 foot bed take?
With the listed 16-inch width, one direction takes 23 passes of 50 feet, and a second direction takes 38 passes of 30 feet. This is arithmetic from the listed width and ignores overlap and turns, so the real count will be higher.
How much does the tiller weigh?
The listing does not state an item weight in the text we read. Ask the seller or LawnMaster before you order if weight matters for lifting or storage.
Bottom line
Buy this LawnMaster tiller if a 120-volt outlet, a 16-inch width and a 9-inch depth suit your bed, and you can accept that the listing gives no weight, warranty term or cord length. If a bed is too large for a corded tool to work in a reasonable number of passes, choose a different tool.
Sources
- LawnMaster TE1216M Electric Tiller 12-Amp, 16-Inch listing on Amazon.com (opened 2026-10-22) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00TZIZ2ZQ
- Rototillers and Two-Wheeled Tractors, AEX-790.36, Ohio State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-79036
- Roto-tilling, Ask Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://ask.extension.org/kb/faq.php?id=864228






