Best WEN Electric Lawn Edger and Trencher

Best WEN Electric Lawn Edger and Trencher

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you are looking for the best WEN electric lawn edger and trencher, this page covers one corded model: the WEN ET1275, with a 12-amp motor, a 7.5-inch steel blade and three cutting depths of 0.5, 1 and 1.5 inches. It suits a homeowner who has an outlet near the edge line and needs a clean edge along a walk or a bed, or a shallow trench no deeper than 1.5 inches. The listing does not say how far the cord reaches or whether an extension cord comes with the tool, so those points come first in the checks below.

Quick answer

  • The WEN ET1275 is a corded tool. The listing gives the power source as ac, a 12-amp motor, a 7.5-inch cutting width and a two-year warranty.
  • The listing names three cutting depths, 0.5, 1 and 1.5 inches, for edging and trenching. It does not give a trench width or a maximum trench length.
  • Buy it for a corded job with an outlet close to the edge and a cut no deeper than 1.5 inches. Skip it if you need deeper trenching or a cordless tool.
  • Before any trenching, Illinois Extension advises calling 811 two to three business days before the project starts.

The product at a glance

The table uses only what the listing states. “Not stated” means the listing is silent on that point.

Item What the listing says
Brand and model WEN, model ET1275
Product type Electric lawn edger and trencher, 12-amp corded, 7.5-inch blade
Power source ac (corded)
Motor 12-amp motor
Cutting width 7.5 inches
Cutting depth settings Three settings: 0.5, 1 and 1.5 inches, for edging and trenching
Edge guide and wheels Onboard edge guide and three-wheel design, which the listing says help keep cuts consistently straight
Handle Auxiliary handle with quick angle adjustments
Item weight 14 pounds
Item dimensions 43 inches long by 10.5 inches wide
Warranty Two-year warranty; terms not stated
Battery and charger Not stated (the listing describes a corded tool)
Cord length and gauge Not stated
Accessories in the box Not stated
Trench width and maximum length per pass Not stated
Blade speed Not stated

View on Amazon

Who it suits

The listing describes this tool for edging and trenching, and its deepest setting is 1.5 inches. That makes it a shallow-cut tool. The fit is strongest for these cases:

  • A homeowner with one straight edge along a walk, a driveway or a bed, and an outlet within reach of that edge.
  • Someone who wants a corded tool with no battery to charge. The listing names no battery and describes an ac power source.
  • A light trenching job where a cut of 1.5 inches or less is enough for the work.

The listing says the edge guide and three-wheel design help keep cuts straight. That claim is the manufacturer’s, and the listing does not say how well it holds on uneven ground. For the mowing that follows an edging job, our guide to the corded self-propelled electric mower picks covers the other side of a corded yard.

Skip it if

  • You need to trench deeper than 1.5 inches. That is the deepest setting the listing gives.
  • You plan to work far from power. The listing gives no cord length, so measure the run from the outlet to the farthest edge before you buy.
  • You want a cordless tool. The ET1275 is a corded ac tool, and the listing names no battery option.
  • You expect a bag, a stand or spare blades in the box. The listing does not state any of them.
  • You plan to dig near buried utilities without a locate. The safety guidance below applies to every digging project, and this product does not change it.

Safety before you start

A corded edger combines a spinning steel blade with a cord that crosses the work area, and both need attention. Oklahoma State University Extension says edgers and trimmers can be dangerous to operate, especially around gravel, trash and other debris in the yard, and it recommends protective clothing when operating an edger. Its guidance also says to make sure children and pets are not in the area before beginning.

The same university’s fact sheet on lawn care safety for teens names two edger hazards: objects launched outward by the blade, and a blade that breaks and flies out. It also says to remove the electrical cord to prevent any accidental starts, and it warns that hitting the cord can damage the tool and possibly cause electrical shock.

The cord is the hazard that is easiest to forget during a long edge. The Oklahoma State guidance says homeowners using electric-powered equipment need to be aware of where the cord is at all times, to avoid a tripping hazard or cutting the cord. The aim is to avoid cutting the cord, which the Oklahoma State guidance names as a risk.

OSHA’s guidance on electric tools adds three rules. Disconnect tools when they are not in use, before servicing, and when changing accessories such as blades. Never carry a tool by its cord. And do not use electric tools in damp or wet locations unless they are approved for that purpose. If the grass or soil is wet, the OSHA rule on damp or wet locations applies to the job.

Before you trench

The listing says this tool trenches as well as edges, and it gives three depth settings. It says nothing about buried utilities, so the utility guidance has to come from elsewhere. Illinois Extension advises calling 811 two to three business days before a digging project starts. It warns that digging in an unmarked yard can mean striking an underground utility line, which can cause serious injury.

The same guidance says underground utility lines could be anywhere, and that they shift over time and can be found just a few inches from the surface. That matters for a 1.5-inch cut, because a line can sit well within reach of a shallow trench. The source also says locators do not mark every private line, such as service to outbuildings, underground sprinkler systems, or a gas line to a grill. It advises avoiding digging on top of or within 18 to 24 inches on all sides of utility marks.

The source does not say the call is needed only for deep digging. So treat every trench as a digging project, and make the call first. The listing cannot tell you where your lines run.

What the three depth settings do

The listing names three settings, 0.5, 1 and 1.5 inches, and says they serve edging and trenching. It does not say which setting suits an edge along a walk and which suits a trench, and it does not say how much soil each setting removes per pass. The sources we opened do not cover edger depth settings for this model or any other, so this page does not offer a rule for choosing one.

What the listing does establish is the range. The shallowest setting is 0.5 inches and the deepest is 1.5 inches. Any job that needs a cut deeper than the deepest setting is outside what the listing supports, whatever the blade can physically do.

What the listing does not say

  • Battery and charger: the listing names no battery and no charger. It describes an ac power source, so no battery charging is involved.
  • Runtime: not applicable to a corded tool, and the listing gives no run time figure.
  • Cord: the listing gives no cord length, no cord gauge and no statement about whether a cord is included.
  • Blade: it gives a 7.5-inch steel blade. It does not say how to replace the blade, whether a replacement is sold separately, or the blade speed.
  • Trenching: the listing gives three depths but not the width of a trench or how long a single pass can run.
  • Warranty: it says two years. It does not say what the warranty covers or who pays for shipping on a claim.
  • Coverage: the listing gives no area or edge length that one job covers.

Buying checklist

Because the listing leaves several points open, check these before you order:

  • Measure the cord route from the nearest outlet to the farthest edge you plan to cut. The listing gives no cord length, so the measurement is the only way to know the run is long enough.
  • Look at the box contents or the product page for any cord, stand or spare blade. The listing does not state what comes with the tool.
  • Compare the edge or trench depth you need with the three stated settings, 0.5, 1 and 1.5 inches. If the job needs more than 1.5 inches, this tool is the wrong choice.
  • Call 811 before any trench, and wait for the marks. The Illinois Extension guidance gives the two to three business day window.
  • Ask for the warranty terms in writing or read the insert. The listing gives only the two-year length.

How we chose

This page covers one product: the WEN ET1275, ASIN B0HKLBLKKD. The listing facts are from the scan record, CHECKED 2026-10-23, and the page is written about this model only. We did not compare it with other edgers, so this page makes no claim that it ranks above any other model.

We kept the product in the post because its listing gives the points a buyer needs to judge fit: a corded power source, a motor rating, a blade size, three depth settings, an edge guide and a warranty period. For safe use and trenching, we relied on university extension and government pages about the tool type, because a retail listing does not give safe-use procedures. Each source is named in the list at the end of this page with the date it was opened.

What we could not verify

We did not find a manufacturer manual for the ET1275 in the search we ran, so the cord length, blade replacement steps and operator instructions are not verified here. The sources we opened do not cover this model’s depth settings or how cleanly any edger cuts, so this page makes no claim about cut quality or trenching speed. The listing gives a 12-amp motor but no blade speed, so the page cannot say how this motor compares with other 12-amp edgers. The warranty is described only as two years, and its terms are not in the text we read. The listing does not say whether any accessory is in the box.

FAQ

Is the WEN ET1275 a corded tool or a battery tool?

The listing gives the power source as ac, so the tool runs on mains power through a cord. It names no battery and no charger. If you need a battery tool, this model is not the one to buy.

How deep can the WEN ET1275 trench?

The deepest of the three stated settings is 1.5 inches. The listing says the settings serve edging and trenching, but it does not give a trench width or a maximum length for one pass.

Does the WEN ET1275 come with an extension cord?

The listing does not say. It gives no cord length and no cord gauge, so check the box contents before you buy. For cord choice on corded lawn equipment, see our guide to the best extension cord for an electric lawn mower.

Do I need to call before trenching with this tool?

Illinois Extension advises calling 811 two to three business days before starting a digging project. Its guidance does not limit the call to deep digging, and it says underground lines can be found a few inches from the surface.

What does the two-year warranty cover?

The listing says the tool is backed by a two-year warranty and gives no terms. Read the manufacturer’s warranty statement or the printed insert before you buy, because the terms are not in the listing text we read.

What should I do before I start the tool?

Keep children and pets out of the area, keep the cord out of the blade path, and read the operator’s guide, as the Oklahoma State sources advise. Disconnect the tool before you change a blade, as OSHA’s guidance says.

Bottom line

Buy the WEN ET1275 if the job is a corded edge or a trench no deeper than 1.5 inches, and an outlet with a cord you have already measured can reach the work. If the job needs a deeper cut or a cordless tool, skip it.

Sources

  • WEN Electric Lawn Edger and Trencher, 12-Amp Corded, 7.5-Inch Blade (ET1275), Amazon listing (opened 2026-10-23)
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0HKLBLKKD
  • Beyond The Mower: Safe Use Of Trimmers, Edgers And Blowers, Oklahoma State University (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://extension.okstate.edu/announcements/grow-gardening-columns/2025/august-24-2025.html
  • Lawn Care Safety and Basic Maintenance Tips for Teens, Oklahoma State University (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://extension.okstate.edu/fact-sheets/lawn-care-safety-and-basic-maintenance-tips-for-teens
  • Avoid injury, fines, power outages by calling 811 before digging, Illinois Extension (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://extension.illinois.edu/news-releases/avoid-injury-fines-power-outages-calling-811-digging
  • eTool: Construction – Electrical Incidents – Power Tools, Occupational Safety and Health Administration (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://www.osha.gov/etools/construction/electrical-incidents/power-tools

Similar Posts