Best Lightweight Pole Saws for Trimming Branches

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A lightweight pole saw is a long-handled cutting tool that lets you trim branches overhead without a ladder, and the weight of the whole tool decides how long you can hold it up. The best lightweight pole saw for most yards is one that combines a light head and a pole that fits the height you need to reach. This guide compares eight options from the product listings, with the weights, reach, power source and fit notes that each listing states, so you can match a tool to your branches and your arms.

Quick answer

  • For the lowest weight, a manual pole saw with an aluminum or fiberglass pole is the lightest choice. The HOSKO manual pole saw lists an item weight of 2 pounds.
  • For cordless power with a moderate reach, the AVADA 8-inch pole saw lists 5.7 pounds and a telescoping pole that adjusts from 5.6 to 9.9 feet.
  • If you already own a battery platform, compare the battery type first. Several listings are tool-only and do not include a battery.
  • For a lightweight manual option with a long telescoping reach, the Fiskars 8-12 foot pruner lists a pole that weighs less than five pounds.

How to choose a lightweight pole saw

Weight is only one part of the picture. A pole saw that feels light in your hand can still tire your arms if the head is heavy or the pole is long and flexible. Start with the height you need to reach, then look at the weight of the whole assembled tool, and finally check the cutting capacity. A pole saw sized for 6-inch limbs is usually lighter than one sized for thicker wood, but the listings do not always state the maximum cut diameter, so check the bullets for each product.

Power source matters too. Manual pole saws have no battery and no motor, which keeps the weight down. Battery-powered pole saws add the weight of the battery pack, and many listings in this group are sold as tool only, so the battery and charger are an extra cost to plan for. The listings in this roundup state the battery platform each tool uses, and where a listing does not state the battery, this guide says so.

Sizing and reach

Reach is measured from the ground to the top of the cutting head, and the listings describe reach in different ways. Some list a pole that extends in steps, such as the Fiskars 8-12 foot pruner, which extends from 7.9 to 12 feet. Others give a maximum reach that depends on the user’s height, such as the AVADA pole saws, which state up to 15.9 feet based on a 6-foot-tall person extending the pole at shoulder height. Compare the listed pole length with the height of the branch you need to reach. Remember that a pole that reaches higher is usually heavier at the far end, so buy only the reach you need.

Materials and build

Lightweight poles are usually aluminum or fiberglass. The Fiskars XtendControl set lists lightweight aluminum extension poles and notes that you can use only the poles the job requires, which reduces the total weight you lift. The DNLBBO cordless pole saw lists a lightweight aluminum pole that extends from 5.2 to 9.5 feet. The HOSKO manual pole saw lists a plastic handle and a high carbon steel blade. The listing does not state the pole material for that model.

Blade material is also worth checking. The AVADA listings state alloy steel blades, and the Fiskars Tree Pruner lists steel blades. The HOSKO listing states high carbon steel. Blade material affects how the tool holds an edge, and the listing is the only source for these facts in this guide.

Power source and battery notes

Cordless pole saws give you freedom from a cord, and they are the most common choice for homeowners who prune a few times a season. The AVADA pole saws use a 1200W brushless motor, and the AVADA listing for the Milwaukee version states an 18-volt rating. The AVADA listing for the DeWALT version does not list a battery, and the battery and charger are not included. The SIEARPUORL listing includes two 21V lithium batteries and a charger. The DNLBBO listing includes two 21V lithium-ion batteries. The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX pole saw is sold as a tool only, and its listing says it uses the 20V MAX lithium-ion battery system, with the battery and charger sold separately.

Roundup: eight lightweight pole saws

1. HOSKO Manual Pole Saw for Tree Trimming, 13.2 FT Long Extension

This manual pole saw is the lightest option in this roundup. The listing states an item weight of 2 pounds and a telescopic pole that extends to 13.2 feet. The saw head measures 22.65 inches. The blade is a triple-edged design with dual reverse-cut teeth and is made of high carbon steel. The listing describes a threaded connection for tool-free assembly and says the same tool can be used as a handheld saw for low limbs. It has no motor and no battery, so it suits small branches and occasional pruning. Because it is manual, you do the cutting with pull and push strokes, so it works best for limbs that are not very thick.

Why it fits this keyword: the listing states the lightest weight in this group, and it reaches 13.2 feet without a battery.

View on Amazon

2. Fiskars 8-12 Ft Extendable 2-in-1 Tree Pruner and Pole Saw

This Fiskars tool combines a manual pole saw with a rotating pruner head. The listing says the aluminum pole weighs less than five pounds and extends from 7.9 to 12 feet. The pole has a double locking system that holds the extended section in place. The saw uses a 15-inch double-grind blade and the listing describes a chain-drive gearing mechanism that provides more power to the pruner. The listing also says the tool has a low-friction coating that helps prevent gumming from sap and debris. It carries a lifetime warranty according to the listing. It is manual, so there is no battery to charge. Choose this option if you want a longer manual reach and the pruner function in one tool.

Why it fits this keyword: the listing states the pole weighs less than five pounds, and it is a manual tool with no battery.

View on Amazon

3. Fiskars 3-14 Ft XtendControl Extendable Pole Saw and Tree Pruner Set

This modular set is built around lightweight aluminum poles. The listing says you can use only the poles required for the task, which lowers the total weight you lift compared with a fixed-length pole. The pruner head is fixed and cuts branches up to 1.25 inches thick, according to the listing, and an automatic cord reel keeps the line taut. The set includes an X2 hook bill saw with a triple-grind profile and a hooked tip that the listing says helps stop the blade from slipping out of the cut. Two snap-fit extension poles are included, and the listing says the connections have secondary security locks. This set suits a homeowner who wants to adjust the reach in small steps.

Why it fits this keyword: the listing describes lightweight aluminum poles and says modular use reduces the weight you lift.

View on Amazon

4. BLACK+DECKER 20V Max Pole Saw for Tree Trimming, LPP120B

This cordless pole saw is sold as a tool only, and its listing says it is compatible with the 20V MAX lithium-ion battery system. The listing gives a center extension that creates a usable length of 6.5 or 10 feet, with overhead reach of up to 14 feet. It has an 8-inch cutting bar and chain, with a maximum cutting diameter of 6 inches according to the listing. The listing says it delivers up to 100 cuts of 1.5-inch pine branches per charge and describes a lightweight design. The power head is in-line, which the listing says helps you see between branches. The tool disassembles for storage and transport. The listing states a 2-year limited warranty. Because the battery and charger are sold separately, budget for them if you do not already own a 20V MAX battery.

Why it fits this keyword: the listing calls the design lightweight and says the tool disassembles for transport.

View on Amazon

5. AVADA 2-in-1 Cordless 8-Inch Pole Saw for DeWALT 20V MAX Battery

This AVADA tool switches between a mini chainsaw and a telescoping pole saw. The listing states an item weight of 5.7 pounds, a 1200W brushless motor and a pole that adjusts from 5.6 to 9.9 feet, with up to 15.9 feet of overhead reach based on a 6-foot-tall user. The cutting head rotates from 0 to 180 degrees. The listing describes an auto-lube system and tool-free chain tensioning. It is compatible with DeWALT 20V MAX batteries according to the listing, but the battery and charger are not included. The package includes a shoulder strap, gloves, goggles, a brush and a 2-in-1 screwdriver, and the listing says the oil bottle has no oil. Because the listing states the weight, this tool is one of the few cordless options in this group with a stated weight.

Why it fits this keyword: the listing states 5.7 pounds for the assembled tool.

View on Amazon

6. AVADA 2-in-1 Cordless 8-Inch Pole Saw for Milwaukee M18 Battery

This is the Milwaukee-compatible version of the AVADA 2-in-1 pole saw. Its listing shares the same design points: a 1200W brushless motor, a telescoping pole, a 0-to-180-degree cutting head and an auto-lube system. The listing says it is compatible with Milwaukee M18 batteries for several model numbers, and that the battery and charger are not included. The listing lists the included components, such as a shoulder strap, anti-slip gloves, goggles, a brush and a screwdriver. The listing does not state the item weight for this version, so check the weight in the listing before you buy if carrying weight matters to you. Its color is listed as red.

Why it fits this keyword: the listing describes a reach of up to 15.9 feet and a 2-in-1 design that uses a mini chainsaw head on a telescoping pole.

View on Amazon

7. SIEARPUORL 2-in-1 Cordless Pole Saw and Mini Chainsaw

This pole saw uses a 6-inch guide chain and a 4.4-foot extension pole. The listing states two 21V lithium rechargeable batteries and a charger in the package, which makes it one of the few tools in this roundup that ships ready to run. The listing says it cuts wood and thick branches up to 5 inches thick. It has a safety lock button to prevent accidental starts, and the listing describes an ergonomic anti-slip grip and a lightweight design for overhead use. The listing does not state the item weight. Because the reach is shorter than the other options, this tool suits low and mid-height branches more than tall trees.

Why it fits this keyword: the listing describes a lightweight design and includes both batteries and the charger.

View on Amazon

8. DNLBBO 2-in-1 6 IN Electric Pole Saw and Mini Chainsaw

This cordless pole saw uses a 700W brushless motor and a 6-inch chain that the listing says cuts branches up to 6 inches thick. The pole is a lightweight aluminum telescoping pole that extends from 5.2 to 9.5 feet, and the listing states an overhead reach of up to 15 to 16 feet depending on user height. The head adjusts across seven angles. The package includes two 21V lithium-ion batteries, an automatic chain oiler, a dual-button safety lock, cut-resistant gloves, safety goggles and a storage case, according to the listing. The listing does not state the item weight. Choose this option if you want a lightweight aluminum pole with two batteries included.

Why it fits this keyword: the listing describes a lightweight aluminum pole and a head that adjusts across seven angles.

View on Amazon

Weight comparison

Product Power source Stated weight or pole Reach stated in listing Battery included
HOSKO manual pole saw Manual 2 pounds 13.2 ft Not applicable
Fiskars 8-12 ft pruner Manual Pole under 5 pounds 7.9 to 12 ft Not applicable
Fiskars 3-14 ft set Manual Lightweight aluminum poles 3 to 14 ft Not applicable
BLACK+DECKER LPP120B 20V MAX cordless Not stated Up to 14 ft Not included
AVADA DeWALT version Cordless, DeWALT 20V MAX 5.7 pounds Up to 15.9 ft Not included
AVADA Milwaukee version Cordless, Milwaukee M18 Not stated Up to 15.9 ft Not included
SIEARPUORL 6-inch 21V cordless Not stated Pole 4.4 ft Two batteries and charger
DNLBBO 6-inch 21V cordless Not stated Up to 15 to 16 ft Two batteries

Who each option suits

The HOSKO and Fiskars manual tools suit a homeowner with a few small limbs who wants no battery and no motor. The Fiskars 3-14 foot set suits someone who wants to adjust the reach in steps and carry only the pole length the job needs. The BLACK+DECKER tool suits a person who already owns 20V MAX batteries and wants a moderate reach. The AVADA tools suit someone who wants a telescoping reach near 16 feet and a cutting head that rotates. The SIEARPUORL and DNLBBO tools suit buyers who want batteries included and a lightweight pole for mid-height branches.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying for the longest reach without checking the weight. A longer pole usually weighs more at the far end.
  • Assuming a battery is included. The AVADA and BLACK+DECKER listings in this roundup say the battery and charger are not included.
  • Treating reach as a fixed number. Several listings state reach based on the height of the user, so your reach will differ.
  • Cutting limbs that are thicker than the listing states. Check the cutting capacity before you start.
  • Working near power lines. Keep clear of electrical wires and ask a licensed electrician or utility company to handle any branch near a line.

Internal reading

Before you use any pole saw, read How to Use a Pole Saw Safely for basic setup and stance. For cutting technique, How to Prune Branches With a Pole Saw explains the order of cuts for branches of different sizes.

FAQ

What is the lightest pole saw in this roundup?

The HOSKO manual pole saw lists an item weight of 2 pounds, which is the lowest stated weight in this roundup. It is manual, so it has no battery. The AVADA DeWALT version lists 5.7 pounds for the assembled cordless tool.

Do lightweight pole saws reach 15 feet or more?

Some do. The AVADA pole saws list up to 15.9 feet of reach based on a 6-foot-tall user extending the pole at shoulder height. The HOSKO manual pole saw lists a 13.2-foot pole. Check the reach figure in each listing, since the figures depend on how each listing measures reach.

Are the batteries included?

It depends on the product. The SIEARPUORL and DNLBBO listings state two batteries are included. The AVADA and BLACK+DECKER listings state the battery and charger are not included or are sold separately.

Is a manual pole saw enough for thick branches?

Manual pole saws need more effort on thick wood. The HOSKO listing describes its tool for high and low pruning rather than heavy limbs. For thicker wood, the listings for cordless tools state cutting capacity in the bullets, such as the DNLBBO listing that says it cuts branches up to 6 inches thick.

What should I check before buying a lightweight pole saw?

Check the assembled weight, the reach you need, the battery platform if the tool is cordless, and whether the battery and charger are included. Confirm the cutting capacity against the thickest branch you plan to cut.

Can a pole saw be used near power lines?

No. Several listings in this roundup warn against use near electrical lines, and this guide does not recommend it. Keep clear of power lines and have a licensed professional handle any branch near a wire.

Bottom line

If weight is the first priority and you have only small branches, choose a manual pole saw such as the HOSKO, which lists a 2-pound weight. If you want cordless power, choose a tool that states its weight and reach, and budget for the battery if it is not included. For a long manual reach with a light pole, the Fiskars 8-12 foot pruner is a strong option.

Sources

Product facts in this guide come from the product listings. Safety reference: The Ohio State University Extension, chainsaw safety factsheet AEX-790.33.

Similar Posts