Greenworks 40V 13-Inch Cordless String Trimmer Review

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The Greenworks 40V 13 inch cordless string trimmer is a battery-powered trimmer and edger that uses a 0.065-inch auto feed line and a seven-position pivoting head. This review looks at the model sold as a 13-inch 2-in-1 weed wacker and edger, which the listing describes as coming with a 2.0 Ah battery and charger. Everything here comes from the listing’s own bullets, title and specifications. Where the listing is silent on a detail such as battery runtime, line speed or noise at the head, this review says so rather than filling the gap. Two close alternatives from the same Greenworks 40V family are included at the end for comparison.

Quick answer

  • The reviewed model is the Greenworks 40V 13 in cordless string trimmer with a 2.0 Ah battery and charger, listed under model STF314.
  • It converts from trimmer to edger by turning a seven-position head, and the listing says the change takes three clicks.
  • The telescoping shaft adjusts from 40 to 52 inches, and the listing gives the weight as 7.8 pounds.
  • The listing gives a 3-year tool warranty and a 2-year battery warranty. Check the listing for the current terms before you buy.

What the listing puts on the table

The listing centers on three features: a two-in-one trimmer and edger, a seven-position pivoting head, and a telescoping shaft with a handle that adjusts for different heights. It pairs those with a 0.065-inch auto feed line, which the bullets say handles weeds up to about 1.5 inches. The title names the model as 13 inch, and the product data lists the brand as Greenworks, the model as STF314 and the part number as ST40L213. Those are the identifiers to match against the box before you buy, because several Greenworks 40V trimmers look alike in photos and differ in head style, blade count and bundled battery.

The listing does not give a battery runtime in minutes, a motor speed, a noise rating in decibels from an independent source, or a line length. It does state that the trimmer is quiet, and it gives a figure of 78 dB in its own copy. That figure comes from the seller’s listing, not from a test we ran, and it should be read as the listing’s claim. The same is true of the statement that the trimmer is 30 percent lighter than gas trimmers and that its anti-vibration design reduces fatigue. Those are product claims, and they are reported here as claims.

Cutting head and line feed

The cutting head is the feature the listing spends the most words on. It is a seven-position pivoting head, and the bullets walk through the positions in use order: position one trims under decks, position three edges sidewalks, position five clears fence lines, and position seven details flower beds. That sequence is useful because it shows the head covering the three jobs most homeowners do with a trimmer and edger in one pass. The head turns on a pivot rather than a fixed angle, so the same tool can reach a low spot under a mower deck or the base of a fence post.

The line is 0.065 inch, and the listing describes the auto feed as advancing line automatically. That design means you do not have to stop and pull line by hand during routine trimming. The bullets say the line handles weeds up to 1.5 inches, which is a practical limit to keep in mind. Anything thicker than that is a job for a brush cutter or a different tool, and the listing does not claim otherwise. If you buy a trimmer with an auto feed head, the replacement line and the spool are the parts to keep on hand, so check the spool compatibility before you buy extra line.

The product data also includes two alternatives from the same family with different head and blade setups. One adds 20 replacement plastic blades and a brush cutter attachment, and the other is tool only with a dedicated blade cover. Those variations are covered below. For the reviewed model, the relevant point is that the head and the line feed are the core of the design, and the listing describes both in more detail than any other part of the trimmer.

Shaft, handle and reach

The telescoping shaft is the second feature worth a close look. The listing says the shaft adjusts from 40 to 52 inches and fits users from about 5 foot 2 to 6 foot 4. That range matters more than a single height, because it lets two people of different heights use the same trimmer without changing the setup. The handle has seven positions as well, so the grip can be set to suit the work and the user. The listing pairs the shaft and handle with a claim that the design reduces arm fatigue, and it says the trimmer is 30 percent lighter than comparable gas trimmers at 7.8 pounds.

A 7.8-pound weight is worth testing against your own routine, but the listing gives the number and nothing else. It does not say how the weight is distributed between the head and the battery, and it does not give a balance figure. A lighter tool is easier to hold for a long session, but the balance decides how the trimmer feels at the end of the shaft. Buyers who trim for an hour or more should look at the handle position they plan to use before they buy.

The listing does not describe the shaft material or the handle material. It is safe to say the shaft is telescoping and adjustable, and that the trimmer is designed around a long shaft for reach. Anything beyond that, such as a specific carbon or steel construction, is not in the product data, and this review does not add it.

Edging conversion

The trimmer and edger combination is the main reason to consider this model over a simple string trimmer. The listing says the conversion takes three clicks, which means you do not need a separate tool or a second head to switch between trimming and edging. It includes a steel edging guide, which the bullets describe as useful for keeping clean borders along sidewalks, driveways and flower beds. The 90-degree pivoting head is what makes the edger work: turn the head to the edging position and the trimmer runs as a wheeled edger for crisp lines.

Edging along a sidewalk or a bed edge is a different job from trimming a fence line. An edger needs a guide that rides along the hard surface, and a trimmer needs a head that can reach into awkward corners. The listing covers both with one tool, and that is the point of the design. If your yard has a lot of straight borders, the steel guide is a feature to check on the listing photos. If your yard is mostly fence lines and rough ground, the head positions matter more than the guide.

The conversion can be done in a few moments. The listing does not state the exact steps, so read the manual that comes with the tool before you change the head. Keep the battery off during any change of head or position, which is a plain safety habit for any powered trimmer and not a claim from the listing.

Battery, charger and the 40V platform

The reviewed listing includes a 2.0 Ah battery and a charger. The title says so directly, and that matters because many Greenworks 40V trimmers are sold tool only. The listing does not state the battery’s runtime in minutes, so the 2.0 Ah rating is the only battery figure to compare. Runtime depends on the grass, the head position and how often the line is fed, and the listing does not try to put a single number on it.

The 40V platform is the other part of the argument. The listing says the battery powers more than 100 Greenworks tools, which is useful if you already own a Greenworks mower, blower or chainsaw. A shared battery means one charger and one set of batteries across the yard, and that is a real advantage if you plan to expand your kit. The first alternative in this review is listed with 75-plus compatible tools, and the tool-only version says it fits all Greenworks 40V batteries and chargers, so both point to the same shared platform.

Check the charger and battery compatibility before you buy a second battery. The listing says the battery is part of the Greenworks 40V range. It does not list every compatible battery model, so match the battery to your existing tools using the Greenworks listing for that battery rather than assuming it fits.

Warranty and maintenance claims

The listing states a 3-year tool warranty and a 2-year battery warranty, and it describes the coverage as including free parts replacement. Those terms are worth reading in full before you buy, because the listing does not reproduce the warranty document. The bullets also claim that the motor is maintenance free and that it can last 10 years or more. Those are product claims, and this review reports them as the listing’s words. A warranty statement and a motor life claim are not the same as a guarantee of performance.

The bullets describe the trimmer as having no gas, oil or fumes, which is a simple fact about an electric tool. They also describe it as starting instantly. Those claims fit the category, and they do not need further proof. Routine care still matters. Keep the line feed clear, keep the head free of grass wrapped around the spool, and store the battery off the charger when it is not in use. These are general care points rather than claims from the listing.

Who this trimmer suits

This model suits a homeowner with a small to medium yard that has a mix of lawn edges, fence lines and flower beds. The 13-inch cutting path and the seven-position head cover those jobs without a second tool. The telescoping shaft fits users of different heights, and the edger conversion removes the need to buy a separate edger. It also suits someone who already owns a Greenworks 40V battery, since the same battery can run the trimmer.

It is less suited to dense brush, thick woody growth or a large acreage. The listing describes the line as handling weeds up to 1.5 inches, which is a practical boundary for a trimmer. For heavier clearing, look at a brush cutter with a metal blade, which is a separate category. It is also less suited to a buyer who needs a runtime figure in minutes, because the listing does not supply one. If that figure is important to your decision, compare the battery rating with the listings of the alternatives or with the manufacturer’s own runtime table.

Finally, the model suits someone who wants a single tool for trimming and edging. A trimmer that converts to an edger with three clicks is convenient, but it is a compromise. A dedicated edger may give cleaner edges along long straight runs, and a longer shaft may give more reach on tall fences. The reviewed model is the best fit where versatility is the main need.

The two close alternatives in the same family

The product data includes two Greenworks 40V 13-inch trimmers that share the same head design and the same auto feed approach. They are the closest alternatives to the reviewed model, and they differ mainly in what comes in the box.

Greenworks 40V 13 in Cordless String Trimmer with 20 blades and a 2.0 Ah battery

This version is listed with the same 2-in-1 trimmer and edger function, the same seven-position pivoting head, and the same telescoping shaft that adjusts from 40 to 52 inches. It adds a brush cutter attachment for thick weeds and shrubs and 20 reinforced plastic blades with a tool-free replacement kit. The listing gives a 13-inch cutting width and says the blade kit is meant for tougher terrain. It also includes a 2.0 Ah battery, and it lists the same three-year tool and battery warranty as the reviewed model. The model number is ST40B215-00. The listing says the battery runs 75-plus Greenworks 40V tools, a smaller figure than the 100 claimed for the reviewed model.

View on Amazon

Greenworks 40V 13 in Cordless String Trimmer with 20 blades, tool only

This version is the tool-only option in the same family. The listing describes it as a 2-in-1 trimmer and edger with a built-in guide wheel for clean lines along sidewalks, fences and flower beds. It includes 20 replacement plastic blades and a dedicated blade cover, which the listing says protects the blades during storage and carrying. The auto feed line and the seven-position rotating head are the same as on the other models, and the telescoping shaft and adjustable auxiliary handle are included. The listing says the trimmer fits all Greenworks 40V batteries and chargers. Because it is tool only, the battery and charger are an extra purchase, and the listing does not include either. The model number is ST40B07-00.

View on Amazon

What the listing leaves out

A review is only as useful as the facts behind it, so it helps to say what the listing does not state. The listing does not give a battery runtime in minutes for the 2.0 Ah pack. It does not give a motor speed, a line length, or a weight for the battery pack by itself. It does not state the noise level from an independent test, only the seller’s figure. It also does not say how long the auto feed head holds its line between reloads, which is the question many buyers ask first.

It is also silent on the head’s build, the blade material on the 20-blade versions, and the shaft’s material. Those are real differences between the reviewed model and the alternatives, and the listings do not settle them. If you need one of those details to choose, contact the seller through the Amazon listing before you buy, and compare the answer with the product page rather than relying on this review.

FAQ

Does the Greenworks 40V 13 inch trimmer come with a battery?

The reviewed model listing says it includes a 2.0 Ah battery and a charger, and the title says so directly. The tool-only version does not include either, so check the title before you buy if you already own a Greenworks 40V battery.

How wide is the cutting path?

The title states a 13-inch model, and the alternatives also list a 13-inch cutting width. The listing describes the line as a 0.065-inch auto feed line that handles weeds up to 1.5 inches. The listing does not separately state a cutting swath in other units.

Can I use it as an edger?

Yes. The listing says the head pivots to a seven-position setting that converts the trimmer into a wheeled edger, and it includes a steel edging guide. The listing says the conversion takes three clicks. Read the manual before you change the head.

How long does the battery last?

The listing does not state a runtime in minutes for the 2.0 Ah battery. It gives the battery size and the 40V platform, and it says the battery powers more than 100 Greenworks tools. For runtime, check the manufacturer’s runtime table for your model or the listing of an alternative that states it.

What warranty does it have?

The listing states a 3-year tool warranty and a 2-year battery warranty. It describes the coverage as including free parts replacement. Read the full warranty terms on the listing before you buy, since this review reports only the summary the listing gives.

Which alternative should I choose?

Choose the version with 20 blades and a battery if you want a brush cutter attachment and a ready-to-use kit. Choose the tool-only version if you already own a Greenworks 40V battery and charger, or if you want the lowest up-front cost, and check the battery and charger as a separate purchase.

Bottom line

The Greenworks 40V 13 inch cordless string trimmer makes sense for a homeowner who wants a trimmer and edger in one tool, a seven-position head, and a telescoping shaft that fits more than one user. Its strengths, as the listing describes them, are the pivoting head, the auto feed line and the shared 40V battery. Its gaps are the runtime figure, the noise test and the detailed build data, none of which the listing states in full. Buy it if the edger conversion and the head positions match your yard, and check the battery and warranty terms before you order.

For related reading, our Greenworks 24V 12-inch string trimmer review covers a smaller battery platform, and our Worx 20V 10 inch cordless string trimmer and edger guide is the closest look at a combined trimmer and edger from another brand.

Similar Posts