Best Scotts LSS10272PS 7.5-Volt Grass Shear Shrub Trimmer
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you searched for best scotts lss10272ps 7.5-volt grass shear shrub trimmer, you want to know whether this cordless trimmer suits light edge and shrub work without gas. The stored listing record, checked on 2026-10-23, states a battery-powered grass shear and shrub trimmer with a wheeled extension handle, a 6.7-inch hedge blade, a 3.5-inch shear blade and a fast charger. It gives the voltage two ways, 7.5 volts and 7.2 volts, and this post shows both. It states no runtime and does not clearly say the battery is in the box.
Quick answer
- The listing states a battery-powered Scotts LSS10272PS grass shear and shrub trimmer with a telescopic wheeled extension handle, a pivoting cutting head and tool-less blade replacement.
- It includes a 6.7-inch hedge blade and a 3.5-inch shear blade, and the listing says a fast charger is included. It does not state runtime, and it does not say in plain words that the battery is in the box.
- Choose it for light trimming of grass edges and low shrubs if you want no gas or oil. Skip it if you need runtime, branch capacity or one confirmed voltage before you buy.
The product at a glance
The table lists what the stored listing record states, checked on 2026-10-23. Where the record is silent, the cell says not stated. Where two fields disagree, both are shown. The figures come from the title, the bullet points and the specification fields only.
| Item | What the listing says |
|---|---|
| Brand | Scotts |
| Manufacturer field | American Lawn Mower Company |
| Model number | LSS10272PS |
| Product type | Cordless grass shear and shrub trimmer with wheeled extension handle |
| Power source | Battery powered; lithium-ion (bullet and included components) |
| Voltage | Two figures: 7.5-volt (title and included components) and 7.2 volts (voltage field and battery bullet). The two disagree. |
| Battery capacity | 2Ah (battery bullet) |
| Battery in the box | not stated in plain words |
| Charger | fast charger included (battery bullet) |
| Hedge blade | 6.7 inches (bullet and blade length field) |
| Shear blade | 3.5 inches (bullet) |
| Cutting width | 6.5 inches (cutting width field) |
| Blade replacement | tool-less (bullet) |
| Cutting head | pivoting and adjustable (bullet) |
| Handle | telescopic wheeled extension handle (bullet and included components) |
| Runtime | not stated |
| Item weight | 2.6 pounds |
| Color | Green |
| Materials | metal and plastic; metal blades |
| Gas or oil | none needed, according to the listing |
| Warranty | 2 year manufacturer warranty (warranty field and bullet) |
Listing on Amazon: View on Amazon
What the listed figures add up to
The figures below are arithmetic on the stated numbers. Each row shows its formula so you can check it against the listing.
| Figure | Stated or derived | Value | Formula |
|---|---|---|---|
| Battery energy at 7.2 volts and 2 Ah | Derived, nominal | 14.4 watt-hours | 7.2 times 2.0 |
| Battery energy at 7.5 volts and 2 Ah | Derived, nominal, if the title voltage is right | 15.0 watt-hours | 7.5 times 2.0 |
| Gap between the two energy figures | Derived | 0.6 watt-hours, about 4 percent of the 7.2-volt figure | 15.0 minus 14.4; 0.3 volts divided by 7.2 |
| Weight in kilograms | Converted | about 1.2 kg | 2.6 pounds times 0.4536 |
| Hedge blade in centimeters | Converted | about 17.0 cm | 6.7 inches times 2.54 |
| Shear blade in centimeters | Converted | about 8.9 cm | 3.5 inches times 2.54 |
| Cutting width in centimeters | Converted | about 16.5 cm | 6.5 inches times 2.54 |
Watt-hours are volts times amp-hours. The result is a nominal energy figure. It is not a runtime, and the listing states no runtime, so this post does not estimate how long a charge lasts.
The two voltage figures differ by 0.3 volts. That gap moves the energy figure by 0.6 watt-hours, which is small, but it is a sign that the listing is inconsistent. A buyer who needs a spare battery or a matching charger should read the label on the unit first.
The blade and width figures only convert the stated inch values into centimeters, for buyers who work in metric units. They do not describe the cutting capacity of the trimmer, which the listing does not state.
Who it suits
The listing describes a light, cordless tool for trimming grass edges and low shrubs. The stated 2.6-pound weight and the wheeled extension handle point to that use more than to tall hedges or thick branches.
- Owners who want a cordless trimmer for grass edges and low shrubs. The listing says the telescopic wheeled extension handle lets you trim grasses and plants in the ground without bending over.
- Buyers who change between a hedge blade and a shear blade often. The listing says blade replacement is tool-less.
- Gardeners who do not want gas or oil. The listing says the trimmer needs neither and does not emit harmful fumes.
- Buyers who want a charger in the kit, since the listing names a fast charger among its features.
The listing describes the cutting head as pivoting and adjustable, which it says makes trimming easier in hard-to-reach areas. That is the listing’s own wording, and the sources in this post do not cover the claim.
Skip it if
Choose another trimmer if any of these apply.
- You need runtime per charge. The listing states none.
- You need to cut branches. The listing gives a 6.5-inch cutting width and no branch diameter.
- You have tall hedges. The listing gives no working height, and the handle is the only reach feature it describes. For taller hedges, see our guide to cordless hedge trimmers with an extension pole.
- You need one confirmed voltage for a battery or charger match. The listing gives 7.5 and 7.2 volts.
- You need certainty that the battery is in the box. The listing says a fast charger is included and describes a 2Ah battery, but it does not say the battery is in the box in plain words.
- Your grass is wet. The Virginia Tech guide says not to operate electric trimmers in wet conditions. The Scotts runs on a battery, so we apply that advice by analogy, and the listing states no water rating.
If you are comparing this model with other cordless grass shears, our guide to cordless grass shears and hedge trimmers covers how the blade and handle choices differ across models.
What the listing does not say
The listing names a battery and a charger, but it does not give every figure a buyer needs. These are the gaps.
- Battery in the box. The bullet says the trimmer uses a 2Ah lithium-ion battery and that a fast charger is included. It does not say, in plain words, that the battery is in the box.
- Runtime and charge time. Neither is stated.
- Voltage. The title and the included components line say 7.5-volt. The voltage field and the battery bullet say 7.2 volts. The listing does not say which is right, so this post shows both and does not pick one.
- Branch capacity. The listing gives a 6.5-inch cutting width. It gives no branch diameter.
- Blade speed. Not stated.
- Working height. The listing names the handle type but gives no height or reach figure.
- Water resistance. Not stated. The listing does not say the trimmer is weatherproof.
- Warranty terms. The listing gives a 2 year manufacturer warranty. It gives no coverage terms.
- Manufacturer relationship. The brand field says Scotts and the manufacturer field says American Lawn Mower Company. The listing does not explain how the two relate.
Safe use of a cordless grass shear
The sources below are general guidance for trimmers, edgers and power tools. The Oklahoma State column covers string trimmers and edgers, and the Virginia Tech guide covers electric trimmers. Both are applied to a battery grass shear by analogy.
- Clear the area first. The Oklahoma State column says trimmers “can be dangerous to operate, especially around gravel, trash and other debris in the yard.” It also says picking up items in the yard before trimming is important.
- Wear protective clothing. The column says: “Wear protective clothing when operating a weeder, edger or trimmer.”
- Protect eyes and ears. The Virginia Tech guide says: “Wear eye and ear protection equipment when operating power tools.”
- Keep people and pets clear. The Oklahoma State column says to “make sure children and pets aren’t in the area.”
- Keep the trimmer dry. The Virginia Tech guide says: “Never operate an electric trimmer in wet conditions.” The listing states no water rating, so wait for dry grass.
- Read the guide first. The column says: “As always, be sure to read the operator’s guide before using any lawn tool.”
Before you buy
Check these points with the seller or on the battery label. Each one maps to a gap in the tables above.
- Confirm that the battery is in the box. The listing does not say so in plain words.
- Read the voltage on the battery label and compare it with the 7.5 and 7.2 figures in this post.
- Decide whether a 6.7-inch hedge blade and a 3.5-inch shear blade suit your jobs, since the listing gives no branch capacity.
- Check the height of the plants you plan to trim against the reach of the handle, which the listing does not quantify.
- Ask for the warranty terms in writing, because the listing gives none.
- Keep the trimmer off wet grass until it dries. This follows the Virginia Tech advice above, applied by analogy.
How we chose
This post covers one product: the Scotts LSS10272PS 7.5-volt grass shear and shrub trimmer with wheeled handle, ASIN B07J5HK5X2. It is in the batch plan for the keyword above. The product data comes from a stored listing scan record dated 2026-10-23. No live listing page was opened for this post, and the record supplies the title, bullets and specification fields.
We considered one product, this ASIN, and did not compare it with other models. The post does not rank it. The criteria are:
- What the listing states, with the stated condition beside each figure, and the disagreeing figures shown together.
- What the Oklahoma State column and the Virginia Tech guide say about trimmers and power tools, applied by analogy where the source describes a different machine.
- What the listing leaves out, as the tables and lists above show.
What we could not verify
The sources we opened do not cover this model, so the following points remain open.
- Which voltage is correct, 7.5 volts or 7.2 volts. The listing gives both.
- Runtime per charge, charge time and battery life over repeated charges.
- Whether the battery is in the box, as an explicit statement.
- Blade speed, cutting capacity on branches and performance on thick stems.
- Water resistance and how the trimmer handles wet grass.
- Warranty coverage terms and the claim process.
- The manufacturer manual. The web search for this model returned a third-party manual index that gives a 7.2-volt figure. It is not the manufacturer, so we did not use it as a source.
FAQ
Is the Scotts LSS10272PS battery powered?
Yes. The listing states battery power, and the battery bullet describes a lithium-ion battery of 2Ah. The listing gives no runtime.
Does the kit include a charger?
The battery bullet names a fast charger as included. It does not say, in plain words, that the battery is in the box, so confirm that with the seller before you order.
Is it a 7.5-volt or a 7.2-volt trimmer?
The listing gives both. The title and the included components line say 7.5-volt, and the voltage field and the battery bullet say 7.2 volts. This post does not pick one, so check the battery label before you buy a spare battery or charger.
What blades come with it?
The battery bullet and the blade length field state a 6.7-inch hedge blade, and another bullet states a 3.5-inch shear blade. Replacement needs no tools, according to the bullet list.
How long does a charge last?
The listing does not state a runtime or a charge time. Either figure would have to come from the manufacturer manual, which this post did not open.
What warranty does it state?
The listing states a 2 year manufacturer warranty, and one bullet says 2-year warranty. It gives no coverage terms.
Bottom line
Buy this trimmer only if the seller confirms that the battery is in the box and you can settle the voltage from the battery label. If either point stays open, choose a model whose listing states both the voltage and the runtime.
Sources
- Scotts LSS10272PS 7.5-Volt Grass Shear/Shrub Trimmer, Wheeled Handle, Amazon listing record (opened 2026-10-23) – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07J5HK5X2
- Beyond The Mower: Safe Use Of Trimmers, Edgers And Blowers, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) – https://extension.okstate.edu/announcements/grow-gardening-columns/2025/august-24-2025.html
- Powered Hand Tools Safety: Lawn Care Training Guide, Virginia Cooperative Extension, Virginia Tech (opened 2026-10-22) – https://pubs.ext.vt.edu/BSE/BSE-50/BSE-50.html






