Best Westinghouse 13 inch 12-Amp 2-in-1 Electric Dethatcher

Best Westinghouse 13 inch 12-Amp 2-in-1 Electric Dethatcher

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you are searching for the best westinghouse 13 inch 12-amp 2-in-1 electric dethatcher, this page covers one corded tool: the Westinghouse W13ADAC. The listing describes a 13-inch working width, a 12-amp motor, an 8-gallon rear bag, and two heads, a set of 20 spring tines for raking thatch and a 16-blade scarifier head for cutting narrow channels into soil. This guide explains when a thatch layer calls for a tool like this, what the listing states, and where it leaves gaps.

Quick answer

  • The W13ADAC is a corded electric dethatcher and scarifier. The listing gives a 12-amp motor running up to 3300 RPM, a 13-inch working width and a 22.9-pound weight.
  • The listing says the two heads swap in seconds and that the depth control has four settings, from -0.5 to +0.16 inch. Its specs list a 44.7-inch maximum cutting height, which conflicts with the depth bullet, so this page does not use it.
  • University sources set the thatch threshold differently: UC says more than 1/2 inch, while Oklahoma State says a cool-season lawn should not exceed 1/3 inch. Measure your thatch first.
  • The listing gives a 2-year limited warranty and lifetime technical support. It does not give cord length, cord gauge or whether an extension cord is included.

The product at a glance

The table uses only what the listing states. “Not stated” means the listing is silent on that point.

Item What the listing says
Brand and model Westinghouse, model W13ADAC
Manufacturer Westinghouse Outdoor Power Equipment
Product type 2-in-1 corded dethatcher and scarifier with a collection bag
Power source ac (corded)
Motor 12-amp motor, up to 3300 RPM
Working width 13 inches (13-inch path)
Heads 20 spring tines for raking thatch, and a 16-blade scarifier head for narrow channels; the listing says the heads swap in seconds
Depth settings Four settings, from -0.5 to +0.16 inch (bullet). Specs give a minimum adjustable cutting height of 0.5 inch
Maximum adjustable cutting height 44.7 inches (specs). This conflicts with the depth bullet and is not used in this guide
Operation mode Manual
Collection bag Rear collection bag, 8 gallon
Weight 22.9 pounds
Product dimensions 44.7 inches deep, 19.7 inches wide, 36.2 inches high
Handle Folding handle
Material and color Stainless steel (material field); blue
Warranty 2-year limited warranty, with lifetime technical support
Battery and charger Not stated. The listing says the tool needs no batteries, gas or oil
Cord length and gauge Not stated
Extension cord in the box Not stated
Replacement heads sold separately Not stated
Coverage per hour or lawn area Not stated

View on Amazon

Who it suits

This tool fits a homeowner whose lawn has a thatch layer that needs removing, and who has an outlet within reach of the lawn. The listing’s 13-inch working width sets the width of each pass. The listing describes the folding handle as making the tool easy to push, lift and store, and it gives a weight of 22.9 pounds.

  • A homeowner who has measured thatch above the threshold for their grass type and wants a corded dethatcher with no battery to charge.
  • A lawn where raking tines and a scarifying head are both useful, since the listing says the two heads swap in seconds.
  • Someone who wants a rear bag of 8 gallons to collect thatch and debris, as the listing describes.

For other electric dethatcher options, see our best electric dethatcher guide. For cord choice, see our guide to the best extension cord for an electric lawn mower.

Skip it if

  • You need a clear depth figure to set the tool by. The bullet gives -0.5 to +0.16 inch, and the specs give a 44.7-inch figure that cannot be a cutting depth. Confirm the depth on the box or manual before you buy.
  • You work far from an outlet. The listing gives no cord length, so measure the run first.
  • You need a cordless tool. The W13ADAC is an ac corded tool, and the listing names no battery option.
  • Your thatch is thin. The sources do not call for dethatching a lawn with a thin thatch layer, so the tool would be idle.
  • You have a large lawn and want fewer passes. The 13-inch path sets the width of each pass, and the listing gives no coverage figure.

When a lawn needs dethatching

Penn State Extension describes thatch as a loose, intermingled organic layer of dead and living shoots, stems, and roots that develops between the zone of green vegetation and the soil surface. It says that when thatch layers reach an inch or more, preventative practices will not provide adequate control. That is far deeper than the thresholds discussed next.

The thresholds for dethatching differ across the sources. The University of California’s Healthy Lawns guidance says the general rule is to plan to dethatch when the thatch is more than 1/2 inch deep. Oklahoma State University Extension says the thatch layer should not exceed 1/3 inch thick in a cool-season lawn of fescue, bluegrass or ryegrass. The sources do not agree on one number, so this guide reports both and leaves the choice to the lawn you have measured.

For a quick check, UC notes that if a lawn has a bouncy feel to it when you walk on it, thatch is probably building up. That is a reason to measure, not a measurement by itself.

Penn State describes power rakes as machines with vertically rotating wire tines that remove thatch, and it says those machines are better suited to smaller jobs because they do not have the power and durability of vertical mowers. The listing for the W13ADAC describes spring tines, not wire tines, and the listing does not say which design category the tool falls into. This page does not classify it.

The two heads and what the listing claims for them

The listing says the 20 spring tines rake out buried thatch, dead grass and organic debris. It says the 16-blade scarifier head slices narrow channels into compacted soil so that water, air and nutrients reach deeper roots. Those are manufacturer statements, and the listing gives no condition or source for the root claim.

The sources we opened discuss dethatching with a dethatcher or vertical mower, but they do not cover scarifying, so the scarifying claim cannot be checked against them. The page reports the scarifying head only as the listing describes it. The listing also says the heads swap in seconds. It does not say whether a replacement head is sold separately.

Timing and what brings thatch back

Timing matters because a dethatcher can damage a stressed lawn. Penn State says not to remove thatch when turf is weak or under heat or drought stress. For cool-season turf, it advises removing thatch during late summer or early fall. UC gives a broader window for both cool and warm-season grasses: mid-to-late spring or early fall. Early fall is the one window that fits both sources.

Dethatching does not fix the cause. Illinois Extension says thatch may be torn out with a dethatcher or vertical mower, but will most likely return unless the cause is corrected. It also says mechanical dethatching is very destructive, because roots are in thatch instead of soil, and that overseeding is usually required afterwards. Plan for seed and time after the pass.

Illinois also says that, despite popular belief, clippings dropped on the lawn after mowing are not the cause of thatch buildup. Oklahoma State advises dethatching annually before the new flush of growth begins where thatch has been a problem. UC advises that if you plan to apply preemergence herbicides, you should do so after dethatching.

Electrical safety before you start

The cord is the electrical item to manage for the whole pass with a corded dethatcher. OSHA’s guidance on electric tools says never to carry a tool by its cord. It says to disconnect tools when they are not in use, before servicing, and when changing accessories such as blades. It also says not to use electric tools in damp or wet locations unless they are approved for that purpose. If the lawn is wet, that rule applies to the work, so check the lawn before you start.

OSHA also warns that cords from electric tools should not present a tripping hazard. The listing says nothing about a cord clip or a cord holder for this model, so the cord route is the buyer’s job to plan. Check the run from the outlet to the farthest corner, since OSHA’s guidance flags cords that present a tripping hazard.

The listing gives no cord gauge and no statement about an extension cord. Before you buy, confirm the cord in the box, and if you use an extension cord, confirm its gauge with the manufacturer’s instructions, since the listing does not give one.

The listing says the tool needs no batteries, gas, oil or engine upkeep, and that you plug it in and go. That is a fact about power source only. It does not describe safe use of the tool.

What the listing does not say

  • Cord: the listing gives no cord length, no cord gauge and no statement about an extension cord.
  • Depth figures: the bullet gives four depths from -0.5 to +0.16 inch. The specs give a 44.7-inch maximum adjustable cutting height and a 0.5-inch minimum. The specs figure conflicts with the bullet, and the listing does not explain which one is correct.
  • Heads: the listing says the heads swap in seconds. It does not say whether a replacement head is sold separately, or how long a head lasts.
  • Bag: it gives an 8-gallon rear bag, but not how often the bag must be emptied on a typical job.
  • Coverage: the listing gives no area or lawn size that one pass covers.
  • Warranty: it gives a 2-year limited warranty and lifetime technical support, but not the warranty terms.
  • Manufacturer page: the page on westinghouse.com returned an error when it was requested on 2026-10-23, so manufacturer statements in this guide come from the listing alone.

Buying checklist

Before you order, check these points against the listing and your own lawn:

  • Measure the thatch in several spots and compare it with the threshold for your grass type.
  • Measure the cord run from the outlet to the farthest corner you plan to dethatch.
  • Confirm the depth setting on the box or in the manual, since the listing’s specs and bullet do not agree.
  • Confirm whether the box includes an extension cord and whether a replacement scarifier head is sold separately.
  • Ask for the warranty terms in writing, since the listing gives only the length of the warranty.

How we chose

This page covers one product: the Westinghouse W13ADAC, ASIN B0DYKBZDNB. The listing facts are from the scan record, CHECKED 2026-10-23, and the page is written about this model only. We did not compare it with other dethatchers, so this page makes no claim that it ranks above any other model.

The listing gives the facts a buyer needs to judge fit: a corded power source, a motor rating, a working width, depth settings, a bag size, a weight and a warranty length. For thatch thresholds, timing and safety, we used university extension and government pages, because a retail listing does not give those rules. The sources are named in the list at the end of this page, with the date each was opened.

What we could not verify

We could not open the manufacturer’s product page for this model on 2026-10-23, and we did not find a manufacturer manual for the W13ADAC in the search we ran. The cord length, the cord gauge and the blade and head replacement steps are therefore not verified here. The depth figures in the listing conflict, and no source we opened resolves the conflict for this model. The sources we opened do not cover scarifying, so the head claims are the listing’s alone. The 3300 RPM figure is a listing statement and has not been checked against another source. The warranty is described only as a 2-year limited warranty, and its terms are not in the text we read.

FAQ

Is the Westinghouse W13ADAC corded or battery powered?

The listing gives the power source as ac, so the tool is corded. It names no battery and no charger, and it says the tool needs no batteries, gas or oil.

How deep does the Westinghouse W13ADAC dethatch?

The bullet gives four depth settings from -0.5 to +0.16 inch. The specs list a 0.5-inch minimum and a 44.7-inch maximum adjustable cutting height. The maximum figure conflicts with the bullet, so confirm the depth on the box or manual before you buy.

Does the Westinghouse W13ADAC come with an extension cord?

The listing does not say. It gives no cord length and no cord gauge, so check the box contents before you buy and measure your run from the outlet.

How often should I dethatch a lawn?

Oklahoma State advises dethatching annually where thatch has been a problem, before the new flush of growth begins. UC says to plan to dethatch when thatch is more than 1/2 inch deep, while Oklahoma State says a cool-season lawn should not exceed 1/3 inch. Measure your thatch and choose the threshold that fits your grass.

When is the best time to dethatch?

Penn State advises late summer or early fall for cool-season turf, and UC gives mid-to-late spring or early fall for both cool and warm-season grasses. Early fall fits both sources. Do not dethatch a weak lawn or one under heat or drought stress.

Will the thatch come back after dethatching?

It can. Illinois Extension says thatch will most likely return unless the cause is corrected, and it says overseeding is usually required after mechanical dethatching.

Bottom line

Buy the W13ADAC when a thatch layer you have measured is deeper than the threshold for your grass type, the depth setting is confirmed on the box or manual, and an outlet can reach the whole lawn with a cord you have measured. If any of those three checks fails, skip it.

Sources

  • Westinghouse 13″ 12-Amp 2-in-1 Electric Dethatcher and Scarifier with Collection Bag, Amazon listing (opened 2026-10-23)
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DYKBZDNB
  • When to dethatch, UC Healthy Lawns, University of California (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://ipm.ucanr.edu/TOOLS/TURF/MAINTAIN/thatchtime.html
  • Managing Thatch in Lawns, Illinois Extension (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://extension.illinois.edu/lawns/managing-thatch-lawns
  • Managing Thatch in Lawns, Penn State Extension (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://extension.psu.edu/managing-thatch-in-lawns
  • Thatch Management in Lawns, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://extension.okstate.edu/fact-sheets/thatch-management-in-lawns
  • eTool: Construction – Electrical Incidents – Power Tools, Occupational Safety and Health Administration (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://www.osha.gov/etools/construction/electrical-incidents/power-tools

Similar Posts