Best CRAFTSMAN 20V 10-Inch Cordless Snow Shovel
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Looking for the best CRAFTSMAN 20V 10-inch cordless snow shovel? This page covers one product, the CRAFTSMAN 20V 10-Inch Cordless Snow Shovel sold as a bare tool. The listing says the battery and charger are not included. It describes a 10-inch clearing width, a 6-inch ideal snow depth, a throw of up to 20 feet, and a weight of 12.1 pounds. It names the CRAFTSMAN V20 Battery System as the power source but does not name a battery model. The sections below cover the battery plan, the listing’s own cold-start and storage notes, and what the sources we opened do and do not cover.
Quick answer
- Choose this model only if you already own a CRAFTSMAN V20 battery and charger, or you plan to buy them, because the listing says the battery and charger are not included.
- The listing gives a 10-inch clearing width, a 6-inch ideal snow depth, a 20-foot maximum throw and a 12.1-pound weight.
- The listing says the unit is better suited for handling fluffy snow, and that cold battery temperatures can keep it from starting.
- Skip it if you need a battery and charger in the box, a runtime figure, a warranty term, or a path wider than 10 inches.
The product at a glance
The table lists what the listing states, using the stored scan dated 2026-10-11. Where the listing is silent, the cell says “not stated.” The listing names the same product two ways: the title says “CRAFTSMAN 20V 10-Inch Cordless Snow Shovel Bare Tool,” and the item type name reads “Craftsman Snow Shovel Bare Tool CMXSVXA2016-001B.” The model number in this post is CMXSVXA2016-001B.
The bare-tool format changes the buying decision. A bare tool is the unit alone, so the choice of battery and charger sits with the buyer. Read the table with that in mind: most of its rows describe the machine, and the battery rows are the ones that decide whether the setup works for you.
| Feature | What the listing states |
|---|---|
| Brand | CRAFTSMAN |
| Model | CMXSVXA2016-001B (manufacturer part number CMXSVXA2016-001) |
| Manufacturer | Chicago Tool Company, as listed |
| Power source | Battery powered, CRAFTSMAN V20 Battery System |
| Voltage | 20 volts |
| Battery included | No, tool only |
| Charger included | No, tool only |
| Motor | Brushed, as the listing describes it |
| Auger | Curved dual auger blade |
| Clearing width | 10 inches |
| Ideal snow depth | 6 inches |
| Maximum throw distance | 20 feet |
| Discharge | 60-degree rotating chute, adjustable direction |
| Handle | Ergonomic dual-handle design with a foldable pole |
| Item weight | 12.1 pounds |
| Item dimensions | 9.84 in D x 12.99 in W x 35.63 in H |
| Runtime per charge | not stated |
| Warranty | not stated |
| Number of items | 1 |
Who it suits
This shovel suits a buyer who already has the CRAFTSMAN V20 battery system, or who is ready to buy it with the tool. The listing’s item highlight names “Patios, Decks, and Driveways” as the intended areas. Because the unit is a bare tool, the buyer’s first step is to confirm the battery and charger, and the second step is to match the clearing width to the path.
Owners of the CRAFTSMAN V20 system
The listing says the shovel is “battery operated by CRAFTSMAN V20 Battery System.” That phrase names a battery system, not a battery model. It does not list which V20 battery sizes or chargers work with this unit. Check the battery and charger you own against the manual or the seller’s product page before you order, so the bare tool does not arrive without a working setup. The listing does not claim that any battery from another brand works, and this post does not make that claim either.
Buyers who do not own a V20 battery yet
If you do not own a V20 battery, the bare-tool format asks you to choose one. The listing does not say which battery size suits a 10-inch path, so decide on the runtime you need first and then match the battery to that need. The listing gives no runtime figure, which makes that decision harder. The sources we opened do not give a battery size for any snow shovel, so the choice rests on your own clearing time and your own snow.
Buyers clearing fluffy snow on patios and decks
The listing says the unit is “better suited for handling fluffy snow,” and it adds that “Snow removal performance varies depending on actual snow conditions.” Fluffy snow on a patio or a deck is the job the listing describes. A 10-inch strip is narrow, so the number of passes grows with the area. As a simple check, a 6-foot-wide patio needs about 8 passes, because 6 feet divided by 0.83 feet (10 inches) comes to 7.2, and the last partial pass rounds up. The calculation uses only the listed width, so it is a planning figure, not a clearing time.
Buyers who want an ergonomic handle
The listing says the “Ergonomic Dual-handle Design reduces strain” and that the foldable pole helps with storage. That is the listing’s own claim about the handle. The UNH page, which covers hand shoveling, offers a related point: “Ergonomic shovels that have a bend allow the shovel head to be closer to ground and can help minimize bending.” That guidance is about hand tools, so it supports the general idea of a shaped handle without confirming how this unit’s handle performs.
Skip it if
- You need the battery and charger in the box. The listing states they are not included, and it does not offer a bundle.
- You mostly clear wet or heavy snow. The listing says the unit is better suited for fluffy snow.
- Your path must be wider than 10 inches. The listed clearing width is 10 inches, and a wider path needs more passes. Compare other options in our guide to cordless snow blower shovels.
- Your driveway is gravel. The listing names patios, decks and driveways, and it does not mention gravel. For gravel surfaces, see our guide to electric snow shovels for gravel driveways.
- You need a runtime in minutes or a warranty term before you buy. The listing states neither.
Mistakes to avoid
- Ordering the bare tool without a battery plan. The listing says “TOOL ONLY, Battery and Charger NOT INCLUDED,” so the battery decision belongs to you.
- Starting the unit cold. The listing says “Let the battery warm up indoors and try again,” and it notes that cold battery temperatures can hinder starting.
- Setting the unit on the snow after use. The listing says “Do not place the snow shovel directly on the snow after use to avoid damage to the machine.”
- Lifting when you can push. The UNH page says that “Pushing snow is better than lifting,” and the OSHA winter weather page advises that you “push the snow instead of lifting it.”
What the listing does not say
The listing is the only product source in this post. For a bare tool, its silences decide much of the buying process, so this section sets them out one by one.
Battery and charger
The listing says the unit is “TOOL ONLY, Battery and Charger NOT INCLUDED.” It names the CRAFTSMAN V20 Battery System but does not name the battery sizes, the charger model or the battery capacity that the unit needs. It also does not say how long one charge lasts, so the runtime cannot be estimated from the listing. A buyer who wants a complete setup should treat the battery and charger as a separate decision.
Weight and what it includes
The listing gives an item weight of 12.1 pounds. It does not say whether that figure includes a battery. For a bare tool, the figure may describe the machine alone, but the listing does not say so, and a buyer who plans to carry the tool with a battery should check the weight with the battery installed.
Snow depth limits
The listing gives a 6-inch ideal snow depth and does not state a maximum depth. Its performance wording describes “fluffy snow,” which is lighter than wet snow, but the listing does not put a number on the difference. A buyer whose snow regularly runs deeper than 6 inches should look for a stated maximum before buying, and should not assume the unit will handle that depth in the same way.
Motor, manufacturer and warranty
The listing describes “a powerful brushed motor” but gives no motor speed or current. It names Chicago Tool Company as the manufacturer and CRAFTSMAN as the brand, and it does not explain the relation between those two names. The listing also has no warranty line, and the specs do not list a warranty term.
Checklist before you buy
- Confirm which CRAFTSMAN V20 battery and charger the unit works with, using the manual or the seller’s listing, because the listing names only the system.
- Check whether the 12.1-pound weight includes a battery before you plan how the tool will be carried.
- Bring the battery indoors before a cold-weather session, as the listing advises.
- Ask for the warranty term, since the listing does not give one.
How we chose
This post covers one product: ASIN B0DKH3R3VW, the CRAFTSMAN 20V 10-Inch Cordless Snow Shovel Bare Tool, model CMXSVXA2016-001B. It is in the batch because it is a cordless snow shovel with a clearly stated bare-tool format, which makes the battery plan the central buying question. The product data comes from a stored scan dated 2026-10-11 in the site’s product file. The post does not rank this model against other shovels, and it does not call the model the best choice for any job.
The criteria are plain. The listing has to state the battery status, the clearing width, the clearing depth and the throw distance, and each product fact has to appear in the listing text saved with this post. The body-mechanics and warm-up points come from university and government pages on snow shoveling. Those pages describe hand shoveling, so the post uses them as general advice. We did not use retail, blog or review pages for facts.
What we could not verify
- Which battery and charger the unit needs in practice. The listing names the V20 system only, and the sources we opened do not cover this tool.
- Runtime per charge and cold-start behavior. The listing describes a cold-battery problem but gives no temperature range or time figure.
- Whether the 12.1-pound weight includes a battery.
- Performance in heavy or wet snow. The listing says it is better suited for fluffy snow, and the sources we opened do not describe this machine.
- The warranty term and the parts policy, which the listing does not state.
- The relation between the CRAFTSMAN brand and the listed manufacturer, Chicago Tool Company.
FAQ
Does the CRAFTSMAN 20V snow shovel include a battery and charger?
No. The listing says “TOOL ONLY, Battery and Charger NOT INCLUDED.” Check the battery and charger you own, or plan to buy, before you order the bare tool.
What battery system does it use?
The listing says the unit is “battery operated by CRAFTSMAN V20 Battery System.” It does not name a battery model, so confirm the compatible battery before you buy.
How wide and how deep a path does it clear?
The listing gives a 10-inch clearing width and a 6-inch ideal snow depth. Those two figures set the size of the path the listing describes.
How far does it throw snow?
The listing says the unit can throw snow up to a 20-foot maximum distance, and its 60-degree rotating chute lets you choose the direction of the discharge.
Does the listing say anything about cold weather?
Yes. The listing says that cold battery temperatures can hinder starting, and it advises you to “Let the battery warm up indoors and try again.” It gives no temperature range.
Should I push the snow or lift it?
The UNH page says that “Pushing snow is better than lifting.” The OSHA winter weather page advises that workers should “push the snow instead of lifting it” where possible. Both come from hand-shoveling guidance, not from the listing.
Bottom line
Buy this bare tool only if you already own a CRAFTSMAN V20 battery and charger, or you will buy them with it, and the path you clear is 10 inches wide or narrower. Without a confirmed battery plan, the listing does not give you a working setup.
Sources
- CRAFTSMAN 20V 10-Inch Cordless Snow Shovel Bare Tool (opened 2026-10-11) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DKH3R3VW
- Frosty Fitness: Tips for Safe Snow Shoveling and Winter Walking, Utah State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.usu.edu/news/frosty-fitness-tips-for-safe-snow-shoveling-and-winter-walking
- UNH Expert Offers Safe Shoveling Tips for Winter-Weary Residents, University of New Hampshire (opened 2026-10-22) https://www.unh.edu/news/unh-expert-offers-safe-shoveling-tips-winter-weary-residents
- Winter Weather – Hazards/Precautions, Occupational Safety and Health Administration (opened 2026-10-22) https://www.osha.gov/winter-weather/hazards






