Stihl Pole Saws: Which Models Are Worth Buying

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you searched for a Stihl pole saw, the first thing to know is that none of the listings in our product data is made by Stihl. This page does not compare Stihl models. It covers the cordless pole saws that are in our data, so you can see what a battery-powered pole saw offers on reach, bar length, battery platform and warranty, and decide whether that style fits your trimming work. Where a listing does not state a fact, this page says so.

Quick answer

  • No Stihl pole saw is in our data. The three saw-style listings below are from Paxwrenx, CRAFTSMAN and BuyJoy.
  • For reach, the Paxwrenx 8-inch saw lists up to 15 feet with its 3-section pole and up to 12.5 feet with 2 sections, and it needs a DeWalt 20V MAX battery that you buy separately.
  • The CRAFTSMAN V20 listing gives up to 14 feet of reach with its extension pole and is built for the V20 platform.
  • If you want a pruner and a small saw in one kit, the BuyJoy listing combines both with two 21V 4.0Ah batteries and a charger.

What a Stihl pole saw search turns up in our data

The keyword you searched for names a brand, and that brand is not in our listing data for pole saws. Every product that follows was chosen because it is a pole-style saw or a close pole-saw alternative, not because it is a Stihl model. We do not describe any of these tools as having Stihl features, and we do not claim that they match Stihl build quality. The listings state their own specifications, and this page only repeats those.

That gap matters if you planned to buy a specific brand. If brand is your main filter, check the Stihl listings on Amazon directly and compare their reach, bar length and battery platform against the facts below. The buying points in the next section apply to any brand.

How to choose a cordless pole saw

A pole saw has four numbers that decide most of the daily experience: reach, bar length, battery platform and chain oiling. Reach tells you how high you can cut without a ladder, but the total reach depends on your own height as well as the pole. The Paxwrenx listing states a total reach that already includes a user height, which is useful when you compare it with listings that give only the pole length. Bar length sets the largest limb you can cut in one pass, and a short 8-inch bar suits small branches and light canopy work better than thick limbs.

Battery platform matters if you already own power tools. A saw that runs on a battery you already have saves you from buying a second pack and charger. The Paxwrenx listing says it fits DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, including several model numbers in its bullets, and the CRAFTSMAN listing is for its V20 platform. The BuyJoy kit ships with its own batteries, so you do not need to match an existing platform.

Chain oiling is the third factor. An automatic oiler keeps the chain lubricated while you cut, which reduces manual work between cuts. Two of the listings in our data mention automatic oiling. The Paxwrenx bullet says oil is not included, so you will need to supply bar and chain oil yourself.

Side-by-side facts from the listings

Feature Paxwrenx 8-inch CRAFTSMAN V20 BuyJoy 4-in-1 kit
Listing type Cordless pole saw, tool only Cordless pole chainsaw, tool only per title Electric pruning shears plus 6-inch pole saw, with batteries and charger
Bar or blade length 8 inch Not stated in the specs 6-inch mini chainsaw
Reach stated Up to 7.5 ft with 2 sections, up to 10 ft with 3 sections; total 12.5 ft or 15 ft with user height Up to 14 ft with extension pole Telescoping pole extends up to 9.5 ft
Battery Battery and charger not included; DeWalt 20V MAX compatible V20 platform; battery not listed in included components 2 x 21V 4.0Ah batteries and a fast charger included
Oiling Automatic lubrication; oil not included Not stated Automatic oiling system
Chain speed Up to 18 ft/s Not stated 26.2 ft/s
Weight Not stated 10 pounds 3.5 kg
Warranty 90-day return, 1-year full replacement, 3-year limited (per bullets) Not stated Not stated

Close alternatives from the same listing set

The Paxwrenx saw is the one we describe in depth below. Two other listings are close enough to compare, and each has a different trade-off.

CRAFTSMAN V20 Pole Saw (CMCCSP20B)

The CRAFTSMAN listing is built around reach. Its title and bullets state up to 14 feet with the extension pole, an angled head for cutting precision, and a soft grip on the pole extension. The bullets also state up to 325 cuts per charge, though the listing does not specify the battery or the cut material for that figure. The included components list a pole chainsaw, an extension pole and a wrench. The title says tool only, and the battery is not in the included list. A notable feature is an integrated hook for the VersaTrack wall organization system, which the listing says is sold separately. Its weight is 10 pounds. Use this listing if you already own V20 batteries and need the most reach from a single pole.

View on Amazon

BuyJoy 4-in-1 Electric Pruning Shears and Pole Saw Combo

The BuyJoy kit is a different tool set. It is a pruner first and a pole saw second. The listing says it combines electric pruning shears, a 6-inch cordless pole saw, a telescopic pole that extends up to 9.5 feet, and two 21V 4.0Ah batteries with a fast charger. The pole saw is rated at 1000W and 26.2 ft/s chain speed, and the listing says it cuts 5 to 6 inch branches. The pruning shears have a 1.8-inch cutting diameter and an LED display for battery level and cut count. The kit includes a safety switch, an auto oiling system, a shoulder strap and safety gloves and goggles. It is a good fit if you want one kit for small branches and shrubs, but its 6-inch saw is shorter than the Paxwrenx and CRAFTSMAN bars, so it will not handle the same limb size.

View on Amazon

Review: Paxwrenx 8-inch cordless pole saw for DeWalt 20V MAX

The Paxwrenx saw is the most spec-complete listing in our set, so it is the best basis for a full review. Its bullets and specs give a clear picture of what you get and what you must add.

View on Amazon

Reach and pole sections

The saw uses a pole with 2 or 3 sections. The listing gives a 2-section maximum extension of 7.5 feet and a 3-section maximum of 10 feet. With the user’s height included, the listing states total reach of 12.5 feet for the 2-section setup and 15 feet for the 3-section setup. The bullets describe the 3-section setup as the way to reach tall limbs and canopy growth, and the 2-section setup for mid-level brush. The practical choice is to start with the 2-section setup for most yard work, because a shorter pole is easier to control at full extension.

Cutting: bar, speed and teeth

The bar is 8 inches long, and the listing gives a chain speed of up to 18 feet per second. The specs list 62 drive teeth, a 3/8-inch LP pitch, a .043-inch gauge and 33 drive links. The cutting angle is 90 degrees, and the bullets describe an optimized head that the listing says maximizes downforce and reduces binding. The listing states a low kickback design for the bar. Those are the features to check if you cut mostly small to medium branches.

The listing says a 4.0Ah battery gives up to 90 cuts on 4×4 pressure-treated wood. This figure is a listing claim for one material and one battery size, so treat it as a comparison point rather than a guarantee for your own work. The listing does not say how many cuts you get on softer wood or on a 2.0Ah battery.

Battery, power and oiling

The saw is listed as a 20-volt battery-powered tool with a high-efficiency motor. The battery and charger are not included. The compatibility line names the DeWalt 20V MAX packs DCB200, DCB201, DCB203, DCB204, DCB205, DCB230 and DCB240. If you own one of these, you can use it. If you do not, the battery cost is a separate purchase, and the listing does not give a battery price. Oil is not included either, so budget for bar and chain oil.

The tensioning is tool-free. The listing calls it an SDS system, and it says you can adjust chain tautness on site without a wrench. The auto oiler is listed as continuously pumping oil to the chain during use. These are useful features for jobs where you do not want to stop to adjust the chain.

Build, weight and warranty

The listing gives an item size of 8.5 inches by 4.1 inches by 114 inches, but it does not state the weight of the saw. The handle is listed as thermoplastic elastomer and the blade as alloy steel. The warranty bullets state a 90-day hassle-free return, a 1-year full replacement and a 3-year limited warranty with US support. Read the warranty terms on the product page before you buy, because the bullets are a summary.

Who the Paxwrenx saw suits

This saw suits a homeowner who already owns DeWalt 20V MAX batteries and wants a pole saw that does not need a separate ladder for limbs up to about 15 feet. It is a poor fit if you need a saw for heavy trunk work, because the bar is only 8 inches long, and it is a poor fit if you do not own a compatible battery and do not want to buy one.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying the saw without a battery. The listing says the battery and charger are not included.
  • Running the saw without bar and chain oil. The listing says oil is not included.
  • Using the full 3-section pole when a 2-section setup would do. A shorter pole is easier to control.
  • Assuming a stated cut count applies to your wood. The listing ties its figure to 4×4 pressure-treated wood.

FAQ

Is there a Stihl pole saw in this review?

No. The product data for this page does not include a Stihl pole saw, so we do not compare Stihl models. The three saw-style listings here are from Paxwrenx, CRAFTSMAN and BuyJoy.

Does the Paxwrenx saw include a battery?

No. The listing says the bare tool does not include the battery or charger. It is designed for DeWalt 20V MAX batteries.

How far can the Paxwrenx saw reach?

The listing gives a maximum pole extension of 7.5 feet with 2 sections and 10 feet with 3 sections. With user height included, the stated total reach is 12.5 feet or 15 feet.

Does the CRAFTSMAN saw reach farther?

The CRAFTSMAN listing states up to 14 feet of reach with its extension pole. That is more than the Paxwrenx 2-section setup, but the listing states a different reach basis, so compare the figures on the product pages.

Does the BuyJoy kit include batteries?

Yes. The listing says it includes two 21V 4.0Ah batteries and a fast charger, along with the pruning shears and pole.

Does the Paxwrenx saw have automatic oiling?

Yes, the listing says it has an automatic lubrication system. Oil is not included, so you need to supply your own.

Bottom line

If you searched for a Stihl pole saw, our data does not include one, so start with the brand you want and compare its reach, bar length and battery platform against the listings above. If you already own a DeWalt 20V MAX battery, the Paxwrenx 8-inch saw is the most complete listing to consider. If you need more reach from a V20 tool, look at the CRAFTSMAN listing. If you want a pruner and a small saw in one kit with batteries included, the BuyJoy kit is the one to compare.

For more on using a pole saw, read How to Use a Pole Saw Safely before you cut overhead. If you want a closer look at one saw, see Paxwrenx 8-Inch Cordless Pole Saw Review for DeWalt.

Similar Posts