Best Rotary Push Mowers for Easy Home Lawn Care
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
A rotary push mower is a walk-behind mower with a spinning blade that you push across the lawn, and it is the usual choice for a small to mid-size yard. The main decisions are the power source (gas or battery), the cutting width, the height range and whether the mower mulches, bags or discharges to the side. The five push mowers below come from our product data set. The listings do not use the word rotary, so this post describes each one as a walk-behind push mower and states only the facts its listing gives.
Quick answer
- For a yard up to about 1/4 acre, the PowerSmart gas mower and the Greenworks 40V 17-inch model both name that yard size in their listings.
- For the widest cut in this set, the EGO LM2112 lists a 21-inch cutting width and seven height positions.
- For battery users who already own a platform, the Greenworks models and the EGO mower each list their battery system and whether a battery is included.
- Check the height figures carefully. One Greenworks listing gives a height range in reverse order, so confirm it before you buy.
What the listings tell you about power
Power source changes almost everything else about a push mower: how it starts, how much maintenance it needs, and how long you can mow before stopping. The PowerSmart is the only gas mower in this set. Its listing describes a 144cc four-cycle engine with an auto choke and a primer, started with a pull cord, and it asks for 10W-30 oil, which is not included. The fuel tank holds 0.21 gallons and the oil capacity is 13.5 fluid ounces.
The other four are battery mowers. Three are Greenworks models and one is an EGO. The listings give the battery systems and runtimes as follows:
- Greenworks 40V 16-inch: a 4.0Ah battery and charger are included, with runtime described as varying with grass and operator technique.
- Greenworks 40V 17-inch: the listing says up to 35 minutes on a single charge with the 4.0Ah battery included.
- Greenworks 48V (two 24V packs) 17-inch: two 4.0Ah batteries, with up to 45 minutes of runtime per listing.
- EGO LM2112: a 56V 4.0Ah ARC battery and charger are included, with up to 35 minutes of runtime per listing.
Cutting width and height
Cutting width sets how many passes a lawn needs, and height range sets how short you can cut. The table uses the figures each listing states. “Not stated” means the listing gives no figure.
| Mower | Deck or cutting width | Height range in listing | Height positions | Power |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PowerSmart EasyCut 18-inch | 18 inches, steel deck | 1.5 to 3.9 inches | 5 positions (spec table says 6) | 144cc gas, pull cord |
| Greenworks 40V 16-inch | 15.67 inches | 1.25 to 3.75 inches | 5 positions | 40V, 4.0Ah included |
| Greenworks 40V 17-inch | 16.14 inches | Listing states 1.25 and 3.13 inches in reverse order | 6 positions | 40V, 4.0Ah included |
| Greenworks 48V 17-inch | 16.14 inches | About 1-3/8 to 3-3/4 inches | 5 positions | Two 4.0Ah batteries |
| EGO LM2112 | 21 inches | 1.25 to 4 inches | 7 positions | 56V 4.0Ah included |
The Greenworks 40V 17-inch listing gives a maximum height of 1.25 inches and a minimum of 3.13 inches, which reverses the usual order. Confirm the range with the seller before you rely on it for a low cut.
The five mowers, one by one
PowerSmart EasyCut 18-Inch Gas Push Mower
This is the gas option in the set. The listing describes a 144cc four-cycle overhead-valve engine with an auto choke and a primer for starting. It has an 18-inch steel deck and side discharge, so clippings are thrown to one side rather than bagged. The listing gives a five-position height adjustment from 1.5 to 3.9 inches, with wheels of 7 inches at the front and 8 inches at the rear, which the listing says help with maneuvering around trees, flower beds and tight corners. The item weighs 58.4 pounds and folds to 26 by 19 by 14 inches. The listing names a yard size of about 1/4 acre and a recommended terrain of flat. The warranty is two years limited. Oil is not included, and the listing asks for 10W-30. The listing does not state a warranty for the engine separately from the mower.
Greenworks 40V 16-Inch Push Lawn Mower with 4.0Ah Battery and Charger
This Greenworks model is the lightest battery option by listed weight in this group. Its listing says it weighs 37.5 pounds and is 35 percent lighter than steel-deck mowers. It cuts up to about one-third of an acre on a full 4.0Ah battery, and the listing says runtime varies with grass conditions and technique. The height adjustment is a single lever with five positions, from 1.25 to 3.75 inches. The listing describes a two-in-one system for mulching and rear bagging, and a grass collection bag is included. The package contains the mower, bag, battery, charger and owner’s manual. The warranty is three years for the tool and battery. The listing says the battery works with more than 75 Greenworks 40V tools, which matters if you already run that system. The deck is plastic, and the listing gives the cut width as 15.67 inches.
Greenworks 40V 17-Inch Push Lawn Mower with 4.0Ah Battery and Charger
The 17-inch Greenworks is a brushless model. The listing says it runs up to 35 minutes on a single 4.0Ah battery, and that it is 30 percent quieter than gas mowers. It has push-button start and no pull cord. The listing describes a mulch or bag choice and says it suits yards up to 1/4 acre. There are six cutting heights, adjusted with one lever. The listing gives a cut width of 16.14 inches and a product size of 51.96 by 19.09 by 40.94 inches. The warranty is described as three years for the tool and three years for the battery. The height range is the one to check, because the spec table lists its limits in reverse order. The listing does not state the item weight.
Greenworks 48V (24V x 2) 17-Inch Push Lawn Mower with Two 4.0Ah Batteries
This model uses two 4.0Ah batteries in a 48V configuration, which the listing describes as up to 45 minutes of runtime and up to a quarter acre of mowing. It has a 17-inch poly deck, which the listing says is 40 percent lighter than a steel deck and rust resistant. The five-position height lever runs from about 1-3/8 to 3-3/4 inches, and you can mulch or rear-bag. The listing describes it as maintenance free, with no gas, oil or tune-ups. It also includes a dual-port rapid charger. The weight is 42.5 pounds. The warranty in the bullets is three years for the tool and battery, but the spec table says two years, so check the warranty terms with the seller. The listing says the battery works with more than 200 Greenworks 24V tools. The poly deck and the wall-hanging feature suit a small garage, the listing says.
EGO Power+ LM2112 Cordless Push Mower with 56V 4.0Ah Battery and Charger
The EGO is the widest mower in this set, with a 21-inch cutting width and a 21-inch deck. The listing says it delivers up to 6.0 foot-pounds of cutting torque, and that the brushless motor gives long runtimes and low vibration. It includes a 56V 4.0Ah ARC lithium battery and charger, with up to 35 minutes of runtime per listing. Height has seven positions, from 1.25 to 4 inches. The mower offers three functions: mulching, bagging and side discharge. It starts with a push button, has LED headlights and an adjustable handle height. The listing describes the construction as IPX4 rated, which means weather-resistant. The item is listed at 67.5 inches deep, 22.4 inches wide and 36.2 inches high. The item weight and warranty length are not stated in our product data. Choose it if you want the widest cut here and already own, or plan to buy into, the EGO 56V system.
Who each push mower suits
- Small to mid-size yard, gas preferred: the PowerSmart. It is the only gas option here and the listing names a 1/4-acre yard.
- Light, compact battery mower: the Greenworks 40V 16-inch, with a listed weight of 37.5 pounds and a bag included.
- Quiet, push-button battery mower with six heights: the Greenworks 40V 17-inch. Confirm the height range first.
- Two-battery kit with a rust-resistant poly deck: the Greenworks 48V 17-inch.
- Wide cut and seven heights: the EGO LM2112, if the battery platform fits your other tools.
The listings do not describe any of these as rotary in their own words. If you want a deeper explanation of blade styles before you choose, read best blade style for lawn mowers: rotary, mulching, reel or flail.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying on width alone. A 21-inch deck covers more ground per pass, but it also needs a larger battery and more space to store.
- Ignoring the height range. The 40V 17-inch listing reverses its height figures, and the 48V listing gives its range in different units. Read the figures carefully.
- Forgetting the oil on the gas model. The PowerSmart listing says oil is not included and asks for 10W-30.
- Treating runtime as a fixed number. Every battery listing says runtime depends on grass conditions and technique.
- Overlooking the bag. The 40V 16-inch includes a grass bag. Check whether the model you pick includes one, because the listings do not all say.
FAQ
Is a rotary push mower the same as a reel mower?
No. Reel mowers use a cylinder of blades that scissors against a bar, and rotary mowers use a spinning blade. The five mowers in this post are walk-behind push mowers with a spinning-blade style, but their listings do not state the blade type, so check the listing before buying if blade style matters to you.
Which mower in this post has the most cutting width?
The EGO LM2112 lists a 21-inch cutting width, the widest in the set. The PowerSmart lists 18 inches, and the three Greenworks mowers list between 15.67 and 16.14 inches.
Do I need a battery with the Greenworks mowers?
The 40V 16-inch and 40V 17-inch listings include a 4.0Ah battery and charger in the package. The 48V listing includes two 4.0Ah batteries, and the EGO includes a 56V 4.0Ah battery and charger.
Can these mowers mulch?
Yes, according to the listings. The Greenworks 16-inch, the 48V 17-inch and the EGO all list mulching or two-in-one operation. The PowerSmart lists side discharge, and the 40V 17-inch lists mulch or bag operation.
How much yard does each mower cover?
The listings give different measures. PowerSmart names a yard of about 1/4 acre, the 40V 16-inch says up to 1/3 acre on a full battery, and the 40V 17-inch and 48V models name up to 1/4 acre. The EGO listing does not give a yard size.
Are these mowers covered by a warranty?
The PowerSmart lists a two-year limited warranty. The Greenworks models list three-year tool and battery coverage, with the 48V spec table showing two years, so confirm the terms. The EGO listing does not state a warranty length in our product data.
Bottom line
Choose by power source and yard size first. If you want gas, the PowerSmart is the only option here. If you want a battery mower that stays simple to run, pick the Greenworks model whose battery platform you already use, and check its height figures. For the widest cut and seven height positions, the EGO LM2112 is the largest choice in the set. Before you buy any of them, read the warranty and height lines in the listing, because those are where the figures are not consistent across this group. For a comparison of a gas push mower in the same category, see SENIX 20-inch gas push mower review.


