Best American Lawn Mower 50514 14 inch 11-Amp

Best American Lawn Mower 50514 14 inch 11-Amp

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Someone typing “best american lawn mower 50514 14 inch 11-amp” usually wants a plain answer: is this corded electric mower a sensible pick for a small lawn, and what is missing from the listing? The American Lawn Mower Company 50514 is a 14-inch corded electric mower with an 11-amp motor. Its listing states the weight, the cutting height range, the dimensions and a two-year manufacturer warranty. It does not state a voltage, a cord length, a grass catcher or a blade type. This page keeps to what the listing states and marks everything else “not stated”.

Quick answer

  • The listing describes the 50514 as a corded electric mower with a 14-inch cutting width and an 11-amp motor, plugged into power rather than run on gasoline or a battery.
  • The listing gives the operation mode as Manual and says nothing about self-propulsion, so plan on moving it yourself unless the seller confirms otherwise.
  • Cutting height runs from 1 inch to 2.5 inches across five positions. The listing names no higher setting.
  • Voltage, cord length, grass catcher and mulching are not stated. Check them before you buy, especially if your outlet is far from the lawn.

The product at a glance

Every row below comes from the stored listing record for ASIN B07JVQDKGK. That record is a stored scan dated 2026-10-23. Where the record is silent, the cell says “not stated”. That means the record does not mention the feature. It does not mean the mower lacks it, so ask the seller before you rule a feature in or out.

Item What the listing states
Brand American Lawn Mower Company
Model number 50514
Power source Corded Electric
Operation mode Manual (self-propulsion not stated)
Motor 11-amp electric motor
Cutting width 14 inches
Cutting height range 1 inch to 2.5 inches
Cutting height positions 5
Item weight 21 pounds
Product dimensions 52 in D x 14 in W x 38 in H
Material Plastic (the part it applies to is not stated)
Battery No battery; the listing says the mower runs without battery charging
Voltage not stated
Cord length not stated
Grass catcher not stated
Mulching not stated
Blade type not stated
Warranty 2 year manufacturer (terms not stated)
Color Black

View on Amazon

Who it suits

The listing’s own wording is the best guide to the intended buyer. It says the 14-inch deck “is suited for routine lawn maintenance and maneuvering through smaller yard areas.” That points to a small or narrow lawn, a side yard, or a yard with beds and paths to work around. A large open lawn is a different job.

A small lawn within reach of an outlet

Because the mower is corded, distance is the first thing to check. A corded machine needs an outlet that reaches the whole mowing area, or an extension cord that does that job safely. The listing does not state a cord length, so the reach cannot be worked out from it. Measure the distance from the nearest outdoor outlet to the far corner of the lawn before you order. Our guide to extension cords for electric lawn mowers explains how to choose a cord for that run.

Someone who wants no gasoline and no battery

The listing says the design “provides continuous mowing power without gasoline or battery charging.” For a buyer who does not want to store fuel, change oil or charge a battery between sessions, that is the main appeal. The trade-off is the cord. A cord can be run over, cut or tripped over, so the mowing routine has to account for it.

A reader who keeps grass at a moderate height

The highest setting in the listing is 2.5 inches, which suits a lawn kept at a moderate height. If you want a taller cut for longer grass, check that the top setting fits your plan before you order. The listing names no setting above 2.5 inches, so a taller cut is outside what the listing describes.

Estimating passes for your lawn

The listing gives a 14-inch cutting width, which is the one number on the page that helps plan a mowing session. Assume a 2-inch overlap between passes, so each pass adds about 12 inches of newly cut width. That overlap is our assumption; the listing does not state one. Under that assumption a lawn 30 feet wide takes about 30 passes, because 30 feet is 360 inches and 360 divided by 12 is 30.

Lawn width Passes at 12 inches of new cut each
20 feet about 20
30 feet about 30
40 feet about 40
50 feet about 50

The count leaves out the turns at the end of each row, which take time and room. To redo the figure for any width, convert the width to inches, divide by 12 and round up. The number is only a planning aid. It does not describe how the mower performs on the lawn.

Skip it if

  • You need self-propulsion. The listing says Manual and does not mention self-propulsion. If that matters on a sloped or large lot, our guide to self-propelled corded electric lawn mowers covers the other category.
  • You need to bag clippings. The listing does not mention a grass catcher. If bagging is part of your routine, look at small electric lawn mowers with a bag before you decide.
  • Your lawn is far from any outlet and you do not want to manage a long cord. A corded mower depends on the cord run. A long run adds tripping and wear risk, as the OSHA guidance quoted below describes.
  • You need a cut above 2.5 inches. No higher setting is listed.
  • You need a stated voltage to match a circuit or a generator. The listing does not state one, so any match has to be checked with the seller or the manual.

What the listing does not say

A product listing can be thin on the points that matter most once the mower is in use. For the 50514, the stored listing record is missing these items:

  • Voltage. The listing gives an 11-amp motor and no voltage. This post does not supply a voltage from memory or from other sellers.
  • Cord length and cord type. Not stated. The cord length decides where you can mow without an extension.
  • Grass catcher and mulching. Neither is listed. The bullets cover cutting power and width, not clippings handling.
  • Blade type and blade replacement. The listing names no blade type and no replacement part.
  • Runtime and cutting performance. A corded mower has no battery runtime. The listing says the power is continuous when plugged in, but it gives no figures for cutting speed or performance on tall or wet grass.
  • Warranty terms. The listing says “2 Year Manufacturer” and nothing about what the warranty covers.

The 11-amp figure needs care. An amp is a unit of current, not of power. Power in watts equals volts multiplied by amps, and the listing gives no voltage. The wattage of this motor therefore cannot be worked out from the listing, and this post does not guess a voltage to fill the gap. If you want to compare this mower with a model that lists watts, ask the seller for both figures.

The bullets also use phrases such as “strong corded power” and “dependable grass-cutting performance.” Those are the seller’s words. The sources we opened do not describe how this model performs, so this page treats those phrases as the listing’s claims and nothing more.

Care the listing leaves out

The listing says nothing about maintenance. The university pages we opened cover what any mower owner has to do, and the advice applies to a corded mower like this one. Illinois Extension says that after mowing you should clean the deck, because “Grass clippings stuck to the bottom of the mower deck hold water causing the metal to rust and shortening the lifespan of the equipment.”

Blade care is the other routine task. UF/IFAS says that “Generally, your mower blade should be sharpened at least twice a year.” It adds that the schedule “may need more frequent sharpening depending on the size of your lawn, grass type, and how often you mow.” Illinois Extension also says to disconnect the power before removing a blade. Its wording refers to a spark plug or a battery, so on a corded mower the equivalent step is to unplug it first.

Questions to ask the seller before you buy

The listing record leaves gaps that a seller or the manufacturer can fill quickly. Ask for these answers in writing before you buy:

  • What is the voltage, and does the cord ship with the mower or need to be bought separately?
  • What is the cord length, and is there a cord-retaining or strain-relief feature?
  • Does the mower bag, discharge to the side or mulch, and is a grass catcher included?
  • What exactly does the two-year warranty cover, and who handles a claim?

How we chose

This post covers one product: the American Lawn Mower Company 50514, ASIN B07JVQDKGK. It is here because its listing states the three details a buyer searching this keyword most likely wants to see: corded electric power, a 14-inch cutting width and an 11-amp motor. Those are the specifications that decide whether the mower suits a given yard, so they set the scope of the page.

The listing data comes from a stored scan record checked on 2026-10-23, and the text used here is the saved copy of that record. No manufacturer page for this exact model turned up in our search, so the product facts rest on the listing record alone. The other sources are university extension and government pages on corded and general lawn mower use. None of them describe this model.

No ranking is claimed. This post does not compare the 50514 with other mowers, and it does not compare it with other American Lawn Mower models.

What we could not verify

Several points need an answer from the seller or the manufacturer. The sources we opened do not supply them:

  • How the 11-amp motor performs in grass of different heights, density or moisture. The listing describes the motor but gives no performance figures.
  • Voltage, cord length and what cord or plug the mower ships with.
  • Blade type, the blade removal method and the replacement part number.
  • The terms of the two-year manufacturer warranty beyond the words “2 Year Manufacturer.”
  • Whether the current seller page still matches the stored record dated 2026-10-23.

FAQ

Is the American Lawn Mower 50514 corded or battery powered?

The listing says it is a corded electric mower. Its power source is listed as Corded Electric, and the listing says the design runs without gasoline or battery charging.

What cutting height range does the 50514 offer?

The listing gives a minimum adjustable cutting height of 1 inch and a maximum of 2.5 inches, across five positions. It names no higher setting.

Does the listing say whether the mower has a grass bag?

No. The listing does not mention a grass catcher, and it does not say whether the mower mulches. Check the seller’s full product page or ask before you buy if bagging matters to you.

How much does the 50514 weigh?

The listing gives an item weight of 21 pounds and product dimensions of 52 inches deep, 14 inches wide and 38 inches high.

What electrical safety steps apply to a corded mower like this one?

Keep the cord out of the mowing path so it does not become a tripping hazard. OSHA’s guidance on electric tools warns that cords can present one, and it names a ground-fault circuit interrupter as an acceptable protective measure. Unplug the mower before you work on the blade. For wet grass, see our note on electric lawn mowers and wet grass.

Does the listing state a voltage or cord length?

No. The listing gives an 11-amp motor but states neither a voltage nor a cord length. Measure the distance to your outlet and get both figures from the seller before you buy.

Bottom line

Buy this corded mower only if one outlet, or one safe extension run, reaches the whole lawn and a top cutting height of 2.5 inches suits your grass. If you need a grass bag, self-propulsion or a stated voltage, choose a different mower.

Sources

  • American Lawn Mower 50514 listing (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07JVQDKGK
  • eTool: Construction – Electrical Incidents – Power Tools, Occupational Safety and Health Administration (opened 2026-10-22) https://www.osha.gov/etools/construction/electrical-incidents/power-tools
  • Mower Maintenance, Illinois Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.illinois.edu/lawns/mower-maintenance
  • Lawn Mower Care and Safety, Gardening Solutions, UF/IFAS (opened 2026-10-22) https://gardeningsolutions.ifas.ufl.edu/care/tools-and-equipment/lawn-mower-care-and-safety/

Similar Posts