Best 20V Cordless Electric Snow Shovels: 4 Models Compared
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you want the best 20v cordless electric snow shovel for a driveway, deck, or walkway, start with three listed numbers: clearing width, throw distance, and whether a battery and charger come in the box. This page covers the four 20-volt models in the product pool for this keyword. Their listed clearing widths are 10 or 13 inches, their listed throws run from 18 to 23 feet, and two of the four include both a battery and a charger.
Quick answer
- Choose the STEELITE 13-inch kit when you want the longest listed throw in this group, 23 feet, with a charger in the box. Its listing states two 4.0Ah batteries.
- Choose the Snow Joe X20-SNOW-5A for steps, narrow walks, and lighter lifting. It has a 10-inch path and weighs 8.4 pounds with one battery.
- Choose the CRAFTSMAN 10-inch only if you already own a CRAFTSMAN V20 battery and charger. The tool ships without them.
- Treat the ETOOLAB 13-inch as a one-battery option until you confirm the charger, because its listing does not say whether one is included.
What matters in a 20V cordless snow shovel
A cordless snow shovel removes the cord, and the battery sets how long it runs. Read each listing as three separate questions: how wide a path it cuts, how far it throws the snow, and what you must buy before the first storm. For a broader look at cordless options, see the roundup of cordless snow blower shovels, or the guide to electric shovels for gravel driveways.
Clearing width and depth
Two models cut a 13-inch path (STEELITE and ETOOLAB), and two cut 10 inches (Snow Joe and CRAFTSMAN). The listed depth per pass runs from 5 inches (Snow Joe) to 8 inches (ETOOLAB). The Snow Joe collection page gives the same kind of guidance for its power shovels: “For deeper snow, skim the top layer first, then work down to the ground.” For long driveways or heavy, deep storms, the same page says a snow blower is the better fit.
Throw distance and chute
Listed throws are 18 feet for Snow Joe, 19 feet for ETOOLAB, 20 feet for CRAFTSMAN, and 23 feet for STEELITE. Each listing also describes its chute: plus or minus 30 degrees for STEELITE, 30 degrees left or right for ETOOLAB, 45 degrees for Snow Joe, and a 60-degree rotating chute for CRAFTSMAN. The chute decides where the snow lands, so a longer throw helps only when you can aim it where you want.
Included battery and charger
This is the biggest practical difference. The STEELITE title lists two 4.0Ah batteries with a charger. The Snow Joe listing includes one 5.0Ah battery and a charger. The ETOOLAB listing names one 20V 4.0Ah battery and does not mention a charger. The CRAFTSMAN page says the battery and charger are not included. Neither the STEELITE nor the Snow Joe listing gives a runtime figure.
Battery platforms and weight
A 20-volt label does not mean the battery fits. Snow Joe’s page says X20 shovels use 20V ECOSHARP batteries, which are not compatible with its 24V IONMAX packs or chargers. CRAFTSMAN says its tool works with CRAFTSMAN V20 batteries, sold separately. For weight, Snow Joe’s collection page gives 8.4 pounds for the X20 with a single battery, and Snow Joe’s FAQ says a light, compact tool is easiest to carry on decks, steps, patios and sidewalks.
Worked example: passes on one walk
Assume a walk that is 36 inches wide. That width is an example, not a listing figure. Divide the path width by the listed clearing width and round up to whole passes, ignoring overlap between passes.
- STEELITE, 13-inch path: 36 / 13 = 2.8, so 3 passes.
- Snow Joe, 10-inch path: 36 / 10 = 3.6, so 4 passes.
The 13-inch model saves one pass on this walk. The calculation assumes each pass clears its full listed width, so overlap, wet snow, and the chute setting will change the real count.
Side-by-side listing data
Each row uses the listing record for that model unless the Source column names a manufacturer page. Cells say “not stated” where neither the listing record nor a cited page gives the figure.
| Model | Clearing width | Listed depth | Listed throw | Weight | Battery and charger | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| STEELITE DG843, 20V | 13 in | 6 in | 23 ft | 10 lb | Two 4.0Ah batteries and charger | Listing record |
| Snow Joe X20-SNOW-5A, 20V | 10 in | 5 in | 18 ft | 8.4 lb with one battery | One 5.0Ah battery and charger | Listing record; Snow Joe collection page for weight |
| ETOOLAB ETS20, 20V | 13 in | 8 in | 19 ft | not stated | One 4.0Ah battery; charger not stated | Listing record |
| CRAFTSMAN CMXSVXA2016-001, V20 | 10 in | 6 in | 20 ft | 12.13 lb assembled | Not included (tool only); battery and charger sold separately | CRAFTSMAN product page |
Model notes
STEELITE 13-inch: longest throw, charger included
The listing gives a 13-inch clearing width, a 6-inch depth, a 23-foot throw, and a chute that turns plus or minus 30 degrees. It names 20 volts, a 10-pound weight, two 4.0Ah batteries, and a charger, along with a 2-year manufacturer warranty. The listing also says the brand is sold under STEELITE Tools and is not associated with STEELITE International. We did not find a manufacturer product page for this model among the pages we opened, so these figures rest on the listing record. Choose this kit when the path is wide and you want the batteries and charger in the box.
Snow Joe X20-SNOW-5A: narrow walks and lighter lifting
The listing gives a 10-inch clearing width, a 5-inch depth, an 18-foot throw, and an adjustable 45-degree chute. It includes one 5.0Ah battery and a charger, and its handle extends from 47 to 52 inches. Snow Joe’s collection page says the X20 20V cordless snow shovel weighs 8.4 pounds with a single battery and carries a 1-year warranty. That page does not list the X20-SNOW-5A by name, so its battery, charger, and width come from the listing record. This model fits steps and narrow walks where the lightest carry matters most.
ETOOLAB ETS20: deepest listed cut, charger unclear
The listing gives a 13-inch clearing width, a cut up to 8 inches deep, and a 19-foot throw. It names a 3000 RPM brushless motor, a design that folds down for storage, and one 20V 4.0Ah cold-resistant battery. The listing says the battery runs about 15 to 20 minutes per charge and clears up to six standard parking spaces, depending on snow depth, density, and conditions. Those are listing claims, not figures from a cited page. The listing does not state the charger or the weight. Choose this model if you want the deepest listed cut in this group and you can confirm the charger first.
CRAFTSMAN 10-inch: tool only for V20 owners
The manufacturer page gives a 10-inch clearing width, a 6-inch depth, a throw of up to 20 feet, and an assembled weight of 12.13 pounds. It states a 1-year limited warranty. The page says “Battery and charger not included” and that the tool works with CRAFTSMAN V20 batteries sold separately. It also claims up to 20 minutes of maximum working time, which is a manufacturer claim. Buy this model only if you already own a compatible V20 battery and charger.
Safety before you clear snow
The cited safety pages are general and do not address these four models, so the advice below applies to any snow shoveling. Illinois Extension estimates 11,500 snow shovel-related injuries and medical emergencies a year. Its tips are to decrease the amount of snow you lift in each load and to lift with your legs, not your back. If chest pain, shortness of breath, or other heart symptoms start while you shovel, stop and seek care immediately.
OSHA’s winter-weather page is written for workers, but its advice carries over. It says shoveling can bring on exhaustion, dehydration, back injuries, or heart attacks. It recommends a warm-up first, small scoops, and pushing the snow instead of lifting it. OSHA also lists electrocution from contact with downed energized power lines as a winter hazard, so keep the tool away from any downed line.
How we chose
The research file for this keyword holds 12 listings. We kept the four that describe a 20-volt snow shovel and left out eight: three at 56 volts, three at 40 volts (one of them lists 20 volts in its voltage field but says 40V in its title and bullets), one at 24 volts, and one 20-volt leaf blower that is not a snow shovel. Listing figures come from the scanner records saved on 2026-10-11. We opened four non-retail pages: two manufacturer pages, one extension page, and one OSHA page. We did not rank the four models, because the cited pages do not compare them. The quick answer matches each model to a job using the figures above.
What we could not verify
- Real runtime for any of the four. The CRAFTSMAN page and the ETOOLAB listing make time claims; the STEELITE and Snow Joe listings give none.
- The charger that comes with the ETOOLAB model. The listing does not state one.
- Manufacturer pages for the STEELITE DG843 and ETOOLAB ETS20 models. The searches did not return one, so their figures come from listing records only.
- Which company stands behind the STEELITE brand. The listing says STEELITE Tools is not associated with STEELITE International, and we did not confirm that.
- Performance on ice, wet snow, or depths beyond the listed figures.
What the sources do not say
The cited pages do not describe battery removal or any blade work for these four models, so this post gives no such steps. They do not give a runtime for the STEELITE or Snow Joe kits, and they do not compare the four models with one another. The Snow Joe page covers the X20 family but not the single-battery X20-SNOW-5A by name. The OSHA page is written for workplaces, and its advice is general rather than specific to battery shovels.
FAQ
Which 20V snow shovel has the widest path?
The STEELITE and ETOOLAB listings both give a 13-inch clearing width, the widest in this group. The Snow Joe and CRAFTSMAN listings give 10 inches. A wider path means fewer passes on the same walk.
Is the Snow Joe the lightest model?
Among the models that state a weight, yes. The Snow Joe listing and the Snow Joe collection page give 8.4 pounds with one battery. The STEELITE listing gives 10 pounds, and the CRAFTSMAN page gives 12.13 pounds assembled. The ETOOLAB listing does not state a weight, so it cannot be ranked on weight.
Do I need to buy a battery for the CRAFTSMAN model?
Yes. The manufacturer page says the battery and charger are not included and are sold separately, so you need a CRAFTSMAN V20 battery and charger before the shovel will run.
Can I use a battery from another brand?
Do not assume so. Snow Joe says its X20 batteries are not compatible with its 24V IONMAX batteries or chargers. CRAFTSMAN says the tool works with CRAFTSMAN V20 batteries. The cited pages do not address cross-brand fit, so check the manual or the manufacturer before you buy.
How long does a 20V cordless snow shovel run on one charge?
The figures are claims, not guarantees. The CRAFTSMAN page claims up to 20 minutes of maximum working time, and the ETOOLAB listing claims about 15 to 20 minutes per charge. The STEELITE and Snow Joe listings give no runtime. Real runtime depends on snow depth, snow weight, and how long you work between charges.
Bottom line
Match the battery platform before you match the voltage. If you have no battery yet, buy a kit that includes a battery and charger, and choose the clearing width that fits your narrowest step or walk.
Sources
- Snow Joe: Cordless and Electric Snow Blowers and Power Shovels (opened 2026-10-29)
- CRAFTSMAN: V20 Cordless 10-inch Single-Stage Push Snow Shovel (Tool Only) (opened 2026-10-29)
- Illinois Extension: Prevent post-shoveling aches and pains (opened 2026-10-29)
- OSHA: Winter Weather – Hazards/Precautions (opened 2026-10-29)





