Tiectown 16-Inch Electric Dethatcher Review
Disclosure: this page contains Amazon affiliate links. If you buy through them, this site may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
The TIECTOWN 16-inch electric dethatcher and scarifier is a corded machine for lawns with heavy thatch and an outlet close enough for the cord you need. The Amazon listing states a 15-amp motor with 15.5 amps peak, a 16-inch working width, five depth positions and a 14.5-gallon bag. It also gives cord guidance: 14 AWG for up to 50 feet and 12 AWG for up to 100 feet. The listing does not state whether an extension cord is included, its noise level or its coverage per hour, so check those before you buy. Check the current price on Amazon.
What the listing states
Every figure below comes from the Amazon listing for ASIN B0GDQG13VR, checked on 2026-10-17. The listing describes this machine as a dethatching tool, not a lawnmower.
| Item | What the listing states |
|---|---|
| Power | Corded electric; 15-amp motor with 15.5 amps peak (bullet); 15.5A brushless copper motor (variant table) |
| Working width | 16 inches |
| No-load speed | 3600 RPM |
| Scarifier working depth | -0.47 inches to 0.24 inches |
| Dethatcher working depth | -0.32 inches to 0.39 inches |
| Depth control | 5-position lever |
| Handle | 3-position adjustable rod; foldable handle |
| Collection bag | 14.5-gallon, removable |
| Weight | 30 lbs |
| Blades | Scarifying blade and dethatching blade; tool-free switching |
| Cord guidance | 14 AWG up to 50 ft; 12 AWG up to 100 ft |
| Other features | Waterproof plug, cord clip, extension cord holder, durable wheels |
| Extension cord included | Not stated |
| Noise level | Not stated |
| Coverage per hour | Not stated |
| Warranty length | Not stated |
The same listing also shows 14-inch versions with a 13.5-amp motor and an 11.5-gallon bag. This review covers the 16-inch model only.
Power and cord: what to check before you use it
A corded machine is limited by its cord. The listing’s cord guidance is 14 AWG up to 50 feet and 12 AWG up to 100 feet. A competitor article about corded dethatchers gives the same pattern for a 15-amp machine: 12 AWG for a 100-foot run and 14 AWG for runs under 50 feet, with an outdoor-rated cord. That article’s advice is competitor-reported, so check it against the manual for your model.
The listing does not state whether an extension cord is included, so plan on the cord you already have or buy one that meets the gauge and length guidance above.
Depth settings: what the numbers mean
The listing gives a range for each mode across five positions. Scarifying runs from -0.47 to 0.24 inches, and dethatching from -0.32 to 0.39 inches. The text we read does not say where zero sits, so the numbers show the range, not what a given position will remove. The competitor article advises starting at the shallowest setting and going deeper only after you see how much material comes up. That is also competitor-reported.
Worked example: how much lawn one pass covers
For example, a 16-inch working width is 1.33 feet. One 50-foot pass covers about 67 square feet (50 feet times 1.33 feet). A 2,000 square foot lawn would take roughly 30 such passes, before you count overlap or turns. The listing gives no coverage rate per hour, so this is the width of each pass, not how long the job takes.
Who it is for
The listing and the competitor article both point to lawns with a lot of dead grass and an outlet close enough to the work area. A 16-inch width covers ground in fewer passes than a 14-inch version would. The 14.5-gallon bag sits at the top of the 8 to 14.5 gallon range that the competitor article describes. Whether the bag holds your debris is not something this page can check.
Who should skip it
Skip this model if you have no outlet near the lawn, need to run a long cord across the yard, or want a battery tool. At 30 lbs, lifting it into a vehicle or down steps is a real task. The listing also says the machine is not a lawnmower, so it will not cut grass.
What the listing claims that cannot be checked here
- The claim that the motor is one of the strongest in its class. This page cannot rank motors.
- The 3600 RPM no-load speed and the 16-inch working width. These are listed figures, not measured here.
- The tool-free blade switch and tool-free assembly. The listing says so; this page did not handle the machine.
- The depth ranges. The listing gives them, but does not explain the zero point in the text we read.
Alternatives
This review does not list alternatives. The research file for this post holds one product with a listing check, so there is no second product with specs to compare on the same basis. The 14-inch versions in the same listing are variants, and their specs are not reviewed here.
Frequently asked questions
Does it need an extension cord?
Yes, it is corded. The listing gives cord guidance of 14 AWG for up to 50 feet and 12 AWG for up to 100 feet. The listing does not state whether an extension cord is included.
How deep does it dethatch or scarify?
The listing gives -0.32 to 0.39 inches for dethatching and -0.47 to 0.24 inches for scarifying, across five positions. The text we read does not define the zero point.
Is it self-propelled?
The listing text we read does not say whether it is self-propelled. It mentions durable wheels and a foldable handle. Check the product page for drive details.
How fast does the collection bag fill?
The listing does not say. The competitor article reports that bags often fill only part way before airflow stops, so plan to empty the bag often.
Should you dethatch a wet lawn?
The listing does not state a wet-lawn limit. The competitor article advises dethatching when the soil is slightly moist and the grass is dry, not when either is wet or bone dry.
Related guides
Related guides on this site: extension cord for an electric lawn mower, self-propelled corded electric lawn mowers, using an electric lawn mower on wet grass and a 10-amp 16-inch corded mower.