Best Electric Pole Pruners for Tall Tree Branches

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A pole saw pruner is a long-handled cutting tool that lets you trim branches above head height without a ladder. The electric versions in this roundup are battery powered, so you do not need gas mixing or a pull cord, and each one is built around a saw head on a pole or a short extension. The five models below are the battery pole saw pruners in this group, and each section sticks to what the product listing states about reach, cutting head, battery platform and included parts. Check the reach and the battery system you already own before you buy, because those two facts decide whether a pole saw pruner will work in your yard.

Quick answer

  • For a yard with tall shade trees, look at total reach first. The Ecarke listings state up to 16 feet of total reach, based on a 6-foot user.
  • If you already own Dewalt 20V or Milwaukee 18V batteries, choose a tool-only listing that names your battery models. Two Ecarke listings do this.
  • For a complete starter kit with a battery and charger, the CRAFTSMAN kit is the one that lists both in the box.
  • Check the warranty line on the listing, because the listings name different coverage: 3 years, 2 years, or no duration at all.

How electric pole pruners differ from manual models

A manual pole saw uses a rope and pulley or a fixed handle, so reach and effort depend on your arms. A battery pole saw pruner moves the cut with a motor, which is why the listings focus on cutting speed, chain or blade type and battery platform. Every model in this roundup is listed as battery powered, and the listings name the battery system the tool uses. That detail matters more than brand, because a tool that runs on a battery you already own costs less to start with.

The cutting head also sets the job. The CRAFTSMAN models use an alloy steel saw blade with a pivoting head. The Ecarke and SIEARPUORL models use a chain on a guide bar. Chain tools are described by bar length and chain speed, while blade tools are described by blade material and head angle. Pick the one that matches the branches you cut most often.

Reach, pole length and pivot

Reach is where these tools differ most. The CRAFTSMAN listings describe an 8 ft pole that folds for transport and storage, with a seven-position lateral pivoting head for angled cuts. The Ecarke listings describe a pole that adjusts from 7 to 10 feet, for a total reach of up to 16 feet based on a 6-foot user. The SIEARPUORL listing describes a 4.4 ft extension pole with a 6-inch mini chainsaw head. The listing does not state the total reach for that model, so take the 4.4 ft figure as the pole length only.

Reach is measured from the ground to the top of the cut, and it depends on your height and the angle you hold the pole. The listings state reach in different ways, so compare the numbers on the same basis before you decide.

Battery platform and included parts

The battery is the largest cost after the tool itself. The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit includes a battery and charger, and the listing says the tool is part of the V20 system used for other outdoor and power tools. The title of the kit says it includes a 2 Ah battery, but the bullet list names a 1.5 Ah lithium-ion battery. The two statements conflict, so confirm the battery size before you buy. The bare-tool CRAFTSMAN listing includes no battery and no charger.

The SIEARPUORL kit is the only model in this roundup that includes two batteries and a charger in the same box. The listing describes two 21V lithium batteries, a charger, two spare chains, goggles, gloves and a user manual. The two Ecarke listings are tool only, and the Milwaukee version says so in its bullet list that the battery is not included. The Dewalt version lists compatible battery model numbers, so check those against the batteries you own.

The five electric pole pruners

CRAFTSMAN V20 8 FT Cordless Pole Saw with battery and charger

This is the complete CRAFTSMAN kit. The listing says it is a cordless pruner on an 8 ft pole, with a seven-position lateral pivoting head and a tool-less blade change. The blades are alloy steel with a non-stick coating that the listing says helps prevent sap buildup and resists rust. The listing describes up to 900 cuts per charge, though it does not say what branch size that figure assumes. The kit includes a V20 cordless pruner, a lithium-ion battery and a V20 charger. The model is CMCPPR320D1. The listing lists a 20-volt rating, a battery-powered source, a rectangular blade shape and a total dimension of 37.25 inches long by 7.95 inches wide by 10.27 inches high. The item weight is listed as 4.94 kg. The warranty is a 3 year limited warranty. The battery size conflict noted above applies to this kit, so confirm it on the listing before you order.

View on Amazon

CRAFTSMAN V20 8 FT Cordless Pole Saw, Tree Pruner, Bare Tool

This CRAFTSMAN model is the bare-tool version of the same 8 ft pole pruner. The listing repeats the long runtime, seven-position pivot, folding 8 ft pole and non-stick coated blades. It adds an integrated VersaTrack hook for storage, though the listing says the VersaTrack system is sold separately. The blade shape is oval rather than rectangular in this model. The listing says it is a V20 system tool and includes a blade set and the CMCPR320 pruner. The model is CMCPPR320B. The dimensions are 37.4 inches long by 7.95 inches wide by 10.47 inches high. The listing describes the warranty as a limited warranty and does not give a length. Choose this model if you already own a V20 battery and charger and want to keep the purchase price down.

View on Amazon

2-in-1 Cordless Pole Saw and Mini Chainsaw with 4.4ft extension pole

This SIEARPUORL kit is a two-in-one tool. The listing says it converts from a handheld 6-inch mini chainsaw to a 4.4 ft extension pole saw. The guide chain is 6 inches, the listing describes the motor as high efficiency, and it says the tool cuts wood up to 5 inches thick. Two 21V lithium batteries are included, along with a charger, two chains, a detachable extension pole, goggles, gloves and a manual. The listing describes an anti-slip grip and a safety lock button that prevents accidental starting. The listing gives 1 hp, a 9 by 5 by 23 inch dimension and a battery-powered source. The model number is GZJ111. Choose this kit if you want a shorter reach and a handheld saw option that uses batteries you receive in the box.

View on Amazon

Ecarke Electric Pole Saw for Dewalt 20V, 16 FT max total reach

This Ecarke model is a tool-only pole saw built for Dewalt 20V batteries. The listing gives a battery compatibility list that includes model numbers DCB200, DCB201, DCB203, DCB204, DCB205, DCB206, DCB230, DCB240, DCB260, DCB246, DCB248, DCBP520 and DCB606. The pole extends from 7 to 10 feet, with a total reach of up to 16 feet based on a 6-foot user. The guide bar is 8 inches and the listing states a chain speed of 26 feet per second. It has automatic chain lubrication with a transparent oil tank so you can see the oil level. The listing says the kit includes a stabilizer handle, a spare chain, a guide bar cover, an empty oil bottle, a shoulder strap, goggles, gloves and a branch hook. The tool weighs 6.8 pounds according to the listing. The model is listed as Electric Pole Saw. Choose it if you already own Dewalt 20V batteries and want the extra reach.

View on Amazon

Ecarke Electric Pole Saw for Milwaukee 18V, 16 FT max total reach

This Ecarke model is the Milwaukee 18V version of the same pole saw. The title and first bullet say tool only, with the battery not included. The listing gives Milwaukee battery model numbers including 48-11-1815, 48-11-1820, 48-11-1830, 48-11-1840, 48-11-1850, 48-11-1852, 48-11-1862, 48-11-1865 and 48-11-1880, and the listing ends that list with “and more.” The pole adjusts from 7 to 10 feet for a total reach of up to 16 feet based on a 6-foot user. The 8-inch guide bar runs at 26 feet per second according to the listing. The automatic oiling system and the accessory kit match the Dewalt version. The listing describes a 2-year limited replacement commitment and says the company replies to questions within 24 hours. The tool weighs 6.8 pounds and measures 34.6 by 6.1 by 5.91 inches. Choose it if your batteries are Milwaukee 18V.

View on Amazon

Which pole pruner fits a typical yard

If your branches are high and your yard has big trees, reach comes first, so the two Ecarke models with a total reach up to 16 feet are the ones to compare. Match the battery platform before you pick the tool. If you own Dewalt or Milwaukee batteries, buy the matching Ecarke model and skip a second battery. If you want a complete kit, the CRAFTSMAN V20 model with a battery and charger and the SIEARPUORL two-battery kit are the options that include the power source.

If your work is mostly low limbs and light pruning, the shorter SIEARPUORL kit may be enough. It also works as a handheld mini chainsaw, which the other models in this roundup do not offer. The listing does not state its weight, and it does not state its total reach, so measure your tallest branches before you decide that the shorter pole covers them.

Common mistakes with a pole saw pruner

  • Buying a bare tool without checking the battery. The CRAFTSMAN bare tool and both Ecarke models need a battery and charger you may not own.
  • Assuming total reach. The Ecarke listings give reach based on a 6-foot user, so a shorter person will reach less.
  • Ignoring the cutting head. The listings name a chain or an alloy steel blade for each model, and the CRAFTSMAN models describe a tool-less blade change, so check the head before each job.
  • Working near power lines. Keep clear of overhead wires, and ask a qualified electrician or arborist about any work close to them.
  • Using the wrong grip. The SIEARPUORL listing includes a safety lock button and an anti-slip grip, so use both and keep the pole steady.

Internal reading before you buy

For the steps on pole safety and cutting technique, read how to use a pole saw safely before your first cut. If you are working with a specific limb height, how to prune branches with a pole saw covers the order of cuts and where to stand.

FAQ

What is a pole saw pruner?

It is a long-handled cutting tool with a saw or chain head that lets you prune branches above head height from the ground. The electric models in this roundup use a battery in place of a gas engine.

How far can an electric pole pruner reach?

The Ecarke listings state up to 16 feet of total reach based on a 6-foot user, using a pole that adjusts from 7 to 10 feet. The CRAFTSMAN listings describe an 8 ft pole. The SIEARPUORL listing describes a 4.4 ft extension pole, and it does not state total reach.

Do these pole saws include batteries?

The CRAFTSMAN kit and the SIEARPUORL kit include batteries and a charger. The CRAFTSMAN bare-tool model and both Ecarke models are tool only, so you will need a battery and charger for those.

Which battery platform should I choose?

Choose the platform that matches the batteries you already own. The Ecarke Dewalt model lists Dewalt 20V battery model numbers, and the Ecarke Milwaukee model lists Milwaukee 18V model numbers. The CRAFTSMAN models use the V20 system.

What warranty do these listings state?

The CRAFTSMAN kit lists a 3 year limited warranty. The Milwaukee version of the Ecarke saw lists a 2-year limited replacement commitment. The other listings either state a limited warranty without a length or do not mention a warranty.

Is a pole pruner safe to use near power lines?

No listing in this roundup says it is rated for work near power lines. Keep clear of overhead wires and ask a qualified electrician or arborist about any work near them before you start.

Bottom line

Choose your pole saw pruner by battery and reach. If you already own Dewalt or Milwaukee batteries, the matching Ecarke model gives you up to 16 feet of total reach on the facts in the listing. If you need a complete starter kit, the CRAFTSMAN V20 kit or the SIEARPUORL two-battery kit includes the power source, though you should confirm the CRAFTSMAN battery size first.

Sources

Product facts come from the product listings in the pack only.

Similar Posts