Best BSMTEK 15-Amp Electric Chipper Shredder
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you searched for best bsmtek 15-amp electric chipper shredder, the 50 L bin is bought as part of the machine, and the listing says exactly that. It is a 15-amp electric chipper-shredder with a 50-litre collecting bin, built for branches up to 1.8 inches thick. The listing says the bin is extra large and durable and that BSMTEK provides a 10-year warranty on collecting bins. It does not say whether the bin can be bought separately, and it gives no warranty for the machine itself. This post covers the machine and its bin together, and sets out what the listing states and what it leaves out.
Quick answer
- The listing is for a complete 15-amp electric chipper-shredder that includes a 50 L collecting bin, not a bin sold on its own.
- The listing says the machine chips branches up to 1.8 inches thick, uses a 25:1 reduction ratio, and rolls on two 7-inch wheels.
- The listing says BSMTEK provides a 10-year warranty on the collecting bins. It states no warranty for the machine.
- The Ohio State University Extension pages we opened ask for eye protection, gloves, bystanders kept well back, and no feeding from a slope.
The product at a glance
The table lists what the Amazon listing states for this ASIN, read on 2026-10-23. Cells say “not stated” where the listing is silent.
| Item | What the listing states |
|---|---|
| Product type | Electric wood chipper-shredder with collecting bin |
| Brand and model number | BSMTEK, model KF100291-01-YH-GR |
| Color option selected | New Green |
| Motor | 15-amp copper motor |
| Motor speed | not stated |
| Reduction ratio | 25:1 |
| Cutting capacity | Branches up to 1.8 inches thick |
| Collecting bin | 50 L, described as extra large and durable |
| Bin-only purchase | not stated |
| Bin warranty | 10 years on collecting bins (listing claim) |
| Machine warranty | not stated |
| Wheels | Two 7-inch rolling wheels |
| Dimensions | 35 x 18.5 x 21.3 inches |
| Item weight | 25.8 pounds |
| Blade type and count | not stated |
| Feed opening size | not stated |
| Power cord length | not stated |
| Circuit requirement | not stated |
| Safety features | not stated |
| Claimed size reduction | “Reduce yard waste to only 1/25 size” (listing claim) |
What the bin size means in other units
The bin is listed at 50 litres. Converting that to units a buyer can compare with a bag or a wheelbarrow is simple arithmetic. One US gallon is 3.785 litres, so 50 litres is about 13.2 US gallons. One cubic foot is about 28.3 litres, so 50 litres is about 1.77 cubic feet. These are unit conversions of the listed capacity, not claims about how much chipped wood the bin holds in use.
A buyer who empties the bin often will also want to know how it is removed and how it attaches, and the listing does not describe either. Ask the seller to confirm both before buying.
The listing also says the bin lets you collect and transfer 2 times more chipped wood, and that there is no need to buy bags. The listing does not say 2 times more than what, so this post reports the phrase as the listing’s claim and does not turn it into a number.
Reduction ratio and the 1/25 claim
The listing gives a 25:1 reduction ratio, and separately says the machine reduces yard waste to 1/25 of its size. The title and the bullets both give the 1.8-inch figure, which this post reads as one specification. These ratio figures are different measures. A gear reduction ratio describes how the drive is geared, while a waste size describes the material after chipping. The listing does not explain how the two are linked, so this post does not compute a volume figure from them.
Our pros and cons of electric mowers guide is a related read if you are comparing electric yard equipment with other power options.
Who it suits
This machine suits a homeowner whose yard waste is mostly leaves, twigs and branches up to about 1.8 inches thick, and who wants the mulch kept in the same unit rather than bagged. The listing says it turns leaves, twigs, brush and branches into mulch, and that the bin means no bags need to be bought.
It suits a buyer who prefers one machine for branches and leaves rather than separate bags and a separate chipper. The listing presents the bin and the machine as one product, and the saved text does not offer the bin on its own.
It also suits someone who needs to move the machine around a yard by hand. The listing describes two 7-inch rolling wheels and an item weight of 25.8 pounds, which the listing says makes it easy to move and store.
Corded electric equipment depends on where the outlet is. Before buying, measure the route from the outlet to the spot where you will feed branches. The listing does not state a cord length, so the route may need an extension. Our extension cord guide for electric lawn mowers covers the cord questions for electric yard equipment in general.
Before you order: a checklist
- Check the thickest branch you cut against the listed 1.8-inch capacity. Anything thicker is outside the stated limit.
- Decide where the bin will sit and whether you can reach it safely. The listing does not describe how the bin is emptied.
- Look at the outlet and the route to the feeding spot. The listing gives no cord length.
- Ask the seller whether the bin is sold on its own, and what warranty covers the machine.
Safety basics for a chipper-shredder
The Ohio State University Extension pages we opened stress keeping bystanders well back, because thrown objects can strike people near the machine. They ask for safety glasses with side shields or goggles, a face shield over them where there is flying debris, and leather gloves for handling material and the knives. One page says workers who feed material into self-feeding chippers can be caught in the knives, and that an unlatched, improperly secured or damaged hood can be thrown from the machine. Gloves should be worn when handling the knives.
One of the pages advises positioning the machine so workers do not stand on slopes when feeding material into it. For a home user, that means choosing level ground for the chipper before the first branch goes in.
The same Ohio State pages also cover upkeep. They say to inspect the unit for signs of wear and damage, and to keep the equipment and all accessories in good repair, following the maintenance schedule in the operator’s manual. The listing does not say whether a manual is included, so ask the seller before buying.
Skip it if
- You need the bin on its own. The listing does not say whether the bin is sold separately.
- You need a warranty on the machine. The listing gives 10 years on the collecting bins only.
- Your branches are thicker than 1.8 inches. The listing gives that as the cutting capacity.
- You cannot keep bystanders well back while the machine runs. The Ohio State pages advise keeping them clear.
- You only have a sloping spot to feed the machine. One Ohio State page advises against standing on slopes when feeding.
- You need a cord length, motor speed or circuit rating before you buy. None is stated in the listing.
What the listing does not say
The listing gives clear dimensions, weight and a short list of features. It is silent on several points that matter for a corded machine of this kind.
Warranty
The listing says BSMTEK provides a 10-year warranty on collecting bins. It does not state a warranty for the machine, the motor or the knives. The bin warranty should not be read as covering the whole machine.
Power, cord and circuit
The listing gives a 15-amp motor and a 25:1 reduction ratio. It does not give a motor speed, a power cord length, a plug type or a circuit requirement. Each of these affects where the machine can run and how far it can sit from the outlet.
Blades and feed
The listing does not state the number or type of blades, the feed opening size or whether the machine has a hood that locks. These are the points the Ohio State pages single out for safety, so they are worth checking with the seller before buying.
Assembly
The listing describes the wheels as easy to assemble, but it does not say how long assembly takes, which parts must be fitted, or whether any tools are needed. Those details matter for a machine that arrives in a box, so check them against the manual before buying.
Emptying the bin
The bullets describe the bin as collecting and transferring chipped wood, but they do not explain how the bin is emptied, how the bin is attached or how much it weighs when full.
How we chose
This post covers one product: the BSMTEK 50L Collecting Bin, 15-Amp Wood Chipper Shredder, ASIN B0GHD85774. The keyword refers to the bin, but the listing is for the whole machine, so the post treats the bin as part of the chipper-shredder. The title, bullets and specifications together fix the product: a 50 L bin, a 15-amp motor, a 1.8-inch cutting capacity, a 25:1 reduction ratio and two 7-inch wheels. The stored product data did not include this ASIN, so the Amazon listing was read once on 2026-10-23, and only its title, bullets and specifications were kept.
A manufacturer product or support page for BSMTEK was not found in one search, so the post does not rely on one. The two Ohio State University Extension pages were reused from earlier reads dated 2026-10-22. They cover wood chippers and shredders in general, and they are used only for general safety points. The listing’s claims are labelled as claims. This post does not rank the machine against other chipper-shredders, and it does not use any other brand’s listing for facts about this machine.
What we could not verify
- Any manufacturer specification for BSMTEK model KF100291-01-YH-GR. No official page was reached.
- Whether the bin can be bought on its own, and whether it fits other machines.
- The warranty on the machine, the motor and the knives.
- The motor speed, cord length, plug type and circuit requirement.
- Whether the 10-year bin warranty covers normal wear, and what the claim process involves. The listing says only that the warranty exists.
- How long assembly takes and which tools it needs.
- The “2 times more” claim, and the “1/25 size” claim. Neither is tied to a stated baseline.
- How the feed hood locks and how the blades are arranged, since the listing does not describe them.
FAQ
Is the 50L bin sold separately?
The listing does not say. It describes the bin as part of the machine, and it does not list a bin-only option in the saved text.
How thick a branch can it chip?
The listing says it chips branches up to 1.8 inches thick. Thicker wood is outside the stated capacity.
What warranty comes with it?
The listing says BSMTEK provides a 10-year warranty on collecting bins. It states no warranty for the machine itself.
How big is a 50-litre bin in other units?
Fifty litres is about 13.2 US gallons, or about 1.77 cubic feet. These are unit conversions of the listed capacity.
Does it need bags?
The listing says the bin means no need to buy bags for the chipped wood. It does not describe how the mulch is removed from the bin.
Who should stand where when it runs?
The Ohio State pages advise keeping bystanders well back. One of them also advises against standing on slopes when feeding material into the machine.
Does it handle leaves as well as branches?
The listing says the machine can turn leaves, twigs, brush and branches into mulch. It gives the 1.8-inch limit for branches but no separate capacity for leaves, so this post does not state a leaf capacity.
Bottom line
Decision rule: if your branches are 1.8 inches thick or less, you can keep bystanders well back, and you can set the machine on level ground, this chipper-shredder with its 50 L bin is worth checking further; if you need the bin on its own or a warranty on the machine before buying, ask the seller first.
Sources
- 50L Collecting Bin, 15-Amp Wood Chipper Shredder, Amazon listing (opened 2026-10-23)
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0GHD85774 - Wood Chippers and Shredders, Ohio State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22)
https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-79034 - Wood Chippers and Shredders Safety for Trainers and Landscapers, Ohio State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22)
https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-892285






